We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived in Elnido without a reservation. It was hard to find a place and we ended up paying a bit more for one of there more expensive rooms - with aircon and hotwater. This was a blessing as I got ill and it made my stay a little more comfortable. Its right on the beach which is nice and in the middle of the two main streets so not as noisy as other.

The breakfast was ok you only get a choice of Milo(chocolate) or coffee with breakfast. Can be busy so if ur going on a day tour make sure you get ur order in early.

The art cafe is great place to eat and book your tours but dont order Tea its made with the local water! We did tour c which was great - good BBQ, I would recommend taking a wet suit or something that covers u up a bit more than a bikini and something for your feet as there are lots of little jelly fish when going into secret beach and it stings.

If you can avoid it do not get the boat to Coron - its nightmare at 8 hours long. The 4 hour ferry no longer runs. I would spend ur time in Coron and surrounding islands rather than Puerto Princessa/Sebang or El nido.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    128
    73
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
106
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We expect a little more of Marina garden. Location of is good, bech in front is nice. Everything else is very basic. Accomodation rooms are dark and really average. Breakfast is included, simple and good, but all choices are with eggs quite. I think there are better places to stay in El Nido.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjeta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five days. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Rooms were very clean, although since we were on the beach, we tracked in a lot of sand.

The island is without power from 6a-2p, so in cases where there is a brownout, a generator can be used to supply extra power.

Within easy walking distance to several in expensive shops for groceries and meals.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QiRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Location of MG is really excellent and that is all. Very basic accomodation (rooms are dark, AC is loud). Front office staff seems to be bored all the time. Breakfast is included, simple but quite good. Coffee is horrible (instant Nescafe 3in1). I think there are better places to stay in El Nido.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TomekWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

El Nido is just a very small town north of Palawan and Marina Garden Beach Resort is one of the few resorts in town that is literally in front of the beach.
Resort is near the police station and some of the best hangout places in El Nido.
It's also near to a lot of tour agencies in town, which is helpful if you haven't booked your island tours yet.
Resort accommodation has free breakfast. You can choose from Filipino, American and others.
Lounging in the resort's hammock in the evening is so peaceful and you will love the serenity of the place.
Marina is definitely a great value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NotYourAverageJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A budget friendly resort with modern cozy rooms, very accommodating management, and is beach front. On its townside, it is right across the pulis station so no worries on safety. It is walking distance to the many restaurants, bars, cafes and shopping areas around town. It is surely worth your choice of stay. Kudos to Marina! We made the right choice in picking you....

Room Tip: Beach front or not, all rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 22boo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We paid roughly 1,000 pesos/night for a Native NipaHut or BahayKubo. This was booked months ahead in advance so we can get the Jessica Cottage fronting the beach. Didn't want to get the Wayside Cottage because it's near the roads and you know how it is with motorbikes.
We chose Marina because of the NipaHut. There is no electricity between 6AM-2PM and the NipaHut is still cool even at 12 noon. There is the native duyan or hammock if you want to rest too. We brought a small tent for the kids and set it up in front of the cottage and they did have fun.
Amenities of the place is very basic and spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 kids who slept comfortably for 5 nights. There was a security guard manning 24/7. Wifi is available 24/7 too.
Staff needs more training in customer service. Hoping that the owner would give more love and attention to the place and most especially its service because El Nido is a gem. Staff only clean the room upon request. Laundry cost for clothes is 70pesos/kilo.
Room is screened and no mosquito. Though there was a little smell coming from the toilet, so we shut the door always. There were black ants so we don't keep food inside the room. Very near the food stalls, groceries, police station and most especially the pharmacy for emergency cases.
How can I complain for US$25/night?

Room Tip: Jessica Cottage is the best of the 3 cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VCER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.7 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
APTR - A Place To Remember
4.1 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Nido Four Seasons Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaryGold Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaryGold Beachfront Inn

Property: MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Address: Quezon Road (formerly Calle Hama) | Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines (Formerly Calle Hama)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Nido
#7 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
#8 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of El Nido's first accommodations, MaryGold (formerly Marina Garden) is a small, family-owned inn located right on the beach, near everything you could need for your visit. Rooms are simple, clean, comfortable, and perfect for the middle-of-the-road traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marina Garden Beach Hotel El Nido
MaryGold Beachfront Inn El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing