We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambua Nature Cottages
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed there for two nights in a lovely stone-cottage right next to the forrest. The cottages are all placed far away from each other, with a lot of green in between, not like those next to the beach which are packed in a small area.
This place is about the nature, if you like the nature, if you like listening to the sound of the forrest - instead of traffic noise and other tourists - you'll love it. We did!
The owners were really nice people and we enjoyed our stay and food there very much.
The only thing that annoyed us there, was another couple (one of those that tend to comment here as well). They were obviously expecting some european-five-star hotel and breakfast and treating the owner in such an arrogant way, that we were embarrassed to be european as well. So there is a hotel down at the beach for around 9000 pesos, they have electricity 24h and probably an excellecent wine selection. So please if you prefer something fancy: go to paris, not palawan!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-the-world-575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Bambua for 3 nights and 3 of them were sleepless. It's like sleeping in the tent in the middle of jungle:) Different sounds, screams, barking and so on) Bungalows are not in a good condition, definitely the owner (German guy) doesn't invest money in his own business. Nobody cleaned our rooms for 3 nights, no light along the paths at night (there are 3 or 4 lamps which are not enough for the whole territory) but what just pissed us up was that how BADLY owners treat their guests! At the first day of our stay we asked in the village the price for the van to El Nido- it was 7000 peso, after we asked Andrew (the owner of Bambua-very mean guy) about the price-he announced 8500 peso. So we agreed with the driver in the village to pick us next day at 10 AM. So, at 9AM we heard that somebody is yelling. Our driver came to pick up our luggage and Andrew with his wife were not allowing him to come in on HIS territory (as he was shouting). We were shocked! They said that we had to go with them to El Nido at 9AM as they prepared the van and the driver for us!No comments...We didn't confirm with them this trip, didn't set the time-they just decided for us with whom to go and what time!What was happening after- I don't want to describe... saying only that we were waiting for our bill for checking out for 1 hour. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: It takes about 7-10 min to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

When we got picked up by the owners Andre & Rosalie from our hotel in Puerto Princesa we knew straight away that they were our typ of people. On the way to their place near Sabang they had no rush. We stopped at several spots and got loads of information about nature, culture and society of Palawan. Given that Rosalie is local and her husband Andre left Europe about 25 years ago and came to Palawan to live with the tribes - and never went back again - this information was not some stories for average tourists, rathermore a story of their lifes. We stayed for five days and probably got more information about Palawan than we could have got by reading a travel guide. It all got topped when we did the jungle trecking in the primary rain forest not far away from their resort. I already did jungle trecking in India, Thailand and Sri Lanka but picking fruits and vegetables from the forest and the fields on the way back to have it for dinner - what Rosalie's mother prepared every day - was just outstanding. A totally new experience. Also the underground river tour was something special what you never could get if you regulary book it at the agencies. Bambua Nature Park Resort basically is something like a tropical garden or a park in the jungle with plenty of birds including hornbills and green parrots fying all over the place. The bungalows are rather basic though with cold showers which could give a bit more water. All in all they rooms needed some renovation but also show how hard it is for a family run business to keep things in the jungle. For me it was no problem at all and rather gave me a real nature feeling. The beds are big and firm with clean sheets which is the most important thing when you come back from a good daytrip. If this is too basic for some guests Andre & Rosalie are also offering two fantastic newly done and artie rooms in the complex where they and their three lovely children live. More information you find on their new web site: http://www.paraisosabambua.com/
If you want to have an unforgettable stay with a local family, all what these two guys offer is highly to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wolfmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at Bambua for a nearly week at the end of 2010 (I'm writing this review now as I realized I never wrote one before and am now preparing for another Christmas trip)

I stayed here with my girlfriend and a group of other friends. Unfortunately, I was not prepared for what I had agreed to reserve. Firstly, Palawan is a wonderful place. The underground river was amazing, the natural beauty incredible, and feeling of getting away from it all was authentic. But be prepared to really get away from it ALL, as you won't have hardly any of the comforts you are used to...

To begin, I know this resort was founded on the principle ideal of being a nature resort, environmentally friendly, and green to the greatest extent possible. This is true in that there's very little electricity offered in the resort. In our room there was a light that was so dim it was barely noticeable even at night, and they shut their generator off about midnight and there's no power until the next night anyway, so the fan that promised to keep you cool all night was done by the time you went to bed. The 'bathroom' had no door and was totally open to the room as well as totally open to the elements. Makes it pretty uncomfortable for any sort of romantic getaway with a significant other. We also had a large spider in the room, roaches in our shoes, and plenty of mosquitoes as we were right beside the water (certainly not swimmable or enjoyable at all). The monkeys on the other side of the resort were a little entertaining, but very loud. There was also the infamous 'ALARM BIRD' that would screech louder than any alarm you could imagine starting from around 6am every day. The dogs were a highlight for me, as I love dogs, but others didn't care for how forward they are with guests.

The owners were very nice, they led us on very interesting day trips around the island: Underground River, Mangroves, a hike through...somewhere and to the Lion's Cave, all very cool . The conversations in the restaurant were nice, the food cooked on site was adequate (pretty good but I'm sure there was probably better nearby). The owner's young children were fun for us to hang out with, but my group consisted mostly of teachers so we were accustomed to young children around at all times. The drinks at the bar were cold, but overpriced for the Philippines. Funny how the drinks can be so available, cool, and expensive while the resort has no electricity to speak of. The resort itself was not cheap, and in the end, my girlfriend and I had to spend our last night down the beach a short trip at a new resort with a fantastic pool, amazing breakfast, and reasonable rate ( I think it was a new Sheraton). Even walking down the beach, there are other resorts that look so much better than Bambua.

To make a long story short, my stay here was not good. There are many other places that are more accommodating, especially for a short trip, as I wanted at least a little proximity to the beach or a pool, not to be eaten alive by mosquitoes, and at least one or two of the comforts I've grown accustomed to at home.

I STAYED HERE AT THE END OF 2010, so it's possible for a change and I can't say what's happened since then, but I doubt it. I had a much better time on Bohol with a fabulous resort, Sherwood Bay, and I would suggest finding any other place on Palawan to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julbo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were greeted with 3 big dogs barking at us after climbing since it
was uphill. Was scared to death. Thank God a lady came. We were asked to choose which room we liked, they have big rooms and big bathrooms. Bath has no heater.toilet's flush wasn't working. No electricity. Woke up feeling uncomfy. They turned off the generator. Place is good. Just forest. Owner is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowfizz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We booked all inclusive rooms with meals and tours included over the New Years holiday. It seemed like the rooms which are kept in "good repair" were full and our rooms were in disrepair with broken showers and cracked toilets. They were busy with friends and seemed reluctant to provide tours due to being elsewhere involved and due to the rain and mud. We loved the cave and National Park activities. We really wanted to spend more time and do the longer river cave tour and had told them in advance, but they did not book it for us. The mosqitoes were rampant and the nets full of holes. The simple bunk rooms were filled with bugs and rodents. They could have used some more geckos for pest control. The mattresses were hard and the sheets torn and stained. Our teenage boys were starving the whole time. Our meals did not vary from day to day fish and rice and often seemed like leftovers, till we each had one meat kabob on New Years. YAH! One moring we looked over to see the friends of the owners were having hard rolls with cheese while we had fish and rice hash with an egg. Unfortunately, there was not enough for our boys to have some too. We tried to leave early, but they would not get us a ride. Some friends from our hometown in the states did "escape" early. Spending two years in Asia, mostly China, this was our worst ever hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DalianOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

It was the best place in Palawan that we ever had. Very good service and the bungalow are next the jungle and the beach are only 10min walk away. Andre is the owner and he looks excellent for the customer.
We hope, that we can visiting Bambua Nature Park a other time. We wish Andre all the best and thank for all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
32.9 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#2 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
0.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
12.7 mi away
Love and Peace Jungle River Paradise Resort
Love and Peace Jungle River Para...
#129 of 199 in Puerto Princesa
36 reviews
27.3 mi away
Blue Cove Island Resort
Blue Cove Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Port Barton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambua Nature Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambua Nature Cottages

Address: Sabang | Barangay Cabayugan, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $27 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambua Nature Park Resort is a secluded place situated in Sabang behind a gentle range of hills - just outside the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park with the famous Puerto Princesa Underground River. All the facilities at Bambua are located in an extensive garden landscape, surrounded by the bizarre St. Paul Mountain Chain, by farmland and jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bambua Nature Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambua Nature Park Hotel Puerto Princesa
Bambua Nature Cottages Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing