We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us”
Review of Coral Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #44 of 106 El Nido B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Firstly, I have to agree with the previous review and ask "what is all the fuss about?"

We had originally booked just one night in Coral Bay Resort by telephone a couple of days prior to our arrival. We indicated that we might stay for longer but were unsure of our plans and therefore would just like to book for one night. On arrival, we were told that it wasn't possible to stay for just one night and he asked for our money upfront for a full five nights... before even showing us the room! In the end, we agreed to stay for two nights. The complimentary beers, however, were very much appreciated after our long journey.

The rooms are nice, clean and tidy and the bathrooms are spacious with hot water. The room had a balcony overlooking the garden area and a view of the sea to the right. The room also had air con, a fan and Wifi was accessible throughout the resort grounds. The grounds and garden area are lovely and open out onto the lovely Corong Corong beach.

A good breakfast was served in the morning, although we couldn't understand, with such an incredible setting and view outside, why it was served in a very plain room with no view. Also, the grounds and garden area were very beautiful and well landscaped but didn't seem to ever be used.

Our main issues, with Coral Bay Resort, were that it seemed to be a lot of money for what it was. 2,500 pesos per night for our room did seem excessive. 1,700 pesos would have seemed more reasonable. Also, we found the owner rather overbearing. On top of his initial insistence that we'd booked for 5 nights and not just one, he was constantly asking us what our plans were for the day and constantly pushing us to do one of their tours with some other couple or family staying at the resort. This started to get a bit awkward and was not really what we had in mind for our time in El Nido. We just wanted to do our own thing and take a tour when we felt like it. We felt a bit like we were being watched!

As a result, we moved after the second night to Talindak cottages just down the way, which was much more us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineGoesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 143 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Coral Bay Resort for a three night stay in early January. The host and staff are certainly welcoming and a couple of complimentary cold beers on arrival to get over the "Romancing the stone" journey from Palawan's capital we're just what the doctor ordered.

I have to be honest though and ask what is the fuss all about? I personally found the resort room rates over-priced and that was with our very kind complimentary room upgrade. The resort has been asthetically landscaped although it is still very much in a state of transition. Building works on an upper level extension were in full swing during our stay and what we could make out was the beachside bar looked very far from being completed. As for the bedroom/cottage interiors I can only say the name of the establishment does not fit with the interiors. A mix match of linnens, bathroom tiles, intermittent Wifi, Power supply is something I'd expect in central El Nido costing 1,500 (£20-25 per night) not (4,500 £70 per night) if you're looking for an establishment that is a glorified backpackers then this it. Unfortunately for us we had higher expectations. To conclude the two other places we stayed in Palawan at a similar budget; the royal Oberoi in The capital and the Secret Paradise Resort located off Port Barton ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orkyouree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

PROS: Stunning sunset view. We stayed in a beachfront cottage for 3 nights and we were treated with beautiful sunsets EVERDAY

The garden is well-maintained.

The beachfront cottage we stayed in is clean and has a large and roomy porch where you can lounge and relax while enjoying your view

Serene place to stay and relax. Perfect place to unwind and just enjoy nature.

A few-minute ride to town proper.

Hospitable owners. We had fun chatting and having a drink with couple Mercedes and Alain Thuet. And we adored their youngest child, Christopher. As for Bob, he’s always there to check if we need anything.

CONS: Small shower area
No restaurant - But it's not much of a bother for us as we prefer going out at night and try out the different restaurants/eateries found in their town proper
Beach in front of the resort is not that conducive for swimming. - But not really an issue since we're out all day island hopping.

Would definitely recommend this place to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Choose the beach front cottages for the best sunset view. Choose the family cottage if you are a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Coral Bay resort!

It's a short 5 minute tricycle ride / 25 minute walk from town, located on the beach, with the best spot for sunset. You can swim and relax on the beach in front of the resort. It's lovely and quiet (no roosters, and the short distance from town helps).

The grounds and rooms are very well maintained, the bathrooms are spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious (eggs bacon or delicious banana pancakes) and the owners are really nice, friendly, helpful people.

Overall, a great spot to relax during your time in El Nido.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Coral Bay Resort provides simple and basic accommodation with a rustically charm.
The view especially from the beach front cottage during sunset is absolutely breathtaking and the place-to-be for photographers.
For breakfast a basic choice is provided which includes bacon, self-made bread, pancakes, eggs, baby banana, coffee and tea.
Service such as additional towels and room cleaning is provided on demand only (it gets pretty dusty an sandy in the room).
Robert is very attentive, very helpful and dropped by our cottage regularly just to check whether we need anything, that was very kind.
There is no Wi-Fi and electricity is on during the early morning and again from around 3 pm. The Coral Bay Resort has an in-house tour guide (Saldy) who even drops by in the late evening to organize your tour.
It's very easy to get to town even late in the evening as there is always a tricycle at the nearby kiosk. We paid 50 peso (2 adults, 1 child) for a ride one-way to the town from Coral Bay Resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gfelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Coral Bay Resort is the best resort along the beach in Corong Corong and we dare to say the best in El Nido. The location is just perfect. The view over the Bacuit Archipelago is overwhelming, the sunsets – the most beautiful we have ever seen. It is a very peaceful place which is only a short tricycle ride away from the bustling El Nido town. The bungalows and rooms are nicely situated in an amazingly beautiful garden, not densely built like in the other resorts nearby. We had a beachfront cottage and enjoyed our privacy. The cottage was very clean, very cosy and spacious with a nice, traditional décor and lovely veranda to enjoy some cold drinks after a day of island hopping. Believe us the cottages look much better than on the pictures. The breakfast was very good and freshly and quickly prepared for us every morning (Susan’s bread was very delicious). Staff were very friendly, always smiling and very attentive. We enjoyed very much our conversations and interaction with Robert – one of the owners who was always there to help us. We appreciated his invaluable advice and help to arrange our trip, always promptly replying our emails before our arrival.
We did not even need to look for island tours. Saldy Tours, the in-house tour agency, are the best! We were picked up every morning in front of Coral Bay Resort and had the pleasure to join some group tours and some private tours – both perfect ways to discover the natural beauties of the archipelago. Saldy and his crew took good care of us and always considered our wishes – regarding the tours, food, everything. They knew we do not like crowds. Kriz and Mak Mak had perfect timing and most of the time we had the islands and white sandy beaches for ourselves. They never rushed us from one place to the other but really adjusted to our pace and gave us time to explore.
We cannot recommend Coral Bay highly enough and hope to be back soon. The facilities are great but the people we met made our stay really special. Thank you Susan, Bob, Kevin, Kriz and Saldy for a perfect and unforgettable experience. We are so happy we got to know you! We had high expectations and they were by far exceeded. This place feels like home, not just because of its cosiness but also because of the way how everybody looks after you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bily-to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had originally booked our last two nights in El Nido at the Coral Bay Resort and paid a 30% deposit through PayPal. Coral Bay, however, claimed that never received our deposit and despite my continual (daily) email contact with both Robert and Alain explaining that we had sent the deposit via PayPal and that we still planned on staying at Coral Bay, and after a 3 day lapse in communication on their side, they suddenly informed us that our reservation had been cancelled and given to someone else the day before we arrived in El NIdo.

Perhaps there was a PayPal system error and they did not receive our deposit, but I can provide verifiable proof that I had initiated the payment to their billing account and also was in continuous contact to let them know that we were planning on our stay at Coral Bay and would be able to settle any bills in cash face-to-face. Unfortunately, despite our efforts, Coral Bay clearly chose to chase money instead of goodwill and left us to fend for ourselves. Luckily were were able to extend our original 2 night reservation at Treetops to 4 nights (and they never once asked for any deposit...).

Coral Bay might have been a great stay and I would have loved to have been able to write them a great review, unfortunately for us both, the opportunity was taken away...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank explorrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes T, General Manager at Coral Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Mr Gary ,

The only Comment that Coral Bay Resort Administration had to say. You make Booking and you have not paid the deposit. That is the reason that your Reservation was Cancelled For that Room
the Administration Also propose you other option but well same as the deposit no Reply

All the best for your Future

Coral BAY Resort Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.1 mi away
Stunning Republic Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
El Nido Mahogany Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Buena's Haven Travelodge
Buena's Haven Travelodge
#34 of 123 in El Nido
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cavern Pod Hotel & Specialty Cafe
0.1 mi away
Greenviews Resort Corong-Corong
1.6 mi away
El Nido Beach Hotel
El Nido Beach Hotel
#70 of 106 in El Nido
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Address: Lugadia Village | Corong-Corong, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Bay Resort , is situated 10 MN from El Nido by Tricycle Right on the Beach of Corong-Corong Facing the Islands of the Archipelagos of Bacuit enjoy the fantastic Sunset. All Room are Air-con and Fan Hot/Cold Water all the Room are around the Big Garden that cover most of the resort we are on the beach.Including Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Coral Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing