We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, nice place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lugadia Beach Cottages
Ranked #54 of 112 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed 4 days, and were very pleased to have Wing and Divine as our hosts. They were always ready to help, and gave us excellent recommendations. Some of the best things they did for us:

1. Wing helped us retrieve a bag that my sister had left on a bus getting there. He brought her to the bus depot, and even went to the next town to fetch the bag when they finally received news of where it was.
2. Their recommendations were always spot on. And I never felt that we were being shunted to a place for commissions, the food/price/atmosphere was great! We did explore some on our own, but sadly the places we found that way were less impressive by far.
3. Thanks to their introduction, we found ourselves on a "private" boat for regular tour prices, while other tourists were packed because they went with more popular tour companies.
4. They give hot coffee every morning, but they noticed on the first day that we used one of the teabags we brought, and from the second day onwards, there was always tea. I thought this was really nice of them.

The beach in front of the cottages isn't the best I've seen, but it's fantastic for just walking and exploring rockpools at low tide. There's a lovely sunset view every day, too. The dogs are friendly, and we had a super good time there.
It's located a little out of town, but it's not too far to walk - we did it a couple times for fun. By tricycle it's just 5mins away.

The only drawback I must point out is that we had to be very conscious about using insect repellent. But this is more or less normal, since this is the tropics, after all.

Room Tip: There are airconditioned rooms, but there's no real point choosing these. They seem to be behind...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyChaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Lugadia Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 84 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This lovely set of cottages are right on the beach and they are simply furnished but that is all that you need. There is no hot water but it was fine for me because after a day in the sun it is lovely to cool down. The family who run the resort will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and can offer trips and if you have any questions they will help.

They will clean the room if you like and they also do laundry for a good price.

They have a card machine and internet but its good to pay by cash like everywhere in the area. I would certainly go back again and stay here. Be prepared to take tricycles though if you want to go into town as its just outside which was good but just so you know.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and really enjoyed the stay. The family who is running the place is really friendly and helpful. Whenever we needed something they helped us. The cottages are nice and basic and just a few meters from the beach. To El Nido town it takes about 5 min by tricycle.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Herr-der-Fliegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Nice cottages, with electric fan. electricity runs from 14H00 - 04H00 only. but even not too hot in the cottages in the morning. food in the restaurant is good, we also could use the grill to do our own BBQ.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masterdiver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We came to the pier and was looking for a tricycle to bring us to Las Cabanas Beach Resort. As we're heading there, I asked the young driver, his name is Weng, about Las Cabanas and if it's safe to stay there and if the price is reasonable compared to the nearby hotels. He didn't mentioned anything bad about this hotel, and he offered if we would like to see there beach cottages. It so happened that they owned a beach resort, Lugadia Beach Cottages. As we went down, we met this guy from Boracay and who was renting a cottage there for a couple of weeks already, he blurted out.. "you will feel at home and you won't feel you're staying in a hospital room." So we saw the place and it was nice, clean and very well-kempt but I still insisted to see Las Cabanas as our first pick and to compare the place. As we checked Las Cabanas, it was a little farther and they are way expensive than Lugadia. They're in the same beach line. We decided to stay in Lugadia for 3 nights. The room rate is very reasonable, it is only P700/ night ($16.50). It has its own complete bathroom and what i love the most is free wi-fi access. Me and my husband met this wonderful family. By the way, this is a family-owned property. We didn't expect any freebies other than the free wi-fi, but every morning there is free coffee & tea right in front of our porch. Weng is absolutely incredible because he is all-around gentleman.. he's our driver, tour guide, security guard at night time, he tells us the best restaurant to eat, he even booked the island hopping tours that we'd like and the van that will take us to puerto princesa. The last day of the tour, we decided to stay along Bacuit bay for dinner and we forgot to text Weng about it, because usually right after the island hopping, we ask him to pick us up. While we were strolling around the area, a local that we just met days before told us that Weng was asking him if he saw us, and we texted him right away. They'll really concern of there guests and they're priority is safety. There is one incident that one of the guest's cellphone and money was stolen while they were sleeping, so that's why they are very on guard especially at night times. He also mentioned, this incident is very rampant in the hotels along Bacuit Bay and I could tell the reason why. A week after we left El Nido, Weng didn't fail to check us if everything goes well and if came home safe. I would love to come back here soon if time and money permits.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovepixiedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The family that looks after these cottages are amazing. A nice touch in the morning is tea and coffee on your balcony table. You can request them to make breakfast if you like (100 pesos). Cottages were clean. The cottages are based in corong-corong which is literally only a 10 minute tricycle ride from el nido town proper (30 pesos if three people to go into town).

The sunset views are INCREDIBLE. More peaceful, quiet and serene. Although it is inevitable you will hear the gecko and roosters.

You can't go wrong with the price of the cottages either. Best to contact them via phone - +63 919 572 6372

You won't leave without falling in love with this place, let alone El nido itself.

You can't really swim in the beach outside the cottages due to low tide, however if you are looking for picturesque scenes, it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Beach view cottages!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank N33x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

These people were angels!

We stumbled across this family run acommadation by accident after an exhausting 8hr scooter ride from Puerto Princesa. We only planned to stay one night but the friendly welcome and waking up to a coffee already waiting for us on the porch, we ended up staying for 7 nights!
It is a hidden paradise with amazing views and the best part was that it was very exclusive,only 1 other guest hut was occupied and that was for half the stay.

They were also incredibly helpful after we had an incident with the police. They came with us to the station and translated everything for us which was very reassuring.

Thank you for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovelyLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
0.2 mi away
Island Front Cottages
Island Front Cottages
#82 of 112 in El Nido
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenviews Resort Corong-Corong
0.1 mi away
Desert Rose Hotel
Desert Rose Hotel
#80 of 368 in Palawan Island
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BUKO Beach Resort
BUKO Beach Resort
#11 of 112 in El Nido
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stunning Republic Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Last Frontier Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugadia Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugadia Beach Cottages

Address: Sitio Lugadia, Corong-Corong, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 112 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range: $500 - $1,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a really nice place on the beach. We have separated bungalows with one double-bed and bathroom, family bungalows. You can choose bungalow with fan or a/c. The beach called Corong-Corong. This is 2 km southward from El Nido. Price depends from the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lugadia Beach Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing