We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Bay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cadlao Resort(El Nido)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
58
45
20
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
45
20
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip roomcorong corong beachtricycle ridenice cottageevery morningoverlooking the beachcleaned every daystay in el nidowater pressurebalconytourspesosislandphilippinesgeneratorpowernightlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 143 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

PROS: Stunning sunset view. We stayed in a beachfront cottage for 3 nights and we were treated with beautiful sunsets EVERDAY

The garden is well-maintained.

The beachfront cottage we stayed in is clean and has a large and roomy porch where you can lounge and relax while enjoying your view

Serene place to stay and relax. Perfect place to unwind and just enjoy nature.

A few-minute ride to town proper.

Hospitable owners. We had fun chatting and having a drink with couple Mercedes and Alain Thuet. And we adored their youngest child, Christopher. As for Bob, he’s always there to check if we need anything.

CONS: Small shower area
No restaurant - But it's not much of a bother for us as we prefer going out at night and try out the different restaurants/eateries found in their town proper
Beach in front of the resort is not that conducive for swimming. - But not really an issue since we're out all day island hopping.

Would definitely recommend this place to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Choose the beach front cottages for the best sunset view. Choose the family cottage if you are a group of 5 or 6. It would turn out a lot cheaper as compared to renting 2 to 3 cottages/rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Coral Bay resort!

It's a short 5 minute tricycle ride / 25 minute walk from town, located on the beach, with the best spot for sunset. You can swim and relax on the beach in front of the resort. It's lovely and quiet (no roosters, and the short distance from town helps).

The grounds and rooms are very well maintained, the bathrooms are spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious (eggs bacon or delicious banana pancakes) and the owners are really nice, friendly, helpful people.

Overall, a great spot to relax during your time in El Nido.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Coral Bay Resort provides simple and basic accommodation with a rustically charm.
The view especially from the beach front cottage during sunset is absolutely breathtaking and the place-to-be for photographers.
For breakfast a basic choice is provided which includes bacon, self-made bread, pancakes, eggs, baby banana, coffee and tea.
Service such as additional towels and room cleaning is provided on demand only (it gets pretty dusty an sandy in the room).
Robert is very attentive, very helpful and dropped by our cottage regularly just to check whether we need anything, that was very kind.
There is no Wi-Fi and electricity is on during the early morning and again from around 3 pm. The Coral Bay Resort has an in-house tour guide (Saldy) who even drops by in the late evening to organize your tour.
It's very easy to get to town even late in the evening as there is always a tricycle at the nearby kiosk. We paid 50 peso (2 adults, 1 child) for a ride one-way to the town from Coral Bay Resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gfelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Coral Bay Resort is the best resort along the beach in Corong Corong and we dare to say the best in El Nido. The location is just perfect. The view over the Bacuit Archipelago is overwhelming, the sunsets – the most beautiful we have ever seen. It is a very peaceful place which is only a short tricycle ride away from the bustling El Nido town. The bungalows and rooms are nicely situated in an amazingly beautiful garden, not densely built like in the other resorts nearby. We had a beachfront cottage and enjoyed our privacy. The cottage was very clean, very cosy and spacious with a nice, traditional décor and lovely veranda to enjoy some cold drinks after a day of island hopping. Believe us the cottages look much better than on the pictures. The breakfast was very good and freshly and quickly prepared for us every morning (Susan’s bread was very delicious). Staff were very friendly, always smiling and very attentive. We enjoyed very much our conversations and interaction with Robert – one of the owners who was always there to help us. We appreciated his invaluable advice and help to arrange our trip, always promptly replying our emails before our arrival.
We did not even need to look for island tours. Saldy Tours, the in-house tour agency, are the best! We were picked up every morning in front of Coral Bay Resort and had the pleasure to join some group tours and some private tours – both perfect ways to discover the natural beauties of the archipelago. Saldy and his crew took good care of us and always considered our wishes – regarding the tours, food, everything. They knew we do not like crowds. Kriz and Mak Mak had perfect timing and most of the time we had the islands and white sandy beaches for ourselves. They never rushed us from one place to the other but really adjusted to our pace and gave us time to explore.
We cannot recommend Coral Bay highly enough and hope to be back soon. The facilities are great but the people we met made our stay really special. Thank you Susan, Bob, Kevin, Kriz and Saldy for a perfect and unforgettable experience. We are so happy we got to know you! We had high expectations and they were by far exceeded. This place feels like home, not just because of its cosiness but also because of the way how everybody looks after you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bily-to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had originally booked our last two nights in El Nido at the Coral Bay Resort and paid a 30% deposit through PayPal. Coral Bay, however, claimed that never received our deposit and despite my continual (daily) email contact with both Robert and Alain explaining that we had sent the deposit via PayPal and that we still planned on staying at Coral Bay, and after a 3 day lapse in communication on their side, they suddenly informed us that our reservation had been cancelled and given to someone else the day before we arrived in El NIdo.

Perhaps there was a PayPal system error and they did not receive our deposit, but I can provide verifiable proof that I had initiated the payment to their billing account and also was in continuous contact to let them know that we were planning on our stay at Coral Bay and would be able to settle any bills in cash face-to-face. Unfortunately, despite our efforts, Coral Bay clearly chose to chase money instead of goodwill and left us to fend for ourselves. Luckily were were able to extend our original 2 night reservation at Treetops to 4 nights (and they never once asked for any deposit...).

Coral Bay might have been a great stay and I would have loved to have been able to write them a great review, unfortunately for us both, the opportunity was taken away...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank explorrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes T, General Manager at Coral Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Mr Gary ,

The only Comment that Coral Bay Resort Administration had to say. You make Booking and you have not paid the deposit. That is the reason that your Reservation was Cancelled For that Room
the Administration Also propose you other option but well same as the deposit no Reply

All the best for your Future

Coral BAY Resort Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews