We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in Town”
Review of Altrove

Altrove
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Town”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

It lives up to every excellent review it has, as well as its top-ranked status here on TripAdvisor. The food was perfect. From the thin crust seafood pizza to the penne arrabiatta, you could tell this place knew how to deliver authentic Italian fare. We had some gelato for dessert, too. From the first try, it reminded me of the chocolate ice cream I had in Italy. They had it spot on. Creamy and delicious!

They don't skimp on ingredients - every bite of the pizza had shrimp or squid in it. The servings were also large enough to justify its price. My bf and I split a pizza and the pasta, and we were stuffed.

Along with the great food was some great service. if you ask for extra cheese for pasta, you'd get a small bowl of parmesan right away. They did the plating Italian style, switching out plates for every course & doing it expediently. You never had to wait long, even for the brick oven pizza.

If you want to avoid the lines outside, come by a little earlier, around 6:30-7:00. But even if there was a line when we had dinner, it would be worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marian16rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    353
    85
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Happiness in a Shack :)”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our first meal at El Nido. Worth asking for, thanks to Manong tricycle driver. Walkable from our pension house.

Everything is YUMMY. or maybe we are just hungry after 6-hour land trip? Hahaha. Just kidding. Its a no fuss no drama pizza and pasta meal. Big servings too. We had pizza and pasta. Try their seafood pasta!

Owner is very cheerful outside, making pizzas w/ their brick oven.

We have to wait for our turn to be seated. Oh yes! There is a line. Everyone seems to love this cozy place. Dimmed lights.

You have to leave your slippers before going upstairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank online_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's Every Things The Positive Reviews Say It Is”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

To pile on with the other 5 star reviews:

The quality of ingredients is superb for this region.

The wait staff is as well trained as the best in my country.

They truly do make you feel at home, which make it the best trattatoria I've ever been too.

The prices are medium, but I found it to be a great value as I was truly satisfied.

$3 quality mixed drinks, excellent pasta selections that are finessed, and a wide range of oven baked pizza.

Oh, and fresh salad, which is really hard to find in this area.

The Slovenians who run this place are bar none. Really, only well run resorts give this type of quality service.

Kudos to the cook, the owner and the wait staff.

I've eaten there 4 times, so it's the same every night busy or slow. Consistent and you won't be disappointed.

Reward excellence and try them out. Out of 8 places in town I've tried, none comes close.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrettJohnson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Pretty long line, but it was totally worth the wait. The food was delicious! We ordered a couple of pizzas (Hungarian sausage and 4 seasons pizza, methinks) and some pastas and it was just so delicious! ARGH! I want some now! ;__; The place was very inviting, especially since it was filled with this amazing aroma you just want to eat as soon as you sit down. Haha! Best meal I had in El Nido! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monica_rize1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza in El Nido”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The line was long so you could immediately tell that it was popular with tourists and locals. It wouldn't have that following if it weren't any good.

We got the prime seating area (the one on top of the stage) all to ourselves (group of 7). We ordered the Hungarian Sausage and 4 Seasons pizza (cut in squares), two plates of pasta (Seafood and Meat) and one pomodori.

We were a bit full when we came but the presentation, scent and taste were so appetizing that we demolished the meals within mere minutes after receipt. Our bill came to Php 1,830. Totally worth it.

We ate pizza at other places in El Nido, the next day - but this takes the cake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oliver Diamond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altrove also viewed

El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Altrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing