We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We decided to book this resort for the 2nd half of our honeymoon. The pictures looked amazing and reviews really positive. The whole experience was amazing from start to finish. From the time you get to the ITI check in area (beautifully decorated building with drinks and snack for before the flight) to the time you get to the resort, everything was really great and they do make sure you feel special. The flight was eventless and with very nice views. Then you transfer to El Nido town to catch the boat to the resort. We got to El Lagen at sunset and were in awe with the place's beauty. Magnificient cove with beautiful water villas, a stunning swimming pool with big cliffs for background.
We decided to book the full board option which was good as we enjoyed the buffet 3 times a day. We thought that the variety of food was great and of good quality too. The drinks weren't too expensive except for the wines. The good thing with El Nido Resorts is the amount of activity that they have. We had breakfast in another resort (Miniloc) and then lunch on different islands... all this included in our package. It was a nice treat to have meals in different places without being charged extra and being able to have lunch on a stunning white sand beach with turquoise waters.
El Lagen has a nice 25m swimming pool, a small gym with 2 treadmills, a bike, a stepper and some free weights which is good to shed those kilos gained at the buffet. The trail that goes over to the other beach was nice as well althought challenging for some i'm sure. We could kayak around the resort, snorkel in front of the resort (great house reef)...
We stayed in an overwater villa which was nice. I read a lot about the room being a bit dated.... i agree but then it didnt bother us at all.

All in all, a superb experience there, we spent 6 nights there and could have stayed longer for sure. Stunning location, great staff, good resort. It is a bit pricey but for a special occasion, don't hesitate... you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EddieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 677 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is hands down the most beautiful hotel i've ever stayed in. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to provide you with the best service possible. I'd like to thank Carl for his efforts and delicious Margarita preparing for my boyfriend and I while we relaxed by the pool. Before booking our accommodation at Lagen, I had an extremely difficult time deciding between Minolic and Lagen locations. Let's just say that my boyfriend and I were both extremely pleased with our decision to stay on this island. A few of the reasons were because of the beautiful pool overlooking the bay, the hotel and water cottages are much newer and updated then Minolic Island and Lagen has a trail that you can walk to your own private beach! It was beautiful. Minolic is a beautiful resort, but we found it wasn't nearly as "luxurious" looking as Lagen.
If you are looking for the ultimate romantic experience, be sure to book a private sunset dinner with your own security and waiter. This was the highlight of our time there and yes it did have an additional cost but so worth it. Thanks to our waiter Ron, He was so helpful.
We also opted to do a morning of Scuba Diving with Dive Master, Fern. This was an additional activity offered by the hotel. Fern was an excellent coach and made my first time under water very comfortable and relaxed.
I would definitely recommend Lagen Island to any couple, family or solo traveller looking to relax in their own little piece of paradise out of the hustle and bustle of El Nido town.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a water cottage opt for the cottages on the side away from the arrivals area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amber e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you prefer more comfortable travel experience can recommend Lagen resort. We moved here after a night at Miniloc as we found the rooms far more comfortable and resort much quieter. You do pay a little more than Miniloc but we felt it was worth it. The location is stunning, good snorkeling in front of resort but not as good as Miniloc. There is a great 30min rainforest walk across the island to a beautifully private beach. Great to enjoy the natural beauty and some of the wildlife including the monkeys- just pack the mosquito repellant. It is 1hr boat trip to the big and small lagoons . Beach at resort is not great but 2 beach clubs are 30min boat shuttle away and they are strikingly beautiful. Our small girls enjoyed the pool as there were a few stingers in the water at both Miniloc and Lagen. It is expensive but well worth it to see the sensational beauty of El Nido.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alena&Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not only is it perfect for honeymooners but it is also family-friendly. Unlike Miniloc Island, this resort has a pool which can be enjoyed by the young children. The boat trips weresafe and the islands that we visited were something that the children enjoyed. However, if you prefer to travel without children you can leave them behind since they have a child-minding facility. We stayed at a beachfront cottage and we had lovely views of the sea, the limestones, and the other cottages. We made new friends as we went out the sea and that was great. Staff/service was excellent.

Room Tip: Beachfront cottage is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got engaged here after spending two days and this was paradise on earth.
We were backpacking from across Palawan and we arranged to stay just 2 days at this resort in September 2011. Can never forget the welcoming we had - as they made us feel like royalty, it was truly memorable, We had exclusive usage (for one night) of the single seating dinner suite on the bay front on stilts - this was accompanied by a single waiter. The rooms and backdrop were top notch. The best part were the daily organised trips and mixing with the other guests, such a great blend of people.
Will return here in 15 years.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days. Resort is nice and staff is friendly. Would recommend island hopping and lunch on the beach. One has to be aware that you have to pay for lunch and dinner and the choices are very limited. You should be prepared to pay $75 to 100/day in meals per couple. Buffet is available for $25/meal if you don't want to order a la cart. All said, it is a pretty place. El nido town is ugly--super disorganized and dirty.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiger223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

El Nido Lagen is a beautiful resort set in lovely El Nido, Palawan. While we prefer Coron, which has more destinations, El Nido has many things to offer as well. The villa is not very new but it is very well kept. We stayed far away from the docking port, so if you're not very young, ask for a villa near the docking port. The villa is on shallow water, so we could feed fish from our balcony. We also asked for a picnic lunch on an island, which my kids loved. We got to snorkel a bit and saw some sunken ships (no time to dive). Food was good (it could be better). Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk too far to the villa, asked for one near to the welcome area/docking p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
8.8 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
139 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
532 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
11.8 mi away
Cauayan Island Resort
Cauayan Island Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
119 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Resorts Lagen Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Lagen Island

Address: Lagen Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 1229, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Nido
#2 Spa Hotel in El Nido
#2 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range: $451 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Nido Resorts Lagen Island 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagen Island is a haven of tranquility nestled between a lush forest and a calm shallow lagoon. Its calssic and modern design exudes an air of subdued elegance. Cottages, rooms and suites are well appointed over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by verdant forest. Lagen Island is part of the El Nido Resorts group and is located in El Nido, northwestern part of Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila or a 6 hour land trip from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Nido Resorts Lagen Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island Hotel El Nido
Lagen Island Hotel
Lagen Island El Nido
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing