We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, clean getaway!”
Review of Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce Vita
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights after finishing our diving trip in El Nido. This hotel was really great - the rooms were airy and spacious with large beds with good quality bedding (duvets!). It is only a short tricyle hop (40-50 pesos, 5-10 mins) into the centre of Puerto Princesa where there are some good restaurants.

The hotel has a clean and good-sized pool which is warm and well-shaded. The hotel restaurant offers very good Filipino and western food. The hotel also offers a quick and effective laundry service as well as a spa. It has a wholesome, friendly atmosphere with helpful staff and would be god for families and couples alike. The hotel also offers a trip service for snorkelling and visiting the caves although we didn't do any trips as we just wanted to relax after our week of SCUBA.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bouganvillea was nice as it was on the second floor and has nice rattan furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomJABaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 334 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

short distance from puerto princesa airport. also near the tiangge and mercado de san miguel

i got fooled by the camera, thinking that it was that vast..

got welcome drinks.. pineapple, if i recall correctly

we stayed in the bahay cubo. but it's still a concrete house with the walls and roof in traditional deco. the table and chairs were completely made of traditional materials. but all in all, the rooms are topnotch and modern.

shower water temperature changes quickly.. which is a good thing

tv reception is a bit blurry

being palawan and being surrounded by vegetation, there's a lot of mosquitos. but the room has a small electric mosquito trap. and it's silent.

wifi available all throughout

breakfast is served small, but tastes well.

hosted a training event at their pub. floor layout was not ideal for us, but they got a projector and sound system. a few of their microphones have some defects.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil tristan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

absolutely a very good hotel. I spent a week at La Dolce Vita hotel and I must say it is a great hotel. the hotel staff very helpful and professional, have made this a place to stop for a long time. the tour operator, which structure is housed inside, offering professionalism and kindness. the ladies that work there, they organized small trips really pleasant. the rooms were spotless, the wonderful pool, and the guys who work at the bar and lobby are very professional and unsurpassed.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank MassimilianoV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in Dolce vita after spending few days in El Nido and it is a perfect place to relax. The place is quiet and peaceful so you can spend the day around the pool, read a book and drink cocktails. The room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. There's a guard in front of the building so we felt safe and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in ground floor room but the rooms on upper floor have nice terraces so it's a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Staff is very helpful and friendly. They provide a lot of information about the activities in town and around.

The location is 10 min. from the airport by van and they have free transfers. You can reach all places in town by tricycle, very cheap and authentic. It is in the middle of the city, but in a quiet street, so no noise and a good sleep

The pool is nice and relaxed (when there are no guests from outside). Easy to spend a day at the pool.

The food menu is huge and very good, e.g. The Club Sandwich, and all the breakfast variety's will make sure you have a good breakfast.

Rooms are good and spacious, comfortable bed (even for tall people), big shower. Some minor maintenance has to be done to make it perfect: the aircon was not powerful enough to reach the desired temperature and made a loud noise. Some towel holders were missing and the curtain rail was quite breakable.

For our trip to El Nido the hotel gave us two options; a minivan or public bus transfer. On our way to El Nido we went by mini-van, with pick-up from the hotel (700PH). We had to sit sideward as our legs did not fit and they put more people in then they should, resulting in an uncomfortable ride as we were all squeezed in.

On our return we used the Cherry Bus which is cheaper (370 PH) and more comfortable (make sure you take the aircon bus). Lots of leg space. It might take a little longer but for us it was worth it!

Overall the hotel is great value for money and a pleasant stay.

Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandiAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The staff is wonderful, the atmosphere is wonderful, the pool was awesome. I would definitely stay there again. They even called to help me find my lost luggage.
I highly recommend them. I do not normally do reviews because I do not think it is my job to advertise for other companies. Dolce Vita is an exception to that rule.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the Dolce Vita for three nights and it was very nice. Staff was very friendly and the location was good. It is no problem to get a tricycle at any time, and it will take you maximum 10 minutes to any part of town on such. We had arranged that the hotel should pick us up in the airport and eventhough we were 2 hrs delayed, the driver was smiling and happy. Only minus was the Wifi which was not always 100 % operational, but we "survived". Breakfast was great and friendly staff all over. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the swimmingpool / restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williamaeroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#15 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#18 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
569 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#5 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Vita

Address: 4 Victoria Romasanta St., Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $34 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolce Vita 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Vita Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dolce Vita Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing