We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, careful of your belongings...”
Review of Hotel Garnet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garnet
Ranked #75 of 94 El Nido B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small rooms, careful of your belongings...”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this via agoda weeks before our trip. 4 travelling requesting family room. On arrival we were given a room with 2 tiny double beds... seriously not even wide enough for 2 to lie on. After negotiation we were offered a triple room wth an additional mattress on the floor. It was still very pokey, plus we had to pay extra!

The hotel was failrly clean and the staff were well pracised in clearing the sand at the end of each day. Breakfast was provided in a lovely beach restaurant; ths was welcoming and tasty.

It is located on a street that runs parallel with the beach so you can easily access the beach and all its restaurants / bars.

Power is an issue at this hotel. On our last night they had to cut all power as the air conditioning unit was on fire. this made sleep impossible and after an hour thankfully we had power back...

Unfortunately we didnt feel we could quite trust the staff during our stay as a bag was found opened on our return, luckily nothing had been taken, however we felt uneasy the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McSpawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILMAC09, Owner at Hotel Garnet, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
good day, im the owner of garnet hotel and as far i know there is no incident that our hotel was bring into the local authorities for stolen or lost things.maybe this guest just forgot to close their luggage and they thinked they did, people made mistake or sometimes forgot, they should consider that they forgot to do it. Our housekeeping staff are honest in fact there is an incident that our guest left money on his laundry that he gave to our housekeeping and the money was returned by my staff to the guest, the guest was so glad of their honesty,he even wrote it in his review, READ IT!!! my staff maybe poor but trying their best to make a living in a right way so it is not a righteous thing that you accused them of doing something that they did not actually do. maybe the problem was you are kind of people who cannot trust people around you and paranoid that every people around you wants something from you. if you dont lost anything and my staff has intesion of stealing, does it mean you dont have any valuable things left in your room? I dont think so! even a shirt or a shoes can be valuable for thieves. we are sorry you cannot trust people but its not our fault if your paranoids, we are trust worthy and respected people here in our small town and we would not ruin our own business for worthless accusation.thanks for staying anyway...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    27
    22
    16
See reviews for
16
51
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norge
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at Garnet for 1 night only, so my impression is based on that. Good location, 2 minutte walk to beach and beach resturants, shops and bars around the hotel. Welcoming and nice staff, good room and bed. Breakfast is across the street at Hajibi bar and resturant, good breakfast that get you started.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is hard to miss the Garnet hotel since it is painted bright red and green and is the tallest building (four floors) on the main strip. Unfortunately, the neighbors have caught on and decided to also build an equally tall building next door, while the neighbor right in front of the hotel has “tried” to extend their rooftop, which all in restricts sea views of the bay. The only room, which has any sort of view, is room 9, which also comes with a balcony.

This hotel could be much more but it lacks any sort of character and atmosphere. A modern hotel with old dusty couches and low grade furniture located on every floor. This reception area was found dusty. The first room we were shown was at the side of the building and dark, fortunately the reception staff were very accommodating and relocated us to a brighter room (Room 9) when we asked. We were lucky.

Each room is supplied with TV, fan and aircon, however there is no double lock or security chain on the door. The fan was not working, while the TV investment is perhaps overkill for such a hotel type. Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis, one wonders why not since at the price charged it should be done.

We will not stay at this hotel again as there as other hotels located within the same area that look better.

Room Tip: Room #9 has a balcony, located on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Nido hotels

New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've stayed at close to 200 hotels in more than 50 countries, from $2 per night to $500 per night, but the Hotel Garnet was the worst experience I've ever had. It ended with the staff harassing my girlfriend and I as they followed us on motorbikes and the owner used local police to extort money from us.

Things seemed fine when we checked in--the windowless room didn't come with breakfast but was clean and relatively cheap. But when we checked out we were told the price was twice what they had quoted us the night before! Needless to say no prices were listed at reception and no receipt was given--we took them at their word and were scammed.

When we refused to pay the extra money constant harassment ensued, spurred by the owner. The staff seemed nice enough but the owner, who the police referred to as a local bully, apparently told them if we didn't pay the extra amount they would have to.

When we held our ground on the shake-down the police said they would lock me up if we didn't pay. After a day of this headache we paid half the amount.

I can't urge you strongly enough to choose anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrookS244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILMAC09, Owner at Hotel Garnet, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good day, im the owner of GARNET HOTEL and i would just like to say that no one doing the right thing has been extorted if that what he call it is.the guest was very uncooperative, the lady receptionist at nightshift is the one that accepted this guest and they check out early in the morning between 7-8am saying they will go back to puerto princesa , so as the morning shift receptionist always do is to check the guest registration form for the given rate for each guest but unfortunately they where different from what they heard(MISHEARD) so this guest strongly says that they will not pay more, as the owner i was consulted by the receptionist what to do and i told him that ask the guest to stay a little bit until the nightshift receptionist arrive to clarify the issue but the guest insisted to go so i think that this guest has no intention to pay the amount in the 1st place. we followed them, yes because we want to brought the conflict to the local police for legallity, if we wanted to harrast them then we dont have to call the authorities but we do it so everything can be solve peacefully.We found out later that they didn't go to puerto instead they just move to another hotel and use a different road just to confuse us where they are going knowing that the hotel they just transferred is just straight ahead of our hotel,so that was very intentional for me, i thought.so the local police invited them to the police station and even the Chief of Police is explaining to them that Garnet has no rate that low because it was peak season. even the fan rooms in elnido was ranging 1200-1500, which far on what we offered to them. The guy even threaten me that he is a journalist and he would write bad things about the hotel that he say " you choose i will pay you 1thousand pesos and do a lot of bad reviews or let us go without paying you". i got intimidated by his threat and said that do what ever he want just pay us what he owe the hotel .the tourism officer urge him to pay but he is too hard to explained with until the tourism officer ask me just to let them go and accept the 500pesos additional that he offered just to finish the conflict even if we has the right to hold them we didn't do it and just accepted the offer knowing that the police and the tourism officer has alot of important work pending because some people cannot understand and accept that they heard the rate wrong.but since they write us their promise revenge review we cannot let this matter pass again without explaining our side of the story, we have a lot of good things on our reviews and you can see that their review is nothing but personal. We are very sorry for the inconvinient and shame that YOU brought to YOURSELVES.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

stayed here last march (fiesta week), thru friend recommendation. the hotel is almost new from doors to the toilet. the staff are very hospitable (the real asset of this company). the price is justified by their service and facilities (all)... will recommend this to anyone including those travelling w families. 20 steps away from the beach...bfast is at habibi rest, accross the road, recommending the el nido especial, a must try for tourist.godbless and more pwer garnet hotel

Room Tip: no need to look for a beachfront... anyway, activities will not be there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berongski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Garnet Hotel for 3 nights at 3rd floor which has more clearer ocean view from the balcony than the 2nd floor.. it offers free coffee, tea and wifi 24/7. We had the roon with 2 double bed,cr, flat tv, dresser, clothes compartment and a/c of course.. even if there power interrupions, garnet hotel has back-up generators for fans, lights, tv and power outlets. the rooms are very clean and has a cozy set-up.. sheets, towels, and blankets are fresh everyday.. just a heads-up, they dont serve meals so better eat at resto near the hotel just 5 to 15 meters away and you could have a wide variety of choice where to eat.. if i would compare hotels at beach fronts to garnet, it not much of difference but the price is way too far. if you love a sunset or sunrise walk at the beach, its just approx 10-20meters away from the hotel and from the balcony, you already see the beachfront... if i would visit again el nido, i would definitely book my accomodation again at garnet hotel.. ;p

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pongski_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Garnet Hotel is in a great location in El Nido. The rooms and bathroom are clean. The AC is strong and when the power cuts out (6am to 2pm daily) they have a nice big fan to keep you cool (lights and fan work 24/7). Only complaint is the lower water pressure in the shower, but I think this is a common problem. No hot water...but honestly who the hell takes a hot shower when its already so hot and humid! =) Stayed 4 nights and wished I stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.1 mi away
balay Paragua B&B
balay Paragua B&B
#21 of 94 in El Nido
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#53 of 94 in El Nido
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buena's Haven Travelodge
Buena's Haven Travelodge
#27 of 105 in El Nido
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
#43 of 105 in El Nido
170 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
0.0 mi away
Dayunan El Nido Tourist Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garnet

Property: Hotel Garnet
Address: Calle Hama, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garnet 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Garnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garnet El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing