We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A paradise island with hotel management that needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A paradise island with hotel management that needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed in Miniloc for 3 days. The place is like a paradise but for the price of 24k pesos, they need to lift up the standards at par to other 5 star hotels.

Pros:
- Indulge in nature (picture perfect)
- Great variety of sea creatures under
- Good service
- So many island escapades to do

Cons:
- There is no place where you can leave your child (not so child friendly)
- Lack of activities to do in the resort
- no gym, wet area
- Buffet needs improvement (lack of variety, some dishes are bland)
- Souvenir boutique lacks variety of items sold
- Overpriced
- The rooms needs improvement. They look quite old, gloomy and fixtures are not efficiently placed. Like the toiletries are attached with the mirror in the bathroom. Mirror is wobbly so you might break it, be careful since most things here are priced unreasonably expensive though they look ordinary. You have to run back and forth from the sink to the shower to get the shampoo... Dangerous that you might slip going back and forth.
- I had good drinks at the bar during night time but seriously, they were way overpriced as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RML L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    156
    34
    11
    10
See reviews for
179
319
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really loved it here! Picturesque, post card worthy views 360 degrees, you truly get what you paid for, and you pay a really pretty penny, but I think it was worth it. From the airport lounge till we got to the resort, the staff were all smiles, very helpful and what I think really makes this resort stand out.

We stayed 3 days/2 nights (I suggest to stay at least one more full day) in a garden cottage, just a few yards from the beach. I loved how they set up your day activities and you get to go in small groups with a dedicated tour guide (towels and snorkeling gear is included). Vladimir was excellent! He knew his way around the islands, was super friendly, knowledgeable and you can see that he truly appreciated the beauty around him. The enthusiasm was contagious and we were smitten with Palawan by the 2nd hour of our day trip. I want to be shipwrecked at Entalula!

Back at the resort, there is a prime snorkeling spot just in front of the hotel where you can swim with the huge jack fish. It's quite easy to snag a beach chair, drinking in the views (and your alcohol). It didn't seem crowded, more couples than families. The food was good, great selection, with western fare along with some local delicacies; price includes 3 buffet style meals a day. If you get hungry in between, they serve a limited menu (think sandwiches/burgers) with "resort" prices, so eat up at the buffet! Bottled water was not free, but you get a small pitcher of water in your room.

The property is showing its age, but the lodgings are adequate, we didn't spend that much time in our cottage anyway. The bed was a little hard but we were so tired at the end of the day that it didn't matter. Water pressure in the shower was not that great but whatever, it got the job done. Along with that I had a couple of other gripes that I thought could have been averted since I booked way in advance and like I said, paid a pretty penny for-- I booked a couple's massage appointment on the day we arrived, confirmed it a couple of times with their lady travel agent thru email. After almost 18 hrs of fly time/traveling, a massage sounded nice, right? Well, that didn't happen. The front desk staff at Miniloc (who also apparently manage the spa appointment log book) said that they were fully booked that day and that they could squeeze us in on our last day. And while they were telling me this, another guest on the side was booking a facial for like NOW, right then and there. I was livid but too tired to argue. I mean, you're charging fancy pants 5 star prices, you could at least have a better appointment system. I wanted to visit Lagen on our last day, couldn't do it because of this snag and I already paid for it. Then, I also booked a romantic couple's dinner, fully expecting some concierge lady and a chef come to me to discuss details. I wanted to go the the big? lagoon where they had a platform and have a Michael Mina- like dinner. Alas, no one talked to me about it, the front desk just confirmed the date for it, no one really asked us what we wanted to eat and we kinda had to look for the spot. I was feeling the steam come out of my ears but thank goodness, Jun (our server, and musical entertainment) came to the rescue. Yay! Romantic dinner was not a total bust, the food was pretty good and Jun serenaded us on his guitar. (Note to staff: next time, maybe more candles or a lantern, it was pretty dark on the dock and hard to see my food).

Thanks to the great staff! They caught my attention with their singing and had my heart by the end of the trip. I look forward to next time! I love the luxe eco-friendliness!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We leave tomorrow and want to say how much We have loved the stay. Getting engaged is one thing but the way the staff treated us was another. A resort is as good as the managers. Don don was superb as the manager in charge. He personally welcomed us and looked over and beyond our needs. This hands on personable approach trickled right down from the ladies on reception to the chefs and to the island look out AJ. We got engaged and the things they surprised us with were out of this world. A private smiley chef, dinner in the middle of the water, a musical dinner interlude by the manager. Words cannot describe our experience. Thanks for giving us the perfect start to our new life, we cannot wait to visit again and recommend this place to all. A clean, welcoming luxurious stay for all xxx
Adam And Dareen

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamdareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at Miniloc Island for three nights March 16th to 19th 2013. The setting and accomodations were amazing. Soaring limestone rock formations and crystal clear waters...perfect weather. While it was full (there was an Aussie wedding) still felt like you had the resort to yourself. Would recommend taking the first 45 min prop plane flight out from Manila at 0730 (meaning staying in Manila overnight) then leaving on last flight at 1pm to maximize time at resort since paying 700 per night. We met no Americans the entire time - added to the feeling of going somewhere less travelled although it was a nice feeling that every Filipino we met in Manila and El Nido seemed genuinely happy to meet Americans. Everything is included and staff is beyond friendly. The snorkeling is the best I have ever experienced with the sites at the Miniloc resort better than anywhere else in El Nido (by itself enough reason to choose Miniloc) Boat excursions to both Lagoons (kayaks included) and neighboring caves plus Dibuluan and Entalula Beach Clubs with banana leaf lunches all musts. Visit to Lagen Resort with its pool and jungle walk nice but Miniloc has a preferable isolated tropical feeling to me. Food delicious and plentiful. Hope to someday return!

Room Tip: Garden Cottage facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rober2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile


We spent 5 nights in Lagen (see review) but visited Miniloc twice.
We would recommend Miniloc, smaller then Lagen, simpler, more in tune with nature, better food, better surroundings. Accomodation more "native" but still quite good and, most important, you don't have necessarily to get out every day!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed: Feb 16-22 Water cottage:
Split into 4 smaller resorts.

Rooms:
The only quarrel i found with the resort is its claim to be a environmentally sustainable luxury resort. I stayed in a water cottage and although the view from my room was the best in Miniloc, it was quiet small and the bathroom had a consistent light smell of sewage. The tap water water was usable only to wash your hands and the shower water was satisfactory. The water cottage was roughly 5m x 7m. And for the price you pay to stay in Miniloc, the people who own the resort could upgraded it alittle more, even if it is 30+ years old.

Even then you would have the view from your patio, and a view of their sewage treatment plant at your front door.

Food:
Although the buffet was very small in options, it was very delicious. You can eat at Lagen for lunch for breakfast or lunch, then dinner at your home resort.

Staff:
Treated you like royality... to go even as far as family.

Overall:
I found Miniloc to be much MUCH!!! better than Boracay in terms of value and location. The beaches were small and intimate, clean and safe. The activities and meals are all included and found it to be the best value for money.

Miniloc itself is a gem with incredible views from the beach looking into the ocean and its neighbouring limestone islands.

Despite my smaller issues with eco-friendly VS. Luxury, its worth staying here with value and service.

Room Tip: Water cottage for the best patio view, Seasuite and deluxe seasuites for the luxury and spaciousness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kdash22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

pros: untouched beach, lagoons, islands, natural geography amazing, service at resorts outstanding, they don't seem to expect tip as resort is all inclusive but i'm sure they didn't mind when we did tip

cons: difficult to get to (probably makes it so untouched); would definitely just go with the chartered plane

i don't think i've been to a more beautiful beach/island although i have not been to seychelles or maldives

unexpected: they really can do anything you want them to do, everything is virtually included except for very specific items. i was hesitant about the price as i have a hard time paying over $400 USD for any hotel but the all inclusive nature of the resort justifies the cost. also they are very green and this is a good lesson on how to be green

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
3 Thank boo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
5.6 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 14 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
2.8 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#6 of 14 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
19.8 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 14 in El Nido
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
24.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
#4 of 82 in Palawan Island
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Property: El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Address: Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Nido
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miniloc Island is a rustic and charming hideaway reminiscent of a coastal village. Miniloc Island is located in El Nido, in northwestern Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila to get to El Nido or a 6-hour travel by land from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City).Miniloc Island Resort is tucked within a beautiful cove surrounded by towering limestone cliffs and a vibrant coral reef. It is a gateway to popular activity sites in a breath-taking location known for its high biodiversity. The resort has 50 cottages and rooms built in traditional Filipino design over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by garden and limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resort Miniloc Island Hotel El Nido
Hotel El Nido
Resort El Nido
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing