We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$496
View deal
Hotels.com
$496
View deal
FindHotel
$333
View deal
Trip.com$457
Orbitz.com$496
Booking.com$429
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
119
64
35
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
64
35
23
23
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 264 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

My Husband and I decided to honeymoon in the Philippines for 2 weeks- jumping around to a few different islands and a few different resorts. We saved Matinloc for our last 4 days as it seemed the most luxurious and the most relaxing for the end of our trip.

As is turns out, 2 days into our stay we were considering leaving early.
We chose the signature suite thinking we would treat ourselves to a beautiful ocean view- what they failed to mention was the 102 steps to get there. I honestly thought it was going to be a ground level ocean view... but 102 steps later we finally got to our room. The room and its view was definitely a sight to see and picture worthy, but a heads up would have been appreciated.

Another thing they never stated anywhere was that the entire resort is alcohol free. My husband and I are not heavy drinkers- so this was not a huge deal. But when on vacation, we do enjoy a drink by the beach or a few drinks before dinner. So when we asked where the bar was - they said “we’re still working on it” that was slightly disappointing as well.

The staff was very kind and friendly, but the service was very poor. The food was mediocre with very few options... and for being in the Philippines- they had 4 Filipino food options (all the same for lunch and dinner) and absolutely no Filipino breakfast. My husband is Filipino American and we love eating Filipino food back at home-something we were looking forward to eating at a Filipino resort ...in the Philippines.... but nothing.

All of this to say- we spent the last 4 days of our honeymoon trying to be patient as we wrote these disappointments off as they were a new resort and still working out the kinks, until we went up to the reception desk and learned they had been open for 4 years already.

You have to pay an extra fee to take a boat back to town if you decide to leave the resort, and private boats (which are expensive) for island hopping.. but aside from that there isn’t much to do besides some snorkeling and sit by the beach- which is enjoyable and very relaxing.

I wish we enjoyed Matinloc more because we had really anticipated loving it. But this resort is WAY too expensive for what it offers. Would not recommend and unfortunately would not come back.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jaime4lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

One of the most beautiful places in the world. I understand now why every magazine says El Nido is Paradise on earth. Because it is!
The resort is small, friendly. The staff is very nice. The only thing that they did not warn us was that we had to climb 102 stairs to get to our room!!! The view was breathtaking. But just be aware of that!
The resort itself is a clearly 4 stars in terms like variety of food, the no alcohol policy, the quality of the towels etc. But you are in such a beautiful place that you forget all of that and simply enjoy! We did an island hopping tour and our guide was brilliant. A fantastic experience.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Cramond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in November for the last few days of our honeymoon. We certainly saved the best until last.

The resort is only accessed via speed boat and as we approached the resort we were amazed at how beautiful it was was. We were greeted from the boat by the friendly staff, a shell necklace over our heads, towels and a lovely fruit cocktail.

The resort is absolutely beautiful, the views are amazing and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The staff make you feel as if you are royalty and nothing is too much to ask from them. The resort does not sell alcohol but you can rake your own and take it down to dinner with you. We ran out of alcohol and the staff picked us some up from El Nido town when they next went over on the boat.

There was amazing coral just off of the beach at the hotel where you can snorkel and we saw so much amazing sea life! The hotel provides snorkel gear and also kayaks!

The rooms are lovely and a good size, they could probably do with a little updating but for us they were fine as we spent such little time in the room.

The breakfast was fantastic, there was so much choice I found it difficult to decide what to have. All the food we ate at this hotel was delicious, we could not fault the food. On our final night my husband had organised a private dining experience with a 5 course meal on the wooden gazebo on the beach and the food was incredible, the best meal I have ever eaten.

Would 100% come back here and would recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank iloveelephants03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2019

This resort is located in one of the most beautiful places on earth. The setting is incredible and property unique. This is a place to stay if you're looking for R&R as there is very little to do other than some day excursions which are great (snorkeling, boat cruises etc.) but you may get bored after a few days. Matinloc is very, very expensive (at least in high season) and I don't think the value is there. The room amenities and decor were dated for the high price point. All the employees were really nice and there were lots but not terribly efficient. "Bad service with a smile" other than a few bright spots like Adrian and Nylan. They were great.
At great expense we stayed in a family villa on the beach as we were 2 couples and needed 2 rooms. It turns out that the "family" part meant that they took the bathtub out of the back room and replaced with a bed. As the other bed was in the centre of the main room and door at front it meant you had to literally walk past the bed to get to the back room. Not only that but the shower and toilet had glass doors so privacy was non existent. There was no way of knowing this before we booked so we were extremely disappointed with the accommodations.
The no alcohol served situation is inconvenient and they should make it more apparent on the website but ultimately not a big deal. You can bring your own and the friendly staff is always willing to pick some up for you when they go to town. Not really a lot of night life anyway.
One important note is that getting to and from the resort can be challenging for older people. You need to step off a platform to get onto the boat which is often moving dramatically in the waves.
Lovely resort, lovely location, lovely people but not worth the price.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wannatravelmore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

Wow! 4 wonderful days spent at the gorgeous Matinloc Resort with my family! I am an American citizen, and my wife Ophelia and daughter Alexa are both Filipina, and we live in both countries...but it was our first Palawan trip. We will now visit often!
Matinloc's staff are totally accommodating, friendly, and anticipate your every need...before you even processed the the thought yourself. Just a few names to note (and I will be neglecting many many others whose names I cannot recall this moment
pasentia!) include Sylvan for securing our booking, Hannah as well at the front desk (further secured our booking arrangements, recommended an amazing Island Hopping Tour for us, and was our most gracious host during our stay). Bert in the restaurant (and every single other staff person in the restaurant) were so attentive.
Our guide on our Island Hopping/snorkeling tour, Jo Mar, and the entire crew were amazing! The tide came in unexpectedly on the remote Island where we were setting up our afternoon lunch. Jo Mar and crew then had to kayak our table, food, and us back and forth from the boat to the beach. Their effort was monumental and amazing! We loved it! The property is pristine, as was our room (we stayed in a beautiful beachfront villa....very spacious), and the beach. Food is delicious! We will be back more in 2019!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews