We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalinga Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 126 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I had booked somewhere in corong corong but when we stumbled on kalinga beach resort for less than half the price we changed out booking to stay here instead.

We paid 1200php for a stand alone cottage inc breakfast for 2 ppl. The cottages are beautiful with private balcony, tv, fan, safe box and bathroom.

The sunset views are amazing, much better than in el nido town.

The staff are what make the resort though- they are so friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to help you with local advice, tips, trips and bus tickets.

We did island hopping tour A with the hotel on their boat- there was just 4 of us and they provided ice boxes (which I broke!).

The resort is a good 10mins from the centre but that is exactly why we chose it. It's near enough to town to pop in for food and drinks but far enough away from the noise of late night bars and traffic. Just bring a torch!

The tocilog breakfast is amazing but banana pancake average!

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked the room through Agoda and I'm quite sure it's more expensive than popping by or contacting them directly. Payed around 1500php a night and first I got a huge room but facing the back. The single room I booked was with seaview but a great deal smaller. They managed to move me to that room on day two.
That room had a beautiful view and a nice little terrasse.
Both rooms were quite dirty though. The bathrooms not cleaned and trash not emptied. I asked them to empty the trash can and they just took it without bringing it back. There's no warm water and actually not any water in the shower. Probably a pump issue.

Note that it's located at the Calaan beach 15 mins. walk from the town where you find restaurant etc. It is a bit remote but the good part is that it's a beautiful walk in the daytime. At night it's pitch black. There's absolutely nothing to do at the resort in the evening.

The staff was friendly and did their best and the garden area is very neat and beautiful.
Nice bed and permanent mosquito net

Room Tip: there's a cottage on 1 floor that looked really beautiful
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Indahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Several good-looking cottages located right next to the sea (swimming not possible, but good for walking/jogging during low-tide). Prices are a bit expensive for fan rooms but the rooms are clean and cozy and the cottages have nice porches. The whole area is very quiet and good for relaxing. Wi-fi available only at the reception and not working very well. The view to the sea is beautiful with a partial view of the sunset. The location is a bit far from the town but still an easy walking distance

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a room through Agoda and when we arrived at the resort we were told that they did not have anything available until the next day. We showed them our booking confirmation and they appeared confused, seeming thinking that we weren't supposed to come until the next day despite what the booking explicitly said.

While we were very frustrated (especially after making the 15 minute walk from town with all of our baggage on our backs!) they did try and find us another hotel to stay in for the night. However, when we asked to confirm that we would have the room we booked when we came back she did not seem certain that even that was possible! Despite all of this we went to see the room that they suggested for us to stay in and it was not nearly as good and so we left to find our own place.

To be fair, the staff was friendly and tried to be helpful but in the end it was very unprofessional. We did make the booking one day prior to our arrival so we understood that a mixup could happen, but after hearing different things from different people it was very clear this place was very disorganised.

As mentioned in the other reviews, it is also quite a walk from town and we were actually pleased to find somewhere else to stay. We wish we had checked here before we made the booking.

Room Tip: Don't make a booking through discount booking sites close to your arrival or risk not having a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Kalinga for 6 nights, and the views of the sunsets from the terrace really are beautiful. We had a huge room, the resort was quiet and reasonably priced, and having breakfast by the sea every morning was relaxing. El Nido and Calaan are both a bit rough and ready so there were wild dogs running around the resort, my partner saw a rat outside our room on the last night, and we could also hear animals running around in the roof at night (although nothing got in the room).

The bad side of staying at Kalinga was the ‘relaxed’ nature of the staff. Our room wasn’t cleaned the whole time we were there, even though the staff said they would, and the wi-fi only worked about half the time. A belt of mine went missing from the table outside our room, and when we told the staff they shrugged. This may have been ok if we hadn’t seen one of the other guests have some of their clothes go missing the day before. It could well be the dogs that took the clothes, but if staying there, I would keep your belongings locked in your room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The cottage was pretty basic and the resort itself was uninspiring.
The staff were nice though and they had a decent command of English.

The resort has no generator and usually it's fine, as there's suppose to be electricity from 14:00 up til about 7:00 the next morning; but one night the electricity didn't kick in and the room became quite hot and humid without the fan to help circulate the air while opening the door allowed insects in, and unfortunately the design of the cottage impedes good air circulation. The fan by the way could be a bit noisy but it wasnt really a problem.

There's no restaurant on site so be prepared to go out, though there were 2 restaurants that were in close proximity. most of the restaurants though are in town. The resort is about a 10-15 minute walk to the town proper, pros and cons of that are obvious.

A good news though is that the resort has a sunset view which is nice because the majority of the resorts in El Nido have none due to an obstructing mountainside that covers the bay facing the town.

Breakfast was included and the potato omelette was actually decent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank o0o_wanderlust_o0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank fannyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.7 mi away
APTR - A Place To Remember
0.1 mi away
Golden Monkey Cottages
Golden Monkey Cottages
#28 of 126 in El Nido
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vera Rosa
Vera Rosa
#58 of 109 in El Nido
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Makulay Lodge & Villas
Makulay Lodge & Villas
#84 of 126 in El Nido
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Nido Dragonfly
El Nido Dragonfly
#18 of 126 in El Nido
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Bay Beach Resort
Garden Bay Beach Resort
#19 of 126 in El Nido
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalinga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalinga Beach Resort

Address: Sitio Caalan, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 126 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range: $40 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Kalinga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalinga Beach Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing