We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”
Review of Cadlao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cadlao Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I did not expect el nido town to be so disorganized and unkempt. That being said, this hotel is probably the most affordable and clean place in town. The owners are nice and the restaurant is good. Yes, you do have to walk past a cemetery but that did not bother me as much as the noise and dirtiness of the town proper. The hotel is 10min walking distance from the action and is quiet. The landscape is pretty and the rooms are nice--not large but we did not mind since we were out of the room most of the time. We spent one day hanging out by the pool and it was really nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    170
    51
    25
    14
See reviews for
73
315
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Absolutely incredible resort!

When we arrived in El Nido for our honeymoon, we jumped on the back of a trike (complete with luggage) and headed onto the beach and a dirt road to Cadlao. At first we thought "This is the middle of nowhere", but as you walk into the resort and see the view of Cadlao Island you realise this is exactly where you want to be.

The views are spectacular, the day trips are phenomenal (be sure to do the Lagoon Tour and Cave Tour), the staff are incredibly friendly and make you feel right at home, food is superb, overall it really is a little piece of paradise.

Cadlao is a short, scenic walk to El Nido town, which we shared with a number of other guests.

If you're planning on visiting Palawan, you have to go to El Nido, and you have to stay at Cadlao. We absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kamagong, which is situated perfectly in the middle of the resort. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

we have stayed at Cadlao for 3 nights in Dec,2012.
the resort is quiet and the room is clean.there have better facilities than others in the town,e.g. a small swimming pool and restaurant,hot shower included.
if you visit El Nido in winter,you can choose EcoFriendly Room(without aircon),because it's cool and windy in the night.

Cons:little expensive and far from the center of town/villige(provide free tricycle,but only from resort to the edge of the main street).

suggestion:1.no loudly after 10:00PM for considering the neighbors,
2.no choosing La Salangane restaurant in the town,it sold Shrimp as Tigher Pranws there(no longer than mid finger,then charged me fee of tiger prawns).

2012年12月,我们在这个酒店住了3个晚上。
酒店安静、房间整洁,比起El Nido其他旅店这里有较好的设施,比如有个小游泳池和餐厅,还有热水。
如果冬天到El Nido可以选择经济房(没有空调),因为晚上比较凉快。

缺点:贵!并且离镇上比较远(数百到1KM),但酒店提供免费三轮到镇的外围。

建议:1、晚上10点后小声,因为隔壁可能睡了。2、不要选择镇上的 La Salangane 餐馆,我在这里点的虎虾给我上的对虾(比中指还短),收的虎虾价格。

Room Tip: if you visit El Nido in winter,you can choose EcoFriendly Room(without aircon),because it's cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Modern Standard:
A huge plus point is that the resort was newly built in December 2011.
The design of the entire resort is bright, modern and we felt immediately comfortable and relaxed.
We enjoyed sitting and reading on the front veranda and all rooms face the beautiful garden which is maintained daily and very well.
Thanks to the installed solar panels electricity and Wi-Fi is provided 24h/day (in other places there is no power during the day till around 3 pm).

Lagoon Tour:
We did once the private Lagoon Tour with the Cadlao tour guide and once a private tour with another provider.
Although the tour provided by Cadlao was double the price, it was worth it every single peso.
The price includes large and fresh beach towels, water, juices and a kayak (this was not included with the other tour provider). The night before Mel noted all our preferences and special requests for our drinks, meat, vegetables / fruits. The setting of our lunch table was just like the setting of a dinner table at a 5-star restaurant. Mel and Al (our tour guides) created the most tasteful lunch we ever had in Asia.
Another plus point was that we had a kayak with us on the boat, it made it so much easier exploring the lagoons. Some sections are very rocky or too far away to swim to, with the kayak we reached the places without any hassle and we took our time just hanging in the kayak and enjoying the view.
Mel and Al are highly professional and are very experienced tour guides (and you get real and safe life-vests!).
This tour was one of the greatest highlights of all our travels we made so far in our lives.

Excellent Restaurant:
The restaurant provides a good range of fresh local food, which is cooked with very high quality and excellent taste. Drinks are suberb and you can be sure that all of their ingredients used, for their beverages and food are fresh and well stored as they have power 24h a day. Although we left the resort (due to unavailability of free rooms), we made our way back every night to the Cadlao Resort for dinner (the restaurants in town are of low-quality). The view from the restaurant is picturesque and simply beautiful.

Outstanding Service:
For "Philippino-Standard", staff at Cadlao is very very well trained on serving their guest. Staff is hard-working, very friendly and work very well as a team. They were extra friendly to our daughter.
No one is lazy and lingering around and they all speak well English.

We walked multiple times, at night and with our 10 year old daughter to the Cadlao for dinner and as long as you have a flashlight and don't wear any high heels - it's an really EASY and SAFE walk.
On the way from the Cadlao to town a tricycle service is provided.

You can settle your bills easily by credit card which is good to know as there are NO ATM's in El Nido.

Considering the fact that El Nido's infrastructure is still very basic, the value you get for your money is excellent at the Cadlao Resort!

Room Tip: choose a room in the middle or in the back otherwise you are too close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed in Cadlao for 4 nights with my boyfriend in December 2012.
It's a lovely place and certainly one of the nicest places I saw in El Nido. (It's also one of the more expensive though but I guess you get what you pay for).
The cottages are very clean and smart with hot water and a fan and some with air con.
There's a nice pool with sun loungers and hammocks.
the bar will give you free purified water so you dont need to keep buying bottles.
The restaurant is lovely - the staff are extremely friendly and the food is great. It's some of the best food we had in El Nido.
It is a short walk down a dusty track to get to town, which is very dark. Although El Nido feels very safe, I wouldnt have been happy walking on my own. I felt safe in a pair though. Best to take a torch as well. Cadlao will drive you down the track on a trike if you ask them.

one night Cadlao was full so we had to stay at El Nido Garden Resort, which was the same price but was definitely not as nice as Cadlao.

The cons:
The first day I arrived it felt quite busy and there was no space near the pool or on any hammocks but other days people went out on boat trips so there was more space.
The cottages face each other so it felt like there was a slight lack of privacy.
Tiny note - the bed was a bit broken so quite noisy!

However, I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stumbled across Cadlao when it was just opening and it was the best thing that happened in our trip. My wife and I often reminisce about the food there: the breakfast feast (huge plate of fruit, garlic rice, bacon, ham & unlimited coffee) remains the nicest breakfast I've ever had, and thinking about the tuna steak for dinner still makes me drool. Then there was the infinity pool overlooking the sea and spotless rooms with super comfortable beds. The French guy who runs the place was a true gent, and all the staff were friendly. Absolutely no doubt about where we'll stay if we ever go to El Nido again.

I've seen a couple of comments about the distance from the town to Cadlao. It's true - it'll take ten minutes to walk. But the walk is scenic and they offer a free journey into town so it's really not an issue.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwk198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

All of the positive reviews of this hotel are absolutely true! My husband and I stayed at the Cadlao resort for three nights while holidaying in the Palawan area. It is a beautiful, modern, clean, and quiet hotel with well-kept gardens and an infinity pool. The staff are friendly and accomodating. The restaurant food was tasty, though we thought the prices were too high in comparison with what you can find in town.

We read onTrip Advisor other traveller complaints about the location of the resort. Yes, it's a 5-10 minute walk away from town and yes you'll be walking by a cemetary, but none of that bothered us. The walk was enjoyable (good exercise) and gave us a chance to see a part of the town that others don't see. There's also something to say for walking away from the bustle of a town with its scooters and mud puddles and into an oasis of swaying palm trees and sounds of birds chirping. Bring a flashlight with you in the evenings as the path to the hotel from the town is not well-lit.

We always felt a bit more relaxed when we walked into the entrance of Cadlao-it's a very special place where you can truly lay back in a hammock and think about absolutely nothing. We highly recomment it to anyone staying in El Nido.

Room Tip: Bring some sturdy water shoes. The hotel is surrounded by rocky beach area that is fun for explorin...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank debster34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.1 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
230 reviews
7.2 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
126 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Nido Coco Resort
El Nido Coco Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
6.5 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
3.5 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadlao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadlao Resort

Property: Cadlao Resort
Address: Caalan - Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadlao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadlao Resort & Restaurant gives its guests a unique hideaway with the ultimate pleasures. Travelers come from all around the world, from over 50 countries and counting, to this paradise nestled in El Nido, Palawan, Philippines. Here they feast on the most sumptuous international cuisine, in what has been known as the best restaurant in El Nido. Here they enjoy the best view of the biggest island in Bacuit Bay, Cadlao island, adrift in the blue waters of the South China Sea. Cadlao, in the local Cuyunin dialect, means "laughing". Come to Cadlao Resort & Restaurant to savor the sweetest smiles you'll ever have in your traveling life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cadlao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadlao Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing