We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad and expensive hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of APTR - A Place To Remember

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
APTR - A Place To Remember
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in El Nido
Domzale
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very bad and expensive hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

unfriendly owner
cold and smelly water
loud generator power
extra bed (old dirty pee Mattress) - € 20
portable safe deposit box
...

I do not recommend nobody, book any other hotel! Only breakfast is pretty good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marko1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar R, Owner at APTR - A Place To Remember, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Sir/Madam:
The review is irrelevant, prejudice and judgemental.on our part as an owner. If the owner is not friendly how come he finds solution to guests who was booked only for two persons and allow their 3 friends to stay with them over night so that they can be accommodated and have a good sleep. If an old mattress was given to them, the owner itself and the housekeeping staff asked if they want to use that kind of mattress. So with their permission we put a linen and make it up to the best that they will feel comfortable. We run out of foam mattresses that because we are fully booked and it is peak season here in El Nido. If the owner is not friendly even it is peak season he allows discount to this dates. You can monitor our prices at AGODA and other travel agency when it comes to promotional deals. Of course we charge extra mattress at low cost and breakfast too. When it comes to dirt, any owner hates messy and dirty surroundings. As a medical practitioner i don't allow dirt and dirty surroundings in our hotel premises. The one projected in the picture is in the shower room, where you can see the toiletries were scattered in the floor. The shower room is provided with soap and shampoo holder. Why was is it on the floor? Why was the picture taken focused in a toilet mirror to make it as a virtual image of the scattered toiletries. Our housekeeping staff routinely clean and make up the room with the permission of the occupants. The balcony will look like unfinished portion because the plant box cannot be used unless waterproofing is done as advised by our architects At the balcony, behind it is our penthouse. This a big room that can accommodate at least 6-8 persons. The picture portrayed in this photo, are the garbage can, broom and dust pan and the pairs of slipper of our housekeeping staff doing their cleaning.inside the penthouse. If they smell methane the wall outside the balcony is newly repainted because there is an undergoing renovation in that area. If the generator is noisy, we see to it that even brownout or blackout we can supply electricity to our clients. Our power house is located at the topmost floor. Before you can enter the engine room, you have to pass 2 doors, so it is soundproof. Probably the noise that they heard is from the hotel next to us.Our water here is safe and chlorinated and passed the quality standard of a safe water imposed by the government. The safety deposit box is not yet functional because the room is still undergoing renovation.The tile looks dirty because at the edges are new grout and the tile design itself looks like a dirt. The bathroom is supplied with hot and cold water. The source of energy is thru a solar energy. Please look at the picture as it shows a cloudy sky portrayed in the balcony.so the heater component of our water heater will not function normally. With regards to our price it is not expensive, first, because we have promotional deal with our international link like AGODA, HOTEL LINK SOLUTIONs and other travel agency local and international. Second our location is situated along the coastal area of El Nido town .And our price is very competitve with that of the other hotels in El Nido. With these reasons we hope and we are looking forward that we will be cleared in all those allegations made by the reviewers. Signed: Cesar G. Rivera MD Owner ( A Place To Remember El Nido)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    19
    10
    23
See reviews for
18
48
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed from Jan 15 to Jan 18. The place is great, we almost had the ocean view from our room. The staffs: Jen and Wella were very friendly and helpful. Benly, the manager, was very considerate and understanding, he will do his best to make your requests come true :). The hotel was in the center of everything and it was a few steps from the beach and other great bars, restaurants and stores. Daily breakfast was amazing, but their crab with coconut was not very impressive. It would have been better if they could use fresh and live crabs to cook because I am a crab eater and lover so I can tell if my crabs were fresh or dead when they were cooked. And plus, fresh seafoods should be something that is easily to obtain in here. The power will be off from 9 am to 6 pm (we went out most all day anyway) and if you come back early from your tour, you will take a shower in the dark. Would I stay here again? Not sure, would I recommend it? Not sure. We paid about $75 per night, we had daily breakfast, a mini fridge and a safe box.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice beach hotel with neat rooms and great and warm welcome stuff. Very nice open cafe on the terrace on the third floor with the sea view. The most warm impression was about the Hotel Supervisor Benly E. Lim - want to advise his service to everyone - very friendly, helpful organisator, who actually made our vacation in El Nido. Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VestaNevesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Benly, the manager, is very nice and considerate, has lots of knowledge about the area and tourism. We would definitely stay longer if it would be cheaper. Overoll we've enjoyed our stay and recommend it further.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The rooms are really nice. Not very spacious, but the beds are comfy and clean. The shower ist the best! Modern and clean.
The staff doesn´t speak English very well. But they don´t try to understand anyway. We tried with our hands and feet but they wouldn´t try to understand at all. Everytime we had a question they seemed annoyed to have to work. If you want something it will take them 2 days to get it done. The staff is only 2 teenagers who worked there. But the location is good: the beach is round the corner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank co02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just stayed here for 3 nights with friends and it was probably the best value for money in town. They charge 1300 pesos for a twin/double with aircon, breakfast, tv.....but we bargained them down to 950 pesos....as it's low season. The rooms are decent but El Nido does suffer from a lot of brown outs....this hotel has a back up generator which is a big plus. The hotel is just off the beach also. Would I stay here again.....yes.

Room Tip: Get an internal room to avoid motorbike noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

What we liked:
Decent Rate
Rooms were NEW
best WiFi in El Nido
Clean..and the cleanest bathroom we had in El Nido
Nice Owner

What we didn't really like:
Rooms were SMALL
Location..although still on one of the main streets; the last one of the street actually..next to Art Café and a few steps from La Salangane..NOT on beach side if this matters to you
Staff are young and may not fully understand traveler's needs (not a major issue..recently opened so they'll probably get a good grip in a while)
Nowhere to hang out (terrace was still under construction)

Wouldn't mind staying here again..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
18.1 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 16 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
9.2 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#9 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
El Nido Four Seasons Resort
1.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
9.0 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#7 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APTR - A Place To Remember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APTR - A Place To Remember

Property: APTR - A Place To Remember
Address: Serena St. Bgy Buena Suerte Elnido, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APTR - A Place To Remember 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APTR (a place to remember):offers island hoping tours,diving, night diving,with bar and restaurant, arrange other activities like in land tours to Nacpan Beach, Las Cabañas Beach or maremegmeg beach, night swimming, Zipline and Limestone trail tracking (Ferrata Nature Interpretation and Eco Tourism Adventure Trail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your APTR - A Place To Remember reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APTR - A Place To Remember El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing