We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room with great beach view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Front Cottages
Ranked #82 of 114 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I viewed a few hotels along the main beach on El Nido islands. Most were very disappointing. Firstly, it was very hard to book one with a beach view. Those with a view on the beach were rather small and dull. Our driver suggested trying hotels along Corong Corong beach and luckily we did! Corong Corong beach is only 10 minutes away from El Nido town. We viewed Islandfront Cottages and immediately loved it. The room came at 2,100 Pesos per night but it was well worth it! It was the only room with a big balcony facing the sea. And considering, we were visiting during an off-peak season, we shared the whole place only with another Japanese gentleman. The food at the restaurant is nothing fantastic but they do provide San Miguel beer the whole night. The room was very spacious and so was the bathroom. The balcony faced the beach which was deserted when I was there. The staff were friendly and helpful. They were available at night too.

Please note that El Nido has a complete blackout from 6:00am to 2:00pm so schedule showers and charging of your electronic devices in advance.

Islandfront Cottages provide bike rental services too. We rented a 4-speed bike for 700 Pesos a day (which was further discounted when we checked out. We got a day free). The ride to El Nido town was barely 10 minutes by bike. Definitely faster than with a tricycle which can be hard to come by at Corong Corong.

Room Tip: Ask for the one room with a big balcony which faces the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 193 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The HOTELl have an excelent view, good sundown and you ve the beach at steps.
The cottage are poor for the money, is without breakfast, you ve tea and coffee free.Breakfast around P100/150. About the people are friendly , specially Ms LENGLENG, really work to hard to solve problems and give to you good stay.
The location is far from downtown if you like walk ,if you take a trycilcle only pay P30 and take 30 minutes. About the restaurant and service are good, but the people are not enough for many customers. This hotel for the price/quality is expensive, the best rooms are near the beach, front view, the other i supose are so dark. The wall are bamboo , with air conditioner, and restrictions with that because use small generator.

Room Tip: Rooms with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAU1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Corong Corong is a GREAT location to stay while visiting El Nido (much better than the busy town itself!) Tricycle ride to town is 30 pesos for 2 persons, or 50 pesos at night to town anyway (5 minutes only) and they are constantly available.

The place has a very friendly owner. First we stayed 1 night at Yolinda’s, her new premises (50 meter down the road), then 2 more nights at the original premises in a cottage. Paid 2000 pesos per night, which is good value for El Nido since every good lodging is a bit expensive there. The rooms have a nice atmosphere, the aircon didn’t work very well and the rooms are a bit run-down.

Island Front is right at the (nice) beach, with a sweet little restaurant. The only downfall is the staff at the restaurant. They are just not able to serve more than 2 people… It takes very long because they take 1 order, go in the kitchen, come out when done and then take the next order. Not very efficient…

If you want to stay in El Nido at high season, book in advance! We were in El Nido around Christmas and New Year and everything was fully booked.

Room Tip: If you have the chance; make a reservation for one of the beach faced rooms right on the beach; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you book one of the cottages facing the sea, you will probably see the most beautiful sunset ever.
The staff here is very service minded. If you are not picky about accommodation (this is not a 5 star hotel) but either focus on the beautiful nature in El Nido you will not be disappointed. This resort offer very good island hopping trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

El Nido hospitality is not incredible
You will have 2/3 hotels who are better but rooms around 500us$/night
There s also 1 or 2 around 200/300us$
But none of them are value
Island front is not bad for the price
View and position are very nice
You re close to the most beautifull beach and out of the town
Ask a room without rats....
Hope your neighbour is not fan of tv because there s no phonic isolation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeromeBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Island Front Cottages is the best place to stay in El Nido, if you are looking for the quiet place with not too many tourists. Close to the city (5 min. by tricycle, 50 pesos = 1EUR) and close to the really nice empty beach (Orange). They have different rooms with different size with different prices. Breakfast with reasonable price as well. Free wifi available and possibility to pay via CC!!

We came early morning 3 am with roro bus and were tired... We didnt have any reservation, we just call there, woke up the receptionist and he kindly showed us all the room options. We were thinking just to stay only one night, but finaly we stayed 6. There is amazing real Filipino atmospere, you can really try their life (if you are interested in). All the staff is extremely kind, ready to help any time... Always prepared to tidy your room, to change the towels, to assist you if anything. We were there during the fiesta (celebrating the El Nido anniversary), we have seen Cock fighting (2min.by walk from the IslandFront), we took a part in Pig hunting (amazing experience) and finaly we chose to come to their local disco rather than to go to the city bars. Only 4 Europeans and Filipinos, dancing, beer drinking and celebrating.

Last but not least they are making island hopping even for 3-4 people. (If you take the agency from the city, you can be even 10 of you on the small boat). I definitely recommend to take the boat trip directly at Island Front.

There is a regular power outage in El Nido (they have lack of electricity), thanks for this I had finaly relaxing time without being constantly online with my iPhone :)

Special BIG THANKS to all the staff!!!!!! Owners have to be proud of them! Leona (Manager in charge) is really professional, constantly taking care for our satisfaction. Ariel, Tomtom, Macmac and all the other guys are friendly and helpful.

This place made my holiday simply perfect. I can only recommend!

Andrea & Danica

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaKovacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This family operated offers genuine Philippino curtesy. Clean, ingeneous tropical decor, affordable and situated in the quiet more pleasant beach of El Nido. Thank u Oni, Yuli, Ling Ling and family for ur hospitality and kindness. Il b back God willing. God Bless.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriaperona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
0.2 mi away
Telesfora Beach Cottages
Telesfora Beach Cottages
#19 of 114 in El Nido
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Rose Hotel
Desert Rose Hotel
#95 of 374 in Palawan Island
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenviews Resort Corong-Corong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena's Haven Travelodge
Buena's Haven Travelodge
#26 of 114 in El Nido
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outpost Beach Hostel
Outpost Beach Hostel
#7 of 114 in El Nido
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stunning Republic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Front Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Front Cottages

Address: Sitio Lugadia, Barangay | Corong-Corong Beach, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 114 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range: $22 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Front Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Island Front Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Front Cottages Hotel El Nido
Island Front Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing