We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Luzon, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in their deluxe room #1. The resort has the best beachfront in the area. The view is amazing. We had our breakfast in their restaurant and it has the magnificent view of the beach. Their service is also good. Worth every single penny we spent in this resort.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xeryl_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    133
    73
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
107
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

It isn't great. My main gripe with the place is they didn't clean or change the covers in our room for the whole 10night stay we were there. They said to ask and we did a couple of times but just ended up giving up and joined the staff in total apathy for the hotel and the standards one would expect.

The location is really good for the day time, but in the night you will hear banging music until 3-4am.

The breakfast is decent enough.

Like I said if you are happy with apathetic staff that obviously have no interest in the hotel then this might be a good option, it does in fairness give you a fair amount of freedom to do as you please while there-perfect for a group of boys or girls out for a good time-but not a great option for couples or families though!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Alun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This property is overpriced, but admittedly, it has some of the best beachfront landscapes and it's location is fabulous. Unfortunately, the service is virtually non-existant, but nothing really happened to ruin my stay, and it was overall average. You can do better to find decent accommodations in the area. Most of the places in El Nido don't advertise online or have websites, so just wait until you get there and you can find something cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tslims99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Room was basic , The most thing was disappointing my stay is the electricity its shutdown daily between 6 AM -2 PM ( this is general in El nido) hotel doesn't have generator so you will not be able to have A/C and hot shower or you have to wake up early , furthermore there are a lot of mosquito's because its close the beach you have to get anti mosquito spray .

The location is great , there is fish market close by offers fresh seafood don't miss it open at night .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haled007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haikou, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in one of the family rooms and the room was very basic, but that is what we expected, and that was fine! I would bring a bug net, there were tons of mosquitos, and they can get into the rooms very easily due to the floor boards. The location is great and the cafe on the sand offers great breakfast options and really good coffee.

The problem we had with MG was the service. Upon arrival we had asked to be transferred to a room that faced the ocean, we were staying 6 nights and they said they could move us after 3 nights with no additional charge. We didn't ask again until the night before we thought we would be moving, and they said that they had just sold that specific room, so we could not move. I was under the impression we had 'reserved' it when we checked in, and was a bit annoyed. I decided to just drop it, and asked if they could change the linens and clean the bathroom in our room instead. When we left in the morning I reminded them we would like to have our room cleaned, and when we got back about 8 hours later the room and bathroom had not been cleaned. I ended up just asking for new towels and linens and did it myself, and they eventually cleaned the bathroom.

Our stay overall was fine, but if you need something from the staff I would recommend you make yourself very clear and double check with them.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent one night in a townside room in February 2014. The room was clean, and in great condition. AC worked well, beds were comfortable. The included breakfast was decent (nothing special though). Staff were professional and friendly. Only complaint (which was admittedly, not their fault) was that at night we could hear loud music from one of the nearby bars until nearly 3AM.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and we slept comfortably. We were in Wayside Cottage. We had a problem with the bathroom water pressure and they fixed it immediately. It was located right on the beach it was nice to be able to listen to the ocean from our room. The room was large and clean. We were only in the room when we slept since we were diving most of the day so we really enjoyed out stay. We only had a fan at night which was perfect because the nights were a bit cool. We only had breakfast there once and the food was good they brought it to us really fast. I really liked this place it looked a lot better than most of the places in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparklesSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.6 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
APTR - A Place To Remember
6.8 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#11 of 17 in El Nido
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest El Nido Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaryGold Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaryGold Beachfront Inn

Property: MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Address: Quezon Road (formerly Calle Hama) | Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines (Formerly Calle Hama)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Nido
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
#7 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of El Nido's first accommodations, MaryGold (formerly Marina Garden) is a small, family-owned inn located right on the beach, near everything you could need for your visit. Rooms are simple, clean, comfortable, and perfect for the middle-of-the-road traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marina Garden Beach Hotel El Nido
MaryGold Beachfront Inn El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing