We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting entry, but smells of bat droppings”
Review of Cudugnon Cave

Cudugnon Cave
Ranked #25 of 65 things to do in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“Interesting entry, but smells of bat droppings”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is an interesting cave, since you must crawl through a small opening and tumble down to enter the first cave. Our tour guide had thoughtfully laid a life jacket to "cushion" our crawl.

This made for some fun.

The cave itself is unfortunately stuffy and (undesirably though expectedly ) smelled of guano - bat droppings! We hurried and ambled up the rocks to the next cave, which had some fresh air from a shaft in the rock.This is really a pair of caves more for wacky photos (people peering through a hole in the rock, ets )

Though it was interesting first time, I would not come here again.

You can read my frank and honest account of our El Nido trip (with dozens of photos) here - http://goo.gl/6HyXU

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    21
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas
Level 6 Contributor
1,448 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is beautiful and unique. You will need a boat and an experienced guide to take you. Good place to take pictures. Visit in the afternoon . less people around

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panglao Island, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A tricky way to get in.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and I had a fun time getting into this cave before we we're able to see the gem inside. Me as a 5 footer, I still need somebody to lift and push me to get in the way. You have to put a cushion on the flat rock to avoid bruises and scratch My healthy friends and aged one are eager to get in and so they took the risk and it really pays off! It's a worth visiting spot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvmyboyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better things to do”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was not that great and took a few hours out of the day we could have spent snorkelling, swimming, snoozing etc. Yes it is a geologically amazing thing but a cave and bats - yeah not that awesome

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
780 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“I call this the bat cave”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were brought to this island with a small private beach. They led us to this small cave with a small hole, Set up towels and instructed us on how to get through this hole. Beyond the small hole was a cave, where the light comes from the hole on top. It was a sight to see. The cave was well lighted and it can probably accommodate 40 people. The wall have all shape and shades as it was so old. all in all a beautiful sight for the eye and camera. It is also inhabited by bats, although not too many. By the way, you can see actual jelly fish in the beach front going towards the cave.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cudugnon Cave also viewed

El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Cudugnon Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing