We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Treetops
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in El Nido
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cadlao Resort(El Nido)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
79
11
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
11
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin walknice beachcottagetricyclebugsfantransfermanila
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 97 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had previously stayed in ElNido and knew axactly what we wanted/expected and Treetops didn't dissappoint.

We spent 5 nights here in March and it was a pleasurable oasis of calm and tranquility. Grace and David's attention to detail and the little extras that they put in place are a pleasant surprise in an area that is quickly becoming overrun with backpacker style accommodation. Such things as; your cottage being cleaned within an inch of its existance everyday, fresh clean sheets, flowers, lavender pillow spray, lavender handwash, insect spray...the list of 'nice touches' is endless.

But the thing that shines through is the hospitality and sincerity of all the staff, which is being lead by Grace and David. Nothing is too much trouble and thoughfulness is the order of the day.

Do have Dave's breakfast and try an evening meal, which are prepared and created to rival any top notch restaurant.

We will cherish our time at Treetops with Grace and Dave and hope to return soon and perhaps stay forever!!??

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent three nights at Treetops in March 2013 and find it hard to come up with any criticism.

David and Grace are great hosts, making you feel instantly at home and help you out with organising island hopping trips and transport down to El Nido Town.

The room has everything you will need as well as a very comfy bed, which Grace decorates every day with flowers from the garden. There are occasional problems with the power and hot water, but if this is really going to be a problem, you should be asking yourself whether Palawan itself is probably a good destination for your holiday. And who actually needs a hot shower in the tropical sunshine?

Breakfast isn't included, but its well worth the money and very generous.

What I loved about Treetops was that it was away from the hustle and bustle of El Nido town, meaning a really peaceful sleep. But don't worry, it's only five minutes away in a tricycle. You can also walk to Marimegmeg Beach from Treetops, which is the best 'white sand' beach in El Nido that you can get to without having to get a boat.

And make sure you try to catch sunset from the hammock or seats at the front of the garden. It's picture postcard stuff.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Treetops to anyone visiting El Nido.

Room Tip: There are only two to choose from, so make sure you book early.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcuk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This review is coming a little bit late, but my stay was so enjoyable I have no problem remembering. My wife and I stayed a Treetops for 6 nights last August. To start, I'll say the van ride from Puerto to Treetops was awesome. The driver was pumping oldies, we were flying, and the scenery was amazing. The ride back was not so awesome (about 13 people, crying babies, absolutely no leg room, and stuffy conditions). Even though the van/bus ride to and from can be a pain, it's totally worth it.

Before arriving, I peppered David with about 200 questions via email, and was thoroughly impressed with his prompt responses. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Mariel, who is an absolute doll (we lloved her, so much so that we invited her to join us for dinner one night in town). She showed us to our room, and told us to make ourselves comfortable. Our bungalow had a large bed, a nice bathroom, fans, and a cute little balcony. We even had a friendly iguana that joined us every evening. We opted to eat breakfast at Treetops every morning and we weren't disappointed. The spread isn't extensive, but it's fresh, and just keeps coming. One of my favorite parts of the trip was the time after breakfast hanging out at the main residence's balcony, sipping coffee, reading a good book, and soaking up the incredible view. We met up with friends who were also staying in El Nido, and we were a bit shocked to hear how cheap their beachside bungalow was, but after they joined us one morning at Treetops for breakfast, they basically told us we were staying at the Ritz. They liked it so much they planned to stay a night after we left!

Many positive things have already been said on prior reviews, so I will leave you with a list of recommendations.

Eat breakfast and hang out on the balcony at Treetops in the morning.
Go out to the islands and snorkel as much as possible (David can recommend an awesome guide).
Spend at least half a day on 7 Commandoes beach doing nothing other than pondering how amazing and beautiful life is, haha.
Eat at Altrove at least once (amazing Italian food).
Spend an evening at Sea Slugs listening to live music and enjoying the setting.
Get to know some other travelers - you bump into the same people in El Nido alot and you can make some great friends.
Drink some homemade rum with the owner at the French restaurant La Salangane.
Spend some time hanging out at the Art Cafe.

We loved our time in El Nido and will definitely stay at Treetops if we ever find ourselves back in that part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surinbeachboy, Owner at Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Colton, many thanks for the review and as they say "better late than never!" Mariel is very happy!!
Take care, David & Grace & Mariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for a week with David and Grace at Treetops, had a lovely time. They're very welcoming and helpful, the set-up is very much their home + two on-site guest bungalows, and it feels like that, rather than a hugely commercial venture. The rooms are clean and charming and in a good location, just the right distance from town, easy to get in but far enough to be away from the hustle. Don't expect a Hilton resort experience, there are roosters, dogs etc around and about, a few bugs - you're close to the jungle. But the overall set-up is just the right balance of 'back to nature' with the comforts of home. It's a B&B, not a full service hotel, but if David and Grace offer to cook you dinner, do take them up on it. Otherwise, Cadlao resort and the Italian place L'Altrové (?) are good places to eat in town. Use daytripperspalawan.com for the trip up from Puerto - streets ahead of the other bus services and only 200 pesos more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris82_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked Treetops for 5 nights but only ended up staying 1 night.

Accomodation is lovely native style and was clean and the personal touches of flower petals on the bed and in the bathroom was impressive. There are only 2 rooms avaialable. Welcome drink and fruit platter was lovely. Also the lovely cup of coffee and fruit platter was delightful on our departure date. Whilst it is seaside not very good views of the ocean due to the growth of trees in front of the apartment. Great sea views can be seen from the main residence where meals are had.

There were some issues with power during our stay and the back up generator was breaking down apparently due to the workload. There is some noise from roosters, dogs and the generator. None of these particularly bothered me and I had a great sleep. No airconditioning but there are 2 fans in the room.

Unfortunately my wife and the co-owner Grace got off to a bad start on the day we arrived. As we had just arrived from Puerto Princesa on a 6 hour bus journey and were very tired so we thought we may have dinner at Treetops. Grace abruptly told my wife that "We are not a Restaurant or a Resort but a Bed and Breakfast and 24 hrs notice is required to obtain fresh produce" Unfortunately as we are on holidays and don't really plan our meals that far in advance. What Grace explained was fair enough but perhaps the unprofessional and abrupt way it was explained wasn't acceptable.

Just some feedback to the owners David and Grace perhaps spell that out during check in or when the booking is confirmed to prevent any misunderstanding.

We moved to alternative Accomodation after the first day and being able to walk out of our hotel room to the beach, restaurants and tricycles drivers was great. There are no tricycles available at the front of Treetops but you can text reputable drivers to pick you up from Treetops of which David and Grace will provide names and numbers. Treetops is located about 10 minutes away from town.

I must stress that David in my email communication with him was upfront with the location. I'm sorry that I didn't meet David and that it didn't work out for us. Had we got off to a better start we may have stayed.

I must stress that the accomodation is lovely and very romantic and Graces sisters service was fantastic. Kudos to her.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surinbeachboy, Owner at Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Tom, thank you for your review which on the whole is fair and represents your opinion. However, I take exception to your comments regarding Grace and her interaction with your wife Lelit. I have spoken to Grace and Mariel and it seems that Lelit arrived with a bad attitude and was aggressive and rude from the start. She demanded to see a menu for dinner at 6.30pm wanting to eat at 7.00pm and " only fresh nothing from the freezer!" Grace informed her that we are not a restaurant and that we are happy to cook an evening meal if we are given at least a half days notice but Lelit just stormed off not wanting to hear the explanation. It appears that your wife was expecting a full service resort not a B&B and told our boatman she wanted to stay at Miniloc. Grace spoke to you the next morning and offered to allow you to move to another resort without any cancellation fee, you told her that you were happy to stay, Grace had to leave for Puerto and when she had gone you checked out!! Grace is one of the friendliest and helpful people I know as you can see from other reviews, I think that the problem is closer to home not Treetops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews