We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marikit Pension (El Nido)
Ranked #50 of 93 El Nido B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at Marikit Pension for 6 days and it was a great choice! The staff was very helpful, friendly and professional. We booked the
room before our arrival to the Philippines and the communication through e-mails was fast and satisfactory. We stayed in a deluxe double room with aircon, tv and bathroom. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, what was a huge comfort after daily island hopping. Every room has an access to the veranda where you can sit and relax or eat extremely delicious breakfast (for just 100 pesos). Marikit is at 3 minute walk from the main beach and very close to all restaurants, shops, etc., but it's still a quiet place. The staff also offers some great tours (island hopping) and arrange tickets to Puerto Princesa. We will definitely stay again at Marikit during our next visit in El Nido!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luana_Zak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We selected Marikit based on reviews and were not disappointed. We had a standard room with fan, for only 800 pesos. So the room is a bit small, but absolutely sufficient. The building is sturdy, concrete, and everything is very clean. Kuya Sonny is very good in organising your tours, at a very competitive price.
Also he does a VERY good breakfast at only 100 pesos per person! Fantastic pancakes & fried banana, and if you prefer the Filipino breakfast, there's very good chorizo!
Marikit is at a 2 minute walk from the beach, putting it in a nice and quiet corner of El Nido.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

They have nice rooms that also have 3 beds with aircon for about $30 or cheaper if just a double. The place is only meters from beach, but is more quiet than beach front street places. Good clean bathroom and beds. Very nice staff who are family owners. Very helpful and let me use their phone for free to arrange our accommodation in puerto. Free coffee in morning :)

Room Tip: If you find the main strip on the beachfront too noisy, then this could give you much better sleep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was a bit worried when I booked at Marikit. Kuya Sonny seldom replies and if he does, it’s just a 1 liner text.
Travel time from PP to El Nido is 6-7 Hours, I sent him a message when we bought our RORO bus ticket to confirm our booking and it’s been 5 hours and still got no response from him.
I then called him and his immediate response was "Yes Ma’am naka book po kayo".
We arrived at 1am and he’s still up waiting for us while everyone in the pension is sleeping, which we really appreciate.
He gave us tips on where to go, to buy souvenirs, where to eat. He even let us use their fridge, so we can bring an ice cold drinking water during our Island hopping.
Also, We’re in a hurry to leave the place on our 3rd day because RORO BUS is scheduled to leave at 10PM.
Surprisingly he said “I’ll call them and book tickets for you two”. We’re like wow! Talaga kuya!? haha
He looks so serious all the time but the truth is.. he’s nice. We’re so glad with what he did and with how he assisted us.
I found out why he seldom replies, it’s because he’s not just waiting for a text, email, call from a customer. I also saw him watering the plants, cooking breakfast and maintaining the cleanliness of the place.

I highly recommend Marikit Pension! Delicious Breakfast w/ water, juice and complimentary 3in1 coffee.
800 pesos per night for 2 for a FAN (good) ROOM was a great deal!

I’d book here again on my next stay in El Nido!

Thank You Kuya Sonny! =)

Room Tip: Room #1 where we stayed, has a very clean bathroom which seems new actually and soft clean bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gie_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stumbled upon this place after being disappointed with other choices in El Nido.
Was informed that fan rooms were 800php and AC were 1500php. After agreeing on 1200php per night for room # 1 with AC, we settled in and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Each morning the owner would put hot water and coffee on the table outside our room, and the service in general was good.
Location was excellent, on a quiet street, 150m from the beach, providing tranquility and peace from the bustle of the main "drag" in El Nido.
Highly recommended for good clean pension in El Nido

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms at this pension, my choice is room 1, corner room and very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PHoenix242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this understated pension house for 3 nights during Chinese New Year. I cannot fault the service, from my emails with the owner when we booked until we checked out.

The pension is located a walk away from the beach and as such it isn't as busy as the main area. All rooms have a connected balcony outside, where you can sit and have breakfast or relax after a day island hopping. Our room was clean and the bed was ok.

Also, although the Pension organises tours and bus rides to Puerto we chose to do it ourselves as we were able to negotiate better rates.

Only regret I had was not initially booking for the duration of our stay and then being unable to because it was fully booked.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cluelessduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We travelled as a family in January 2013. We arrived at 1am from Puerto Prinsesa but they still accepted us since usually other hotels/pension houses would charge 2 nights since we will be leaving at 6pm the next day. The place is just few walks to the beachfront, they fixed the tours for us as well as the van to Puerto Prinsesa. Kuya Sonny assisted us in our tours and other needs and even gave us tips so we could save. they don't provide toiletries so make suer to bring your own. Amenities are quite standard which is okay since it's not like you'll be staying there for the rest of the day. My parents slept well during our stay and Ms. Merlie was kind enough to monitor us on our way to El Nido. Great experience indeed! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Castle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain Side Inn
Mountain Side Inn
#23 of 93 in El Nido
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashok Homestay
Ashok Homestay
#27 of 93 in El Nido
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#62 of 93 in El Nido
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tarao Travelodge
Tarao Travelodge
#52 of 93 in El Nido
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zaniyas Pension
Zaniyas Pension
#69 of 104 in El Nido
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garnet
Hotel Garnet
#75 of 93 in El Nido
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marikit Pension (El Nido)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marikit Pension (El Nido)

Property: Marikit Pension (El Nido)
Address: Osmena St., Zone 3, Bgy Masagana | Poblacion, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Marikit Pension (El Nido) Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing