We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and romantic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stunning Republic Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 126 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, when originally we had only planned to stay for one. The staff was unbelievably welcoming and attentive. They helped us cook the fresh vegetables and seafood we picked up at the market. We saw a lot of Filipino families staying at the resort, so it's definitely a local destination as well. The best part about the resort was the dining area overlooking the ocean - we watched the sunset everyday from this spot, occasionally napping on the rattan hammocks. It was very well situated, and you can walk to Las Cabanas beach from here.

The rooms are fairly basic (though nicer than most in El Nido), and definitely adequate with A/C, fans, and hot water. I had to work on vacation, so their 24-hour wi-fi and electricity (with on-site generator) was essential for me - considering El Nido shuts off power from 6am-2pm every day. Highly recommend for the service and the views/location.

Only 10 min away from El Nido town center, but worlds away from the masses of tourists. Great for couples and families!

Room Tip: D2 and D3 have balconies that face the ocean - a little pricier than the standard rooms, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fannypack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 305 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Booking was as easy as 123 elaine was really good in making all the arrangements. The place was very fantastic staying at the hammock will make you relax and the sunset was simply amazing. The staff were all attentive from the office, garden, kitchen and tour. Our room was on d2 and i tell you, just open your curtains and youll see the water, mountains and the sunset which was priceless. The tour was fun with good food and fun company (kuya joshua, bong, joseph).Coming back from the tour our room was already clean. They have a wide selection of food. I advise you try their massage service after a long fun day of island hopping. They may not have a pool yet but you wont need that anyway since you have plenty of time swimming and snorkeling during tours. And about the weak shower problem its not a problem at all cause youll enjoy a warm long bath. Another best thing about stunning vistas is the location, its not among the congested and noisy place like the city proper which is 10 to 15 mins by the way and cost 15php via tricycle. Were planning to come back for tours b and d together with the family and well definitely pick stunning vistas..

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Shaira Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days a couple of weeeks ago.
I must say that the place was just average, but thanks to Miss Jane, Elaine, May and our tourguide John it adds a notch up to very good for their exceptional service, even the resort owner had time talking to us guests.
There are still however some opportunities for improvement, i specifically want to point out the menu on the restaurant becuase it is quite a bit limited food options, the food is good though.
I always love serene places for a getaway, Stunning Vistas and El Nido as a whole didn't failed my expectations for a very, very relaxing stay. The place is a great value for money.
Now, If I were to go back to El Nido, will I stay at Stunning Vistas again?
Definitely yes!
.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erwin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights as a cheaper option to the premium island resorts in the area. I'm debating with myself whether to give the resort 3 or 4 stars - but I'm deciding on the former because there are still points for improvement that would make Stunning Vistas an even better place to stay in. This isn't to say I'm not coming back!

Great things about the resort:
- The owner / innkeeper was definitely helpful and knowledgeable about the different activities we could do on neighbouring islands.
- LOVED the resort's boat and tour guides, and that they provided paddleboards and kayaks for rent (you could attach them to your boat on islandhopping tours!) at a very reasonable rate.
- The resort's name is very apt - that sunset view is to die for. My friends spent each evening watching the sun go down over good Pinoy pulutan and cheap beers!
- Loved the location in Corong-Corong versus El Nido town - much quieter and less people milling about.

Points for improvement:
- Toilet and bath - The water pressure was very weak, which is very important for washing off the sand that you accumulate on your body from a full day of beach hopping.
- Rooms - Sufficiently large, but we would have appreciated a larger aircon given that it can get very hot during the daytime, and a desk. From a design perspective, it was unremarkable.
- Overall theme / feel of the resort - I'm not sure whether the place was supposed to cater to families, backpackers, or couples. I know there's business sense in catering to all sorts of travellers, but my experience dealing with similarly-priced accommodations in the Philippines has made me realize that it's those that aim to leave you with a certain feeling that you tend to remember the most fondly. For example: I'm sure the nightly show band is a hit with families and some groups, but may not be appreciated by those who're there to enjoy the view, relax, and get away from the city!

Again, this is an objective review and not to take anything away from the overall pleasant experience my friends and I had at Stunning Vistas! The resort was expanding during our stay and we hope they keep on improving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JonathanJoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at Stunning Vistas during May 28-June 1 in rooms D1 and D3. We had a GREAT time and I highly recommend Stunning Vistas for your stay in El Nido. We booked the packaged deal with Stunning Vistas which included Van Transportation from Puerto Princessa to El Nido, the Underground River Tour, and tours A, B and C.

We had a few kinks in our stay which was not really their fault but could have been prevented. Prior to our trip departure, we had several flight changes by PAL Express. We notified Stunning Vistas of our flight changes and arrival time. They said that they had it taken care of and the van would arrive at our new arrival time. Upon arriving at the PP Airport, there was no van. Because we are from the US, we did not have a cellphone to call Stunning Vistas to see if our van was coming or for any status update. We had to find a phone to call them to which, SURPRISE SURPRISE, they DID NOT inform the van of our new arrival time. This was very frustrating and we had to wait a good 45 minutes before we could get on the van. We were later informed that it was a communication error between the Van Transport they use and Stunning Vistas (former) manager who is no longer employed with them.

Aside from this mishap everything else went so smoothly! They were aware of our frustrations and made every single effort to make things right during our vacation. The staff was so friendly, courteous, and prompt. They were very attentive and always ready to accommodate the guests. May is excellent! She is really sweet. I highly suggest doing the Tours with Stunning Vistas. Bong, the tour guide, and his crew mates are very very good and really knowledgeable. They really care about your safety and make sure you have a good time.

I am not really picky with rooms or food so I thought everything was excellent. I know a lot of people here are complaining about the food and the room's water pressure not being "right" and I honestly did not even notice that but then again, I am not picky and am not expecting luxury. If you want a nice comfortable stay, good deals, and an attentive staff this is the place for you. If you want super high quality with the right water pressure and soft sheets then maybe go to one of El Nido's private resort islands and stay there.

CONS: Unreliable Van Transportation service (Stunning Vistas should consider hiring a new van transportation company), beach area is not suitable for swimming, no pool (would have been nice to have one), no recreation area

PROS: VERY Friendly Staff, pretty good food (loved their Mango Float!), Decent Sized Rooms, 24 hours electricity, Boat Tours were excellent (HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!), Good Location--relatively close to the town

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank howelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here 4 nights. We had one of the two rooms that have a sea view (D1, D2), and the views are indeed incredible. It being the low season it was very quiet and relaxing. The restaurant area was undergoing renovation but it didn't much bother us.

The place is south of the main town area and it's not walkable. We took a trike each way for 40 pesos and it's not as much of a hassle as you might think since they are everywhere and easy to get. For us, the fact that it was out of town was a bonus because it was much more quiet and away from the business of El Nido (even during the low season - I can't imagine what the high season is like..).

There are three reasons for the missing fifth star. For one, the service was good but inconsistent, particularly in the 'restaurant'. The front desk was very accommodating and constantly tried to make sure we have rides and tours (didn't use the latter, but was available to us) and was helpful in answering most questions. The rest of the service staff... less so. The meals took forever to come out, 20-30 min was common even tho we were the only ones eating there) and although they would bring them to our patio, half the time they wouldn't clean after (twice we came back after 6+ hours to find the breakfast plates still there). On that same day, we left the sign indicating we'd like the room cleaned only to find it still hanging and the the room untouched. To their credit, on a later day they took the initiative without our request. Like I said... Inconsistent.

Second, the bathroom had a couple of issues. One was the water pressure which was very low all the time. Then the floor would get wet during the shower because the curtain is not terribly effective at doing its only job. Because it was so small there were no places to hang things to dry or place the toiletries. Not a deal breaker but kind of inconvenient.

The third reason is the food quality. It's decent, and you won't go hungry. They have lots of offerings. But you also wouldn't go out of your way to eat there. It seems a lot of it comes out of boxes and it's not as much cooked, as it is prepared. It will do tho if you don't want to go in town, but don't expect to be impressed.

If it seems like a lot of the review is commenting on the negatives, that is with the intent of making them known and not because they were big issues. We gave it 4 stars after all. The stay was enjoyable and save for a few minor things, we were glad we chose it and would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bogdan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Pros:
-Very good service from the managers, who really went out of our way to help us arranging tours and transportation. They were very friendly and resourceful, above and beyond what you get at other places. They are why I give this place "3 out of 5" instead of 2.
-The "vista" is indeed quite "stunning", especially during sunset.
-The place seems to have 24 hour (or 23 hour) electricity, unlike many other places

Cons:
-We had a very bad first impression, since the van service they booked us on from Puerto was terrible (they showed up 30 minutes late at the airport, kept us waiting in their hot "office" for an hour, stopped randomly along the roadside for 30 minutes while the driver chatted with his buddy). To Stunning Vistas' credit, they apologized for this and booked us on a decent (bus) service back to Puerto.
-The restaurant is HORRIBLE. (Bad food and even worse service). It was so bad, that we preferred to eat breakfast outside, even though their breakfast was free.
-The rooms do not have adequate lighting
-The bathroom is small and poorly let

Overall, this is not a place that befits its price range (which is not particularly cheap by Philippine standards). However, it seems that the mid-range standard in El-Nido / Corong2 is not that high. And the service from the hotel staff itself does partially make up for the setbacks.

I'd recommend this place, with the caveat that the restaurant is best avoided, and that you may want to check your room before booking.

A word on Corong2 vs El Nido. Corong2 is significantly less crowded and touristy, and feels actually quite local (with just a few hotels). It is definitely nicer and with more space. The scenery is arguably a bit nicer, but nice in both spots. The main advantage of El Nido is that it has more F&B options (which are basically non existent in Corong2, outside hotels). The good thing is that if you stay in Corong2, it is very easy (and really quite cheap) to get a tricyle ride -- 5 minutes -- to El Nido. The road is a bit too long and dangerous to walk comfortably.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLO721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
2 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#7 of 17 in El Nido
549 reviews
15.3 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#3 of 17 in El Nido
256 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Las Cabanas Beach Resort
Las Cabanas Beach Resort
#20 of 126 in El Nido
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doublegem Beach Resort & Hotel
1.2 mi away
El Nido Viewdeck Cottages
El Nido Viewdeck Cottages
#13 of 126 in El Nido
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stunning Republic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stunning Republic Beach Resort

Address: Sitio Lugadia, Corong-Corong, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines (Formerly Stunning Vistas Beach Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 126 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range: $71 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stunning Republic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel currently has 28 rooms in use including the new 3 bedroom family suite with 2 bathrooms and a lounge. Another two rooms will be completed mid-July and 6 more rooms will be completed by mid-October. By the end of October, there will be 36 rooms in operation and further upgrading of facilities is planned. All rooms have been upgraded with new air conditioning and new plumbing in the bathrooms. Most rooms have new beds, furniture, linen and towels. All rooms have their own private balconies with direct sea views. All day dining can be enjoyed in the new 50+ seater air conditioned restaurant with large cocktail bar or on the road side patio or in the lovely beach garden which is beautifully lit at night. Many guests prefer to dine in the shaded beach front viewing decks which offer spectacular sunset views between 5:00pm and 6:30pm. The resort’s two deep water wells ensure they never run out of beautiful fresh mountain water 24 hours per day. A high powered efficient generator is a back up for El Nido’s frequent brown-outs. The retail area in the reception offers many hard to obtain but essential items like branded Sun Creams, Aqua Shoes, Quality Snorkeling Equipment, Waterproof Neck Bags, Batteries, Sports Shorts, Sarongs, Chemist Requisites, etc. New garden furniture and sun loungers will be available from June. Most Asian tourists are photo and selfie addicts so the hotel recently commissioned some spectacular hand sculptured statues for guests to pose with including a 2.5metre high Sitting Chef Chimpanzee, a 2.5metre Giant Sitting Ape, a 2.0metre Gorilla Sitting on a Park Bench and a 3.3metre Blue Lady Torso. Really great photo opportunities for guests to mix with their unforgettable and scenic photos of El Nido. The resort has a close association with the El Nido branch of award winning Asian Massage who will administer wonderfully relaxing reasonably priced massages in the comfort of your room by highly trained masseurs. Kayaks and Bodyboards are available to hire by the half day from the hotel. Stunning Resort has two of its own recently overhauled Outrigger Boats for taking guests Island Hopping or to nearby Island Beaches for Wedding Ceremonies. The resort hosts 2-3 weddings per month varying in size from 10-70 guests. The room rates reflect the room size and the position of the room in our beach garden but all rooms have a private balcony, lockable safe, air conditioning, private bathroom with 24hour hot running water. The hotel has free internet. A set Asian or Western Breakfast for two guests is included in the room charge. Additional beds can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stunning Republic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stunning Vistas Beach Hotel El Nido
Stunning Republic Beach Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing