We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and bright and what a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MaryGold Beachfront Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in El Nido
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and bright and what a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our trip to Marina Gardens was our first to El Nido. Clean and bright rooms right in the middle of the beach strip. Ask for one of the end rooms for an awesome view. Only criticism was the room next to me had a VERY extended family staying in it, so very loud, lots of very strong cooking smells (even though no cooking facilities in rooms), people camped outside my door which made me very uncomfortable, There needs to be a limit on how many people are allowed per room booking.

Room Tip: End rooms that have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    125
    72
    13
    5
See reviews for
50
99
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Maybe it's just me but I'm writing this review while sitting outside the room as we speak. I'm from Singapore and in order to reach El Nido have to fly to Manila then switch to a domestic flight (4+11/2 hours) then a horrendous up and down, round and round 6 hours van trip to this place. Fine, my expectation ease all the pains and discomforts of the journey. But the moment I saw the beach front, I knew it's not my kind of place. The entire beach is full of boats, water is murky and the view is mostly surrounding islands. During the day there's endless people getting on and off these vessels so other than the sound of sea waves you will get a lot of engine revving sounds.
The room is not what I call bargain, it's small, dated bulky TV, no fridge, window Aircon but performed alright and thin curtains. Bathroom is another issue, water from electric instant heater is trickling. There are a lot of ants in the room as well, funny I didn't see any one mentioned any of the above in the reviews. Breakfast are decent but food on some of the restaurant we tried so far are not good , hopefully can get better food for the remaining 2 days.
The nice things with El Nido is probably the island hopping which I would rate better than the phuket's Phi Phi island hopping. Shops on the main street are mainly small restaurant, some souvenir shops, convenient stalls, small massage place and a few drinking place ( some with live music). On the beach there's also a handfull of restaurant and drinking places.
Having been to the geogous beach of Boracay and the all-in-one Koh Samui in Thailand which I've enjoyed very much (for reference sake) I would say El Nido is probably for people whose purpose is to do island hop or diving trips. Not to mentioned the place only have electric power from 2pm till 6 am.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRGNBURN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here two nights.

Pros:
~Decent air conditioning.
~Clean room. Freshly painted.
~Close to beach. ON the beach. Nice.
~We arrived at 8 am and they were nice enough to store our baggage till mid day (as we went on a "island tour") and when the room was ready they moved our baggage into the room for us and turned on the AC so it was cool for us with our bags already inside when we got back at 5 pm.
~They have a router that they hooked up for us in the "lobby" for when the power was out, but you had to be at the front desk to use it.

Cons:
~Changed the price on us. BIG THUMBS DOWN. When we checked in in the morning they told us it would be 2100 pesos. We brought our baggage, dropped it off and went about our business. On the second evening I told them that we were leaving early the next morning and would like to settle our bill up that night. He wrote me the bill of 2560 per night!!! It was the same guy that had told us 2100 so I asked him what the deal was. He said that the price for three people was 2560. But he failed to mention that when we checked in WITH THREE PEOPLE. Super pissed... He said he could come down to 2300... Irritating. He saw all three of us bring our luggage and leave it at the front desk and never once mentioned that the price was 2100 FOR TWO, PLUS another 450 for a third person. Crappy!!!
~Breakfast is a joke. Bacon taste funny.
~Wifi in room? DON'T THINK SO!!! There was NEVER any wifi signal in our room at any point, power or no power.
~Fan in room didn't work.

Info:
No hot water (which is as advertised) and not a big deal as it was 100 degrees outside when we were there.
There is a restaurant. Breakfast sucked, but didn't try their other food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRGNBURN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in their deluxe room #1. The resort has the best beachfront in the area. The view is amazing. We had our breakfast in their restaurant and it has the magnificent view of the beach. Their service is also good. Worth every single penny we spent in this resort.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xeryl_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

It isn't great. My main gripe with the place is they didn't clean or change the covers in our room for the whole 10night stay we were there. They said to ask and we did a couple of times but just ended up giving up and joined the staff in total apathy for the hotel and the standards one would expect.

The location is really good for the day time, but in the night you will hear banging music until 3-4am.

The breakfast is decent enough.

Like I said if you are happy with apathetic staff that obviously have no interest in the hotel then this might be a good option, it does in fairness give you a fair amount of freedom to do as you please while there-perfect for a group of boys or girls out for a good time-but not a great option for couples or families though!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Alun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This property is overpriced, but admittedly, it has some of the best beachfront landscapes and it's location is fabulous. Unfortunately, the service is virtually non-existant, but nothing really happened to ruin my stay, and it was overall average. You can do better to find decent accommodations in the area. Most of the places in El Nido don't advertise online or have websites, so just wait until you get there and you can find something cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tslims99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Room was basic , The most thing was disappointing my stay is the electricity its shutdown daily between 6 AM -2 PM ( this is general in El nido) hotel doesn't have generator so you will not be able to have A/C and hot shower or you have to wake up early , furthermore there are a lot of mosquito's because its close the beach you have to get anti mosquito spray .

The location is great , there is fish market close by offers fresh seafood don't miss it open at night .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haled007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.5 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 16 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.0 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#9 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
APTR - A Place To Remember
6.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
5.4 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaryGold Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaryGold Beachfront Inn

Property: MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Address: Quezon Road (formerly Calle Hama) | Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines (Formerly Calle Hama)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Nido
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
#8 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of El Nido's first accommodations, MaryGold (formerly Marina Garden) is a small, family-owned inn located right on the beach, near everything you could need for your visit. Rooms are simple, clean, comfortable, and perfect for the middle-of-the-road traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marina Garden Beach Hotel El Nido
MaryGold Beachfront Inn El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing