We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Monkey Cottages
Ranked #20 of 106 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
CDO
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

we had a great time at golden monkey.
good breakfast pleasant and friendly staff and great owners.sweety the monkey was even friendly and groomed my hair for me ,
loved the island hopping tours and the two boatmen were excellent and couldnt do enough for us.
its a fair walk to to el nido centre and bring a torch the path is very dark in places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the very nice review, and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Golden Monkey. Hopefully, we could see you again. Take care.
Regards,
Rose & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    65
    28
    16
    15
See reviews for
16
125
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Twenty minutes away from town in a nice neighbourhood with good places to eat nearby. Very friendly staff. They serve breakfast and dinner. Very polite and helpful. We liked the cave with the monkeys. We love the terrace with seaview and hammocks. It's defenitely worth a stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank na04092014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

my husband and i spent 5 terrible nights at the golden monkey. . unfortunately we pre-booked our stay through a travel agency and could not get a refund or find an empty room any where during Easter week. We chose the golden monkey do to good reviews it received here- we were caught by surprise when we arrived and realized in what a S#$% hole we just landed.
where do i start? ants coming out of holes in the wall -running up and down the walls in the bathroom, woke up every morning to find termites crawling on us- screens have holes and bug spray does not keep them away! woke up a couple times in the middle of the night do to coconuts falling on the roof of our cottage. breakfast is set up out side the room at 6am, since the windows are usually open for air, this was our wake up call :(- why not set this up the night before?? we found the breakfast way to expensive at the golden monkey. location is bad- long walk from center of town and restaurants, at night the path is totally dark, hard to make your way without a flash light. wifi did not work at all. rose was at times hospitable at times impatient. when we told her about the termites she did not offer a solution or look concerned. she did offer to help when my husband had a cold- by offering medication.
bottom line- 5 disappointing and uncomfortable nights. el-nido is full of small hotels, guest houses & quiet relaxing locations to stay at- golden monkey is defiantly not one of them!
just pick somewhere else- anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fifi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've been staying at GMC for two times the last months. First time, I went there with a friend and we we're so stunned by the beauty of both El Nido and the charm of GMC that I felt I had to bring my girlfriend there as well.

The hotel is nicely located a short walk (10-20 minutes, depending on your physical conditions and your phase. 10 minutes means you'll be pretty sweaty, especially if walking by daytime) from El Nido town. The walkway is nice and goes through some cosy and beautiful areas. If you go by night, you'll need to bring a flashlight. The location outside town makes the hotel very quiet and peaceful, and with only 8 cottages, it almost feel like living within a big family. The 4 beachfront cottages are amazing, and ever cottage (I tried a couple of them) are clean and very well maintained. While going to bed, you can hear the sound of the ocean, the geckos and the peace around you. The power goes off during nights, often from 5 or 6 am, and then the fan also goes of for a while. So if you're looking for LCD-screens, AC, bath tubes and panorama windows, this is not really the place though.

Rose, the owner, is a fantastic women taking very good care of her guests. She's got a lot of knowledge about the area, and GMC also have their own "private" boat captain, arranging daily tours to the beautiful archipelago of El Nido. A couple of girls are helping Rose out with the place, all of them very kind and helpful. The breakfast is a delight, so is the sunset and the entire atmosphere of this place. Just hanging out, zipping a mango shake while lying in the hammock reading a book, watching the ocean - it is like taken from a movie scene. The only reason I wouldn't recommend people going here, to Golden Monkey Cottages, is that I'm afraid they'll be fully booked the next time I want to make a reservation.

/ Thomas Gustafsson

Room Tip: One of the four beachfront cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Thomas,
Thank you for the nice review, (I just realised that I posted my reply to you to someone else!) Anyway, it was great to have you stay with us. Don't be discouraged to recommend us to your friends and family. The next time you come to visit us, I will make sure that you get the cottage that you request.
Take care and good luck with your studies. The girls say 'hi'
Best regards,
Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I (children ages 2 and 4) stayed at Golden Monkey Cottages for one night (husband messed up booking at Cadlao Resort which left us with no room for one night in between our stay). The original hotel he booked was AWFUL after reading reviews of bed bugs and dirty rooms he decided to go and check it out before taking us all there, he said it was so bad it would have been better to sleep in a hammock on the beach, anyway we looked around everything else was fully booked, we later saw a lot of people walking from the other end of our current resort Cadlao Resort so went to check it out and saw Golden Monkey Cottages. The walk in is a dusty walk path and once inside the resort which is quite small it was OK. Very rustic and authentic are the words i would describe it, Cadlao seems to be the best resort in El Nido town but this place was better than some of the others. I was told by the owner it used to be a Monkey Sanctuary, there is one baby momkey left she said they let them all go and this particular one came back. We where only there for one night literally from 9pm to 6 am the next day, It has no air conditioning but has many fans, the room was clean and beds where ok, only issue is that we where bitten by a lot of mosquitoes if the rooms had a mosquitoe net and air conditioning id give it a higher rating, the staff was very nice and they accommodated us at very short notice. Our villas was beach front had a hammock and chair and table out side where you could have you won breakfast there if you wanted. If your looking for somethings a bit rustic and dont mind no A/C this place is OK, the rooms are also a VERY good size a lot of space and there is also a bed up in the loft area for, they set up another bed on lower level for us as kids are too small for loft area, the room was extremely spacious. I would not recommend it for families as no pool and also the beach isnt the best to swim at. Its also a long walk into town and no bike to take you in as Cadlao resort offers so its a long walk in, its very close to local housing and families which i think was nice as you get to feel the real El Nido....

Room Tip: We stayed on beach front room which was very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRYSTAL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in both a beach front cottage and a garden cottage and found both were great. Obviously the view was better in==on the beach front but the garden one was still comfortable, our own porch and hammock, Beautiful gardens around and lovely staff. Very relaxing and well worth the price. Nice to be a short stroll from town too. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Thomas,
Thank you for the nice review. Don't worry about recommending us to your friends and family, the next time you come and visit us again, I will make sure that you get the cottage that you want. You get special treatment. The girls all say 'hi' to you and your girlfriend.

Take care and good luck with your studies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

El Nido was a fantastic place to celebrate my birthday, and Golden Monkey's was the perfect spot to stay. It is ideally (view- and noise-wise) located just outside of town (10 min. walk), with stunning sunset views. Host Rose is wonderful and the hard working staff is always friendly. The boat trips booked from the resort itself are also great value, as is the breakfast! Would and will recommend GMC to any and all travelers.

Room Tip: the Seaside rooms are obviously top choice, but if you get the budget rooms try and get number 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.1 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
515 reviews
3.4 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nest El Nido Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
0.0 mi away
Angel Nido Resort
Angel Nido Resort
#4 of 106 in El Nido
148 reviews
3.1 mi away
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
#36 of 106 in El Nido
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Monkey Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Monkey Cottages

Property: Golden Monkey Cottages
Address: Ca-alan Beach, El Nido, Palawan Island EN234, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 106 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Monkey Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Monkey Cottages are situated on Ca-alan beach, just 10 minutes walk from El Nido town. We offer quality accommodation with comfortable fan rooms and clean modern bathrooms. Each cottage has a large veranda and a spectacular view of the islands. Since we are located just outside of El Nido, away from the noise and bustle of town, we benefit from the peace of the surrounding forests and you will be free simply to relax and absorb the atmosphere. You could hire a boat and be taken to a secluded beach to soak up the sun, have a picnic, swim, snorkel and enjoy the magnificent scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Golden Monkey Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Monkey Cottages Hotel El Nido
Golden Monkey Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing