We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our reservation was cancelled at the last minute...”
Review of Coral Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #50 of 105 El Nido B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had originally booked our last two nights in El Nido at the Coral Bay Resort and paid a 30% deposit through PayPal. Coral Bay, however, claimed that never received our deposit and despite my continual (daily) email contact with both Robert and Alain explaining that we had sent the deposit via PayPal and that we still planned on staying at Coral Bay, and after a 3 day lapse in communication on their side, they suddenly informed us that our reservation had been cancelled and given to someone else the day before we arrived in El NIdo.

Perhaps there was a PayPal system error and they did not receive our deposit, but I can provide verifiable proof that I had initiated the payment to their billing account and also was in continuous contact to let them know that we were planning on our stay at Coral Bay and would be able to settle any bills in cash face-to-face. Unfortunately, despite our efforts, Coral Bay clearly chose to chase money instead of goodwill and left us to fend for ourselves. Luckily were were able to extend our original 2 night reservation at Treetops to 4 nights (and they never once asked for any deposit...).

Coral Bay might have been a great stay and I would have loved to have been able to write them a great review, unfortunately for us both, the opportunity was taken away...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank explorrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes T, General Manager at Coral Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Mr Gary ,

The only Comment that Coral Bay Resort Administration had to say. You make Booking and you have not paid the deposit. That is the reason that your Reservation was Cancelled For that Room
the Administration Also propose you other option but well same as the deposit no Reply

All the best for your Future

Coral BAY Resort Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Coral Bay resort, based 2 km from the bustle of El Nido in Corong Corong, is an exceptionally run, clean and beautiful jewel in the corner of the South China Sea. On arriving at this paradise in North Palawan, one is instantly mesmerised by the incredible sun set which I am reliably told happens every day of the year with the sun disappearing over the apex at different points as the months go by.
Our beach hut on the water front was well maintained, clean, and comfortable enough to enjoy long relaxing drinks at sun set, as well as a refreshing night cap before bedtime on the extensive verandah. Hot water was constant, though the need for it was hardly necessary in the skin peeling heat we were lucky to have had during our stay. The air conditioning was much appreciated.
The staff go out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. Whether it be storing your packed lunch in the fridge to trying to convince you to go on a motorbike adventure with them, they are friendly and warm people. Co owner Alain and his wife Mercedes can advise you which beach to explore and book onward journeys for you, their two young boys Kevin and Christopher will make you laugh. The other co owner, Bob, will have an ice cool beverage waiting for you as you return from your days out. Together they have all angles covered. Alain and Bob even treated my partner for a coral cut she obtained. I'm happy to say the wound totally healed and amputation was not necessary. They will even have a hearty cooked breakfast made for you before you leave on your excursions served by wonderfully friendly filipino staff.
Coral Bay have an in-house island tour service run by Saldi, the ever smiling man. He will listen to your requests, and no doubt will do his best to ensure they are fulfilled.
The restaurant closes for the evening, but this is no problem as a tricycle to El Nido town is cheap and takes only 5 minutes. After eating to your hearts content in the hustle of El Nido, coming back to the quiet and stillness of Coral Bay makes you appreciate how peaceful and beautiful it is.
I am not writing this to tell you what to do. We come to El Nido, seduced by the remote beaches promised in the guide books writing about the Bacuit Archipeligo. Whether you take the tour boats on offer, or get a local boat owner to taxi you to and from your favourite beaches, you can guarantee some of the most spectacular scenery the world has to offer.
I look at the centre of El Nido town and can't help but feel that this is what Haad Rin in Koh Pangyan must have been like 25 years ago. The town is on the brink of exploding with travellers and tourists seeking more remote beach havens.
Coral Bay can give all El Nido has to offer but in more secluded surroundings. With the building extensions currently happening, set to be completed by December 2012, I have no doubt it will only improve.
Thank you Coral Bay - you made paradise that little bit more special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is highly recommended especially for those looking for a not so crowded place, with convenient and affordable rooms, with accommodating people, perfect view for sunset, or simply just a place to unwind/chill/relax, this place is just - perfect! If you have plans to visit El Nido, I would recommend to stay in Coral Bay! It's easy to get a reservation, Bob, the owner and his wife, are very accommodating and easy to deal with(like in our case, re-booking of dates, room transfer, or getting details and other info). They can also help you arrange with a hassle-free tour around El Nido. The resort is well-maintained, rooms are clean and spacious. The food is also great! I think the resort is suited to be tagged if not the best, but will provide you with excellent service! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indaymaiah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The owner and the staffs are friendly. The resort is clean and quiet, a perfect place to stay after a day of island hopping. Also, the breakfast is delicious. My family really enjoyed staying there. Highly recommended for family and couples who are looking for a quiet place to stay at El Nido.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Coral Bay is well run, clean, and a real gem of a resort. We were meant to stay at Greenviews, but had a bad experience there and after one night, we moved to Coral Bay. It was the single best decision we made during our trip to El Nido.

The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable and we had a hot shower, working internet and a great view from the balcony. The owners Bob, Alain and Mercedes will make you feel as if you are staying with family. The staff are superb, friendly and will go out of their way to help you. We both got sick from food poisoning in the town and everyone at Coral Bay rallied around us. We felt very well looked after and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Don't bother looking elsewhere, Coral Bay is the best place to stay in El Nido.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a lovely place with beautiful grounds where you can just lounge with a book and have a lazy day or just chat with the other people who were staying there. It felt very homely as staff and the owners were very friendly and chatty.
Its not in town but the tricycles are super cheap and easy to get into town. You get breakfast but there is no restaurant so you need to head elsewhere for dinner. Again this isn't really a problem.
We stayed in a VIP room which had a balcony overlooking the water and it it was just lovely. Room was clean, spacious, great shower head - shower heads are a real hit and miss in the Philippines.
The beaches aren't really swimming beaches as they are quite shallow but I think you will generally find that to be the case.
You can book your island hopping tours from here which is on a smaller boat which we liked or go into town and you could get on a bigger boat with more people on it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RSM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent Christmas here in 2011. Beautiful place, very secluded, it's actually in a separate island. Very intimate as we were about less than 15 guests (mostly foreigners, locals started coming in after Xmas).

Owner is also a foreigner. The husband is nice. It was the whole family having a vacation as well.

We had lechon for christmas eve, food was great, cook and staff are friendly. We even had a little game on xmas eve.

As for our room, it was okay. Electricity come in 6pm-6am so you can only turn the fan on at night, as well as charge your stuff. As for stuff to do, not much really. Snorkeling was fantastic, there are some kayaks you could help yourself to, so you can paddle to neighboring islands if you dare. Other than that, it's just a place to relax, read a book and tan.

All in all, a great great place to stay and be away from everyone else. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose the ones on the beach, facing the sea. It will be a little bit expensive but it's worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.1 mi away
Stunning Republic Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Last Frontier Beach Resort
Last Frontier Beach Resort
#5 of 105 in El Nido
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Nido Mahogany Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greenviews Resort Corong-Corong
0.8 mi away
The Resort Bayview Hotel
The Resort Bayview Hotel
#27 of 105 in El Nido
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doublegem Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Address: Lugadia Village | Corong-Corong, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Bay Resort , is situated 10 MN from El Nido by Tricycle Right on the Beach of Corong-Corong Facing the Islands of the Archipelagos of Bacuit enjoy the fantastic Sunset. All Room are Air-con and Fan Hot/Cold Water all the Room are around the Big Garden that cover most of the resort we are on the beach.Including Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Coral Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing