We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
129
47
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
47
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corong corong beach cottages villas la plage tricycle ride pool area water temperature french press coffee beautiful accommodation island hopping sun loungers every morning breakfast delivered french owner small pool mini bar private tour perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 183 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Mahogany is located on coron coron island which is about 5-10mins ride away from the town. Tricycles are easily available for 50peso single trip to the town. Service is great esp Joseph who is exceptionally helpful with our tours arrangement. He provides very good suggestions. Mahogany sets guests into simple lifestyle where there is no tv and wifi in the room. Just enjoy the nature and accompany of your loves ones with you. There are mosquitoes so do bring insect repellent. Do try La Paige which is located just besidefor their seafood pasta which is yummy

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank HuangJoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Was really looking forward to the stay at Mahogany resort and it sure did not disappoint. Stayed 2 nights and it was really a wonderful experience. Mahogany is located on Corong Corong beach which is really nice during high tide, catch the sunset view if you can.

The beach cottage is nicely renovated and very spacious. Even though there is no TV in the room and spotty wi-if, it is a good opportunity to just relax and chill-out by the poolside or the veranda in the cottage. Be sure to prepare insect repellant as mosquitoes can be quite rampant in El Nido. There is no restaurant at the resort but you can order delivery from nearby restaurants. Breakfast can be pre-ordered 1 day before and the coffee is great.

Joseph - the resort manager is a gem and the go-to guy if you need advice on tours at El Nido. He has kindly helped us sort out our underground river tour in Sabang, booked the tours in El Nido and arranged transport to Puerto Princesa, with a smile and making you feel at ease. Deepest appreciation to Joseph!

There are only 8 cottages/villas at Mahogany so it feels really exclusive and homely. There are security guards at the premises when night falls so it is safe for the guests. Also, you can take a tricycle for 50p if you will like to head out to town.

This is one of the bests hotel/resort experiences I had so far and I will highly recommend Mahogany.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank anggingyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We had a room on the corner , the room include a small jacuzzi, and it is without TV and without bathrobe .
The hotel is beautiful but does not includes a bar.
The price of the room doesn't include the breakfast , and for the breakfast you have a poor menu with limited choices .
The location is good and just next to the place where the tour starts. It is just in front of the beach with a nice view .

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Oussama N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

Mahogany Beach you did not disappoint. We were hesitant after seeing the beach that you are based on. (A little bit shabby in low tide season) But as soon as we stepped into the room our worries were swept away.

Your staff are truly wonderful, so attentive and the best hospitality we have received in Palawan. Breakfast on the balcony was great and the drinks were fab too.

All requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently and we would 100% recommend mahogany beach resort to our friends.

Thanks for a memorable trip, you guys are brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kellyh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

The gardens are well manicured, cottage is clean, swimming pool is cleaned everyday. We have a dipping pool that has its own filtering system. Service is excellent, all the staff are always smiling and helpful. There's only 7 cottages, so the service is very personalized.

I also got my transport and tour arrangements through the hotel. I should have asked from them earlier, I tried at first to scout from tour operators by googling. The rates given by Mahogany are competitive. We got private van transport from Puerto Princesa to Sabang (Underground River) to El Nido, it is very comfortable, and price is very reasonable (P7k) and helped us with underground bookings without surcharges. We also got private boat tours, as we were 3, and just additional amount got us a private tour so we managed to tour around with our own pace. However, sometimes it's rushed, while the boat crew's intent is good, that is, to avoid the crowds, they always rush us to get away from a site before the other boats arrive. But they are flexible to change some of the destinations to our preference.

Food is not included and you can pre-order the breakfast night before and they bring it to your porch. As there's only 7 cottages, there's no restaurant. But you can always go to town (P50 trike) to get your meals, it's only 10 minutes away.

While it's not the hotel's fault, Corong-Corong beach is dirty and not nice. This is my only disappointment, while it's beachfront, it's not for the beach bum like me. There are no sun loungers. Also as it's rainy season, there's a lot of mosquitoes, it may be good for the resort to do some regular fogging.

Cabanas beach seems to be better compared to Corong Corong, as despite the season being low tide, it still has a beach in the afternoon. However, it seems difficult to access as we saw only one long pathway to reach the beach so it will be difficult if you have luggages.

Overall very good stay, except for the mosquito bites we got :(

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews