We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Support off the beaten track”
Review of Tao Expeditions

Tao Expeditions
Ranked #2 of 50 Tours in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Support off the beaten track”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you have always wanted to be on a beach in paradise with no one else around, Tao will get you there. With a very competent and caring crew, it is like a prolonged day trip beyond the reaches of what a day trip can get you, with campsites in local villages and small islands, with a group of adventurous travelers who don't mind roughing it.

We saw clear starry nights every night, had a palm leaf fire, played volleyball with local villagers, snorkeled everyday, played games in the evenings, and generally ate very well.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    24
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I did the Tao expedition while on a 2 weeks holiday in the Philippines and it was the highlight of our holiday! We met wonderful people, the crew is incredible! We loved it all, the remote islands, the beaches, the base camps... But the people really make it so wonderful! If you're in Palawan, don't miss it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank vadjima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Leave the Philippines without Experiencing this Expedition”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I cannot stress enough how utterly amazing the Tao Philippines expedition is. I saw some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, ate amazing food, slept under the stars, and most importantly meet wonderful people from all over the world. The Tao crew is really warm and loving. By the end of the first night we were like one big family. I'm not so good with words, but if you are looking for a once in a lifetime experience and don't mind camping, book a trip with Tao Philippines. It has been one of the best decisions of my life!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Joni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
303 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Filipino Adventure”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is hard to put into words the sheer magnitude of getting to travel with the Tao Expeditions unless you have lived it for yourself. Simply describing the clear waters, white sands, lovely villages, and the awesome crew on our boat all seem to be a great injustice. Similarly, we spent a day after the trip debating amongst one another about how to describe our activities; fishing off the back of the boat, drinking brandy with the crew during rough weather, going snorkeling, and dining on massive feasts of great local food again seems to be a disservice to all the great people at Tao Expeditions who organize such an incredible adventure.

So what can I say that accurately reflects the experience....

Well, this is the kind of trip for dreamers who envision abandoning the rest of the world and immersing themselves in the filipino way of life in the exquisite surroundings of some of Asia's most remote islands. Every day was like living in some kind of wonderful dream and over time we found our boat mates had become like a family. The entire trip was simply one of the greatest trips I have ever done.

However, I should also warn that this is not a trip for everyone. The people at Tao work incredibly hard to ensure that there is a nice group dynamic, so if you are a person who is too demanding, bossy, loud, or holds airs of superiority.....this is not the trip for you. If you require running water, a regular source of electricity, and private accommodations and bath......then this is not the trip for you!

If however, you have an open mind, dont mind roughing it a bit, and want to go on a true adventure in a stunning area of the world, then Tao Expeditions is not to be missed!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This tour is lovely to see the different sides of the Phillipines (white sand beaches, original fishing villages, locals, snorkelling nice reefs)! The boat is comfortable enough, and we had a great vibe with our group. The food is good and healthy (Rice, fish, veggies mostly).
The camps are basic but much better than we expected. They are at lovely beaches most of them. The staff makes you a comfy bed as well.

Our tips:
- Take some extra toiletpaper with you in case its finished in the middle of the night.
- Put all the evening stuff you need in one big drybag for 5 days (pack only 2 shirts/dresses and 1 trousers, daytime bikini/shorts anyway, because the chance is that after the tour all this stuff is damp and smelly so keep clean clothes apart in you backpack/big bag!)
- Take one little day (dry)bag with camera, towel, suncreen en insect repellent (buy the local stuff: Off).
- You can get your big bag, but this way it’s much easier, you don’t need a lot anyway.
- Take a fast-drying towel and sarong or shirt for visiting villages!
- You get enough food, but sometimes lunch is late so take some crisps, chocolate, crackers with you if you fancy that during the day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Jochem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Tao Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing