We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Cadlao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cadlao Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My 20 year old son and I stayed here for 4 days. On arrival in El Nido met by hotel trike and whisked to this wonderful resort. 16 rooms in extremely well maintained garden setting. The rooms are new though not big, very clean and excellent beds and pillows and veranda .. The cottages are in blocks of two so you will have your neighbours sharing the veranda. The 24/7 elecrticity and hot water a plus, go for the executive rooms with AC. No TV, great , and there is intermittent internet access.The infinity pool is glorious and the sunset views to die for. Restaurant overlooking the beach with probably the best views in El Nido. We ate here every night and the food, especially seafood and pork, was excellent but do avoid the burger. The silence and peace found at Caldao makes a stay here unforgettable. Staff friendly but not intrusive. The walk to town takes less than 10 minutes and is very safe. It is easy in El Nido town to organise island hopping, dive trips and excellent cheap massages. We were sad to leave Caldao and El Nido, it was truely a fantastic place and hope to return.

Room Tip: Chose the executive rooms with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 547 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Amazing view,amazing staff...the only problem is the way to hotel is quite scary esp at night because its completely dark. We enjoy the sound of the gecko (tuko) at night Lol! Rooms are nice although much better if they put television i think.İ enjoy there hammock and balcony.,such a great spot for relaxation. There restaurant food are very good (two thumbs up) İ perfect vacation i will never forget...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beyonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

the best place to stay and eat in El Nido. the room, staff, food, swimming pool, service and everything were over the top. the trip wouldn't become this memorable and enjoyable if we didn't stay here. if we'd evey go back to Elnido this would defenately the place we'd stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiho0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we spent there 3 nights at this resort it's amazing beautiful place sunset view is to die for! the place is so awesome but beware of your valuable things must be in a safe place, one time we just forgot to put our money in a safety box when we come back its already gone, too bad we complain and it looks like they blaming us. not helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clench c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this resort and couldn't have been happier! I looked at a lot of places in El Nido town as well as the luxury El Nido Resorts properties before choosing Cadlao Resort. For the price, location and accommodations, this is hands down the nicest resort! I would highly suggest you stay in an Executive Room (with Air-Con) vs. their Eco-Friendly Rooms (Ceiling Fan only) if you are not on a strict budget and like being cool at night. The rooms are very simplistic and clean and the bathrooms are large with basic toiletries. Note there is no telephone or TV in the rooms but if you desperately need it there is a TV at the bar area as well as a computer for guests. Each room also comes with their own deck which I enjoyed later in the day reading a book. The breakfast that is included was wonderful and you were given a great selection to choose from. We also enjoyed lunch and dinner there a couple of times which was also very good and huge portions. The only hotel in El Nido Town, that I know of, that has a wonderful infinity pool and with an amazing view looking out to Cadlao Island. Don't expect to go swimming in the bay at the hotel, there are a lot of rocks and a bit murky but with all the island hopping, I am sure you will do, you won't be too upset. The property is meticulous, fantastic friendly service, hammocks and large lounge chairs around the pool area and the best is watching the sunset; one of the only places you can watch the sunset in El Nido Town.

To get to El Nido Town you will need to walk and it will take you about 15 minutes but we felt safe even when we walked home in the pitch black late at night. It was nice to be secluded from the town during the day but within walking distance to go into town at night to enjoy the night life and additional dining options. Overall you won't be disappointed if you stay at Cadlao Resort. It is a brand new property, opened December 2011, and the owners and staff want to ensure you have a pleasant stay and will assist you with any of your requests!

Room Tip: Executive Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank havebags-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Pros: Beautiful resort tucked away from action, the rooms are pristine, spacious bathrooms w basic toiletries (soap, shampoo, toothbrush and toothpaste), personal deck, infinity pool, beachfront bar, manicured landscape, awesome service and amazing sunset as the sunset from the bay is different from the sunset here. This is a beautiful place to hang out and relax, there are hammocks and sun loungers to lay on, if you're not feeling like floating in the pool. super relaxing place, you would definitely feel spoiled. Oh, you can also arrange for massage by the pool!!!

Cons: Whilst there is a trike service, it is a walk to get to the resort. we didn't mind as it felt like an adventure as you pass by the walkway around the corner to Makulay lodge and then the cemetery and then the GK resort. their island hopping tour is pricier, but the Cadlao boat is nice and spacious. We spotted it across the GK village. We ended up getting our tour from the GK village next to the resort, which had smaller bancas and thus a little longer travel time plus rougher ride (still would recommend it as the food was fantastic and the lady (Ate Baby) agreed to cook more food for us once we got back to the island) . Btw, there are no tvs in the rooms, but if you really want to watch, you can go to the bar. I don't think there's wifi either, but you can go to town for that.

Tip: The beach in front of the hotel is rocky, and we used reef shoes. Saw some fish there even at the shallow end. My sister walked further out to swim at the deeper end of the beach, but the kids playing in the water warned them about the electric eels in the deeper end so they waded back to shore and settled for the pool.
For money changer, MLhuiller across the church in town had pretty good dollar rates. I think it was at least P2 more than the smaller ones we passed by in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nadarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We talked to the owners of the resort and they said that what they want to offer is a similar island resort experience offered by the world-class El Nido Resorts (Lagen, Miniloc, Apulit resort)but on a lesser budget, and I think they are definitely on their way to providing just that.

Probably the only resort near El Nido Town with an infinity pool. It offers one of the best views in the area. Enjoy the sunset while lounging on the pool.

Breakfast was great. Food prices are a bit expensive for the budget conscious but you'll end up satisfied so that's a good thing.

Resort is a good 10 minute walk from El Nido town, just enough distance to seclude you from the noise and bustle in the town area. You'll get a good night's sleep for sure.

You can enjoy the beautiful resort while just being minutes away from the town area. This is a great plus especially if you're looking for variety and options when it comes to drinks and food choices. You also have liberty to choose different island activities which may not be readily available for El Nido Resorts ran resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunjun79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.1 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
252 reviews
7.2 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Nido Coco Resort
El Nido Coco Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vellago Resort
Vellago Resort
#12 of 17 in El Nido
94 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
278 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cauayan Island Resort
Cauayan Island Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadlao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadlao Resort

Address: Sitio Caalan St. Brgy. Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in El Nido
Price Range: $157 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadlao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadlao Resort & Restaurant gives its guests a unique hideaway with the ultimate pleasures. Travelers come from all around the world, from over 50 countries and counting, to this paradise nestled in El Nido, Palawan, Philippines. Here they feast on the most sumptuous international cuisine, in what has been known as the best restaurant in El Nido. Here they enjoy the best view of the biggest island in Bacuit Bay, Cadlao island, adrift in the blue waters of the South China Sea. Cadlao, in the local Cuyunin dialect, means "laughing". Come to Cadlao Resort & Restaurant to savor the sweetest smiles you'll ever have in your traveling life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Cadlao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadlao Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing