We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel in El Nido” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bulskamp Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bulskamp Inn
Ranked #3 of 88 El Nido B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
336 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“A very good hotel in El Nido”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The whole environment is very homely. Quietness and peace is appreciated here. So no loud noises.

We took a 3 bed and double room. Both rooms are clean. You walk barefoot along the corridor as your put your shoes the ground floor. Water pressure is decent and there is no TV.

There is a koi pond and a few talkative birds to keep you entertain.

My only grouse is the flushing system is a little weak and it can jam easily.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    49
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
107
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in El Nido. The entire place is spotlessly clean and very well looked after. As guests, we felt well looked after too! It was so nice to chat on our way in and out each day with the owners, Eddy and Virgie. Ray at reception was fantastic, always looking after us. Felt at home here. Very highly recommended - can't stress how hospitable the staff were!
El Nido is pretty small so it's just a few minutes' walk from Bulskamp to pretty much anywhere - beach, boat tours, restaurants. Bulskamp doesn't provide breakfast but there's a nice table and chairs outside each room if you want to bring in anything to eat. Plus everywhere in town serves breakfast, and there is also the Midtown Bakery. Bulskamp is simply great on all counts. The only slight negative was the air-conditioning (if you want it, be sure to request it when booking) was quite loud, but this was fine by me with the overwhelming positives on everything else. Wi-fi available too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just spent 3 days in El Nido and we had a wonderful vacation there. El Nido is truly a wonderful place to visit; a place all Filipinos should be proud of;) The owner of Bulskamp Inn, Mam Virgie, helped me make arrangements for our group and she was very patient in answering all my questions as far back as four months ago when I started planning for this vacation. The location of Bulskamp is not by the beach but it is walking distance to the important places in town and to the island hopping start off. The inn's rate is very reasonable and it proves that we can enjoy the beauty of El Nido without having to spend so much. Many people think that to be able to stay in El Nido you'll need 30k a night; we proved that this is not so! The rooms in the inn are very simple but very clean. Mam Virgie also hooked us up with Servant Tours for our island hopping and Servant Tours really helped us enjoy our island hopping fully and really guided us.

Room Tip: If you mind talkative mynas in the early morning, choose rooms away from the entrance. We were earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerAnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa City, Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spend one night there delivering some pool equipment to a resort. It is clean & a good quality price.
The owners are very helpfull. Of course you are not on the beach front but it is may be better so you do not hear the noisy "free exhaust" bangka's starting at 05:00 am.
Lately I send them a french couple who stayed in our hotel "Balay Tuko Garden Inn" in Puerto Princesa and they were delighted as well.

En plus les proprietaires parlent le francais!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balaytukog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just came back home after an 7 night/8 day trip to El Nido. Spent four days at Bulskamp and three days at Lagen and Miniloc Resort. Without a doubt, the time spent at Bulskamp was the highlight of my trip. Eddy, Virgie, and Ray are just amazingly gracious and good people and treat everyone who stays at Bulskamp like family. They give honest and real advice on where to go and what to do and I really appreciated their frankness. The pride that the owners have in Bulskamp is evident in their upkeep of their property - the rooms and facilities are SPOTLESS and the common areas are cleaned frequently.

Thank you to everyone at Bulskamp for making my trip a completely relaxing and memorable experience and I will be back!

Room Tip: Do keep in mind that electricity in El Nido town is cut off from 6am to 2pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at this inn back in march , convieninient for everything , very good clean rooms and great ambience , vergie , eddy , ray and ceasar all excellent staff working there , and all provide lots of unbiased information to help you enjoy your stay and explore the surrounding areas .
when I return I would deffinataley stay there , a real family atmosphere , and great when returning for day out to have a cup of tea and to sit talking to them all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A unique pension in growing El Nido. 1 minute walk to the beach and center of town but in a quiet and peacefull street. Rooms are basic but so clean and cheap compared to other pensions/hotels in the area. They don't serve breakfast but you can get some around the corner or go to the midtown bakery and enjoy the tasty breadrolls on the balcony of Bulskamp Inn. The staff is very friendly, as well as the owners. You feel instandly warm welcomed as soon as you enter Bulskamp Inn.

Room Tip: After 7 weeks of travelling in SE-Asia, you get used to cold showers. We were more than satisfied wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EricVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
1.9 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
12.4 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 16 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.7 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#9 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
7.5 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
7.7 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulskamp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulskamp Inn

Property: Bulskamp Inn
Address: Osmena Street, Masagna El Nido, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bulskamp Inn El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing