We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beachfront Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Front Cottages
Ranked #81 of 106 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice Beachfront Location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here for one night. It`s a bit outside of town- too far to walk. You can get a Tricycle for 20 Pesos. I stayed in a beachfront room upstairs and it had a lovely view and a nice sunset in the evening.The property is basic and is in need of some maintenance- Our shower taps fell off the wall! Good for a short stay- although I think there are better places closer to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura87130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    48
    37
    32
See reviews for
20
94
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

- Location: 15 min walk from the town centre - you can take a very cheap jeepney to the town if you don't want to walk. There's a small beach just outside of the hotel.
- Staff: Friendly, but sometimes helpless. Good English
- Cleanliness: Good, considering the place is right on the beach.
- Comfort and atmosphere: It's a very unique experience - the views from the terrace are amazing! Our room had a fantastic feel to it - you could really just relax and chill out. The room had TV. However, wifi was working only in the lobby and restaurant and it was a little bit slow. We also had some problems with hot water.

They have their own boats and can organise the island hopping tours for you. You just have to ask them which are available on a given date. We did Tour C on one day and Tour A on the other day. They can also prepare vegetarian meals for you if you ask them to - it was really nice of them.
When it came to payment for the room, they said they would charge us additional 6% if we pay via credit card. It wasn't mentioned anywhere on the booking site, so I don't think it's fair that they ask for this additional charge.

There's not much going on in the hotel (just a small restaurant and a lobby), so if you're looking for some entertainment, you can take the jeepney to the centre of El Nido - there are lots of pubs on the beach near the water. It's a small town with a nice, laid back atmosphere.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay there - El Nido is an amazing place to visit.

Value for money: very good

Room Tip: I don't know what you have to do to get a room with a view of the water, but I would love to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a place . No water for two half days. Smell the toilet waste around building and in the units bathroom. Always must ask to make up room.
Staff cannot help you to get around.answer they.give I don't know.
If you order a side fish with your.meal is a joke . They deliver main course then twenty minutes later
the vegetable side dish will show up . Same ordering breakfast for two one order will show up then ten minutes later the other order .
I don't blame the young staff.here Online the owner for not training the staff. This place is n
ot worth the price at all.
I

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaction2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Binãn, Laguna, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stated here for 3 days. It was along the highway and before the El Nido Transport terminal (if you are from Puerto Princesa) so it was easy to spot. The aircon rooms were fully occupied by a tv crew staff so we just settled for a fan room and we were given a fan cottage for 800 a day with breakfast. You have a private veranda of your own. They have a nice bed with mosquito net, a roomy bathroom, e electric outlets for charging gadgets; but since it was a budget cottage we had no hot shower. The breakfast was nice and coffee was bottomless. The have beautiful beach front that gives a spectacular view in the morning and in the afternoon. The staff are friendly and they dont charge extra for arranging the tour whose price is standard in El Nido. They can arrange your tour to have you picked up from the hotel. They also have a generator set in case of power interruptions which is common in Palawan. They have a van and motorbikes for rent too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRichard_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place was heaven to finally arrive to after our 12 hour uncomfortable local bus journey.
We had a few choices in what room we woud stay in, and ended up in one the cottages on the beach, your own steps to that warm golden sand. This really impressed me, and there structures are all made in the traditional filipino way. So very thin walls! This wasnt a problem at all, it was so peaceful around and the gentle sounds of the shore dims any thing anyway! Its warm enough too, so am grateful for any breeze thats going!
All in all, for the great price we paid, I had the most special time here and extended my stay there another week. If you dont expect too much, you will be glad to call this place your base for your time in El Nido.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage at the front on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelife73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was a very good experience . We enjoyed the place and stay. The friendly family of Onie and Ling ling, treated us like their family too, that's makes our stay special and memorable. The rooms are clean. Just limited hot water but it was fixed.

Room Tip: Choose Room 13,16, 17,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raquelmagno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd stay here was a little disappointing. Our 1st impression this time was "they've actually built over the top of their beach!!!! :( their recent extentions have been built right over the top of what used to be a nice little sandy beach!! How dissapointing!! :( now there's no sandy beach to laze around on which used to be nice at high tide, which is when the beach is nice and actually swimmable. Why anyone would do this is beyond me! Pure stupidity!
The rooms are getting a bit tired and it looks like they're slowly renovating them one at a time whilst at the same time building up, and cramming as many accomodations as possible into what little space they have available... They've built a kitchen and extended the restaurant (ontop of their once lovely beach) but the food and service is still way below average! Theres no where to get decent food in Corong Corong and even El Nido for that matter it seems... Perhaps opening a restaurant may be a good idea for someone who can cook here! ;)
The owners are very nice and helpful and so is their manager (?) Ling-ling, but they let themselves down by employing school kids as their staff who although pleasnt have no idea whatsoever about food or service. I guess this is a common problem throuout the phils...
Sad to say we wont be returning to this once little gem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavzTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
0.2 mi away
Telesfora Beach Cottages
Telesfora Beach Cottages
#14 of 106 in El Nido
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Rose Hotel
Desert Rose Hotel
#106 of 354 in Palawan Island
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stunning Republic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outpost Beach Hostel
Outpost Beach Hostel
#23 of 106 in El Nido
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Leonides Budget Hotel
#75 of 106 in El Nido
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buena's Haven Travelodge
Buena's Haven Travelodge
#27 of 106 in El Nido
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Front Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Front Cottages

Property: Island Front Cottages
Address: Sitio Lugadia, Barangay | Corong-Corong Beach, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 106 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Front Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Front Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Front Cottages Hotel El Nido
Island Front Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing