We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambua Nature Cottages
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique but not perfect”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have mixed feelings with this place. First, Bambua should be classified as a bed and breakfast or Inn, but not a resort. Here are some of the pros and cons of the place.
Pros
-The family apartment where we stayed have a breathtaking mountain view that surround Bambua!
-For nature lovers this is a great place; very good for bird watching. It has big hectares, where you can explore and roam around.
-Andre the owner tells interesting stories about his life in Sabang since he moved there in an early age!

Cons
-The accommodation is rustic and never been maintained very well. Its a family business and they don't have any hired helper to do everyday cleaning or dusting, except to change your bedsheet when you checkout!
-The generator was supposed to run from 5pm thru 12mid, but the owner Andre will shut off as he wishes...like out of 3 nights we stayed, 2 nights the generator was shut off at 10:30pm, one of those nights the weather was super hot, so we did not sleep well....
-If you have knee problem like me at that time, you have to be aware from the parking below you have to climb-up at least 15 mtrs of stone steps.
-Lastly, my frustration was when one of my small bags was dropped by the help during our checkout, Andre was there and saw what happened and did not even check it out to see if the luggage was ok. But Lando the helper put my bag in the van, without notifying me of the broken handle on the bag. I sent an e-mail to Andre, three weeks has passed, but I have not heard from him!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
16
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We read some good and bad reviews. I have mixed feelings about this place until we arrive. The moment we were shown into our rooms, the nature around it is simply breathtaking. In the morning you will wake up by the lovely sounds of different birds, the mountains that surrounds the place, the stars in the skies at night are so visible you can even see the milky way....these things are considered obsolete for the city dwellers!

Sabang is yet a growing place. Electricity is limited, most places are run by power generator. We did not get response on our email right away, simply because wi-fi accessibility in Sabang area is next to nil. Everything in this place is basic. If you are very particular & wanted to be pampered like a queen, If you rely so much on internet, wi-fi and electronic gadgets. Then Sabang is not for you.

The place is run by Andre and his family. We have a great opportunities to listen to his stories, how he built the place stone by stone... it is not perfect, but it simply defines the soul of this place.

My husband & I will surely come back to this place... Sabang got more than just the underground river, our experience in Bambua is a taste of paradise in its own right. Looking forward for our next visit. We only have good wishes for the family who runs Bambua.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The resort is on a hilltop, its quiet, millions of stars above you at night every morning you will be greeted by birds singing and the sweet smell of the forest mixed with the scent of coffee...fantastic. The room we stayed in is full of native hand crafted arts. The resort is just minutes away from the town where there are places to eat, beach, mangrove, waterfalls, zipline and underground river which the owner Andre is kind enough to help us register. Resort is run by Andre his wife and kids all wonderful people, the location is on the mountain facing the sea, so its A REAL GET AWAY...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenanRaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I cant thank Andre enough for the great inside information he gave me on the location in Sabang. The beach is only 15 minute walk from his Castle paradise on top the hill in the Jungle. You can here the ocean from his cabin outside. The rooms were crafted in arts and craft style stone and his walk way up to the bar and dining was all done in stone! I enjoyed his knowledge on his workmanship and surrounding Sabang area. His wife cooked all the meals, and they where in my opinion the best on Palawan Island. Smoked fish on the grill, I mean come on this is what its all about, primitive in nature and caring approach that is hard to beat!

Remember Sabang is on generator power and you will not have everything at your fingertips, like fast internet and the like. Remember your trying to escape from all the gadgets in your life and simplify your life for a few days.

I highly recommend this 3rd world retreat, and yes when you go to town it will be very 3rd world, but the people are great and the beach at Sabang is hugh, with secrets to the unknown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velvia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShenZhen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there for a week. Away from all the nightlife noises. Nice and quiet garden cottages, very clean. Absolutely loved the atmosphere and the people there. 15mins walk to the beach front. Best place to stay in Sabang. The owner and his family were very helpful. Free pick-up from the bus terminal and free drop off to the terminal. Definitely made our stay in Sabang an amazing experience. We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masami419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Planning our Philippines journey we included Sabang primarily to visit the Underground River. However we were surprized how much more Sabang had to offer. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, which can be quite busy at the departing point for the Underground River, but is very clean and almost empty the further you walk. We booked the mangrove tour, which was a great way to get deep into the forest and experience wildlife, we otherwise wouldn´t be able to see. And we got a feel for the rain forest at the Bamboa Resort where we spent two nights. This place is kept basic, but in a positive way. There is no air conditioning and no pool and the wildlife from the forest can wake you up at night. It is a bit like sleeping in a tent.The cottages are very tastefully decorated and located on the extensive, beautifully landscaped ground. The tasty, home cooked meals were served on a covered pation with a beautiful view over the rice fields and valley. The place was a perfect retreat after a day of tours. Most of all, the owners with their family offered an excellent service (organizing tours, bringing us forth and back, providing information) and couldn´t have done more to make our stay worthwhile.

Room Tip: Apartments are more elegant. The cottages are more basic, closer to the rain forest, offer more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked and paid 50% deposit for this "resort" and wanted to go to the underground river. On arrival at PP airport we were standing there waiting for transport that we had pre-booked and paid through the "resort", 3hrs later we were still standing there after all flights had landed and passengers had dispersed.
During this time we attempted to call Andre on the number on the website which was disconnected. We then went to the information centre at the airport and they tried on their phone and got the same result. They then wondered if it was still open and whilst it was, they conveyed to us that the "resort" hadn't renewed its licence to be conducting tours. Rogue.
So we ended up paying a lot of money to get driven the 5hrs to El Nido. NOT HAPPY JAN. What a shoddy, dodgy set up this place is. 3 months later we are still fighting to get our deposit back. And we were unable to see this heritage listed attraction. Thanks for nothing.
DO NOT TRUST THIS "RESORT" / OWNERS. They will take your money..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
33.0 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
242 reviews
32.9 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
19.1 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#7 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
507 reviews
14.9 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#14 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambua Nature Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambua Nature Cottages

Property: Bambua Nature Cottages
Address: Sabang | Barangay Cabayugan, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambua Nature Park Resort is a secluded place situated in Sabang behind a gentle range of hills - just outside the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park with the famous Puerto Princesa Underground River. All the facilities at Bambua are located in an extensive garden landscape, surrounded by the bizarre St. Paul Mountain Chain, by farmland and jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bambua Nature Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambua Nature Park Hotel Puerto Princesa
Bambua Nature Cottages Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing