We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best option in El Nido town!”
Review of Entalula

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entalula
Ranked #15 of 99 El Nido B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2011

There's a reason why Entalula is the number one B&B on Trip Advisor in El Nido town & it completely deserves it in our opinion!

Having looked at a number of other hotels & accomodations within the town itself & without paying a fortune for the more expensive out of town resorts, we found Entalula to be by far the nicest we came across.

The hotel is right on El Nido beach & a in a nicer part too than the more built up area at the other end of town near the Art Cafe. The rooms are very well kept & relatively new (the hotel having been only built a couple of years ago), but what really makes this such a great hotel is the owners Emy & Henri and their staff!

They live in the main house where the deluxe rooms are located & will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. You can walk through the house to the main road & they will happliy chat to you & offer advice on where to go, which island hopping tours to do etc. There is also easy access directly to the beach with a few sun loungers provided should you want to walk down the beach for a meal or just sit & sunbathe!

The hotel does not provide food, but there are tons of nearby restaurants & cafes so you don't have to walk far to eat. A nice touch as others have said is that they leave a flask of hot water & coffee outside your room each morning & it was great to sit on the balcony & take in the amazing view of Cadlao Island.

We stayed in both the beach front cabana cottages & the deluxe rooms located in the main building during our stay (as we ended up staying longer than planned!) and would personally recommend the cabanas over the in-house rooms. That is not to say the deluxe rooms are not nice, but the cabanas had a really nice little verandas where you could enjoy the views & chat to your neighbours.

Having the option to take a non-AC room & upgrade to AC was also fantastic as you don't feel like you have to pay the extra for AC when you don't always need it (there are often cooling breezes at night anyway).

Emy & Henri can organise tours themselves for you with a local boat, which were competitive with other tours in town & certainly cheaper than those offered by the Art Cafe.

The only slight quibble we had was the noise of the waves crashing right outside our cabana in the morning often woke us early, but that is a small price to pay for waking in another day in paradise!

Another point worth mentioning is that if you want a quieter more scenic beach than the one in El Nido (which is still stunning, just busier), you can hire a tricycle to take you a couple of miles out of town & wait at the entrance to a path where you can walk 5 mins down to the stunning beach near the Corong Corong resort. Just tell the driver to wait for you at the entrance to the path, which you can't miss as it is next to a sign advertising the resort . They usually will charge no more than 200 or 300 pesos depending on how long they are waiting, but obviously don't pay them until you get back!

Would also recommend Sea Slugs which is just a 5 minute walk down the beach towards town for good food, friendly staff & great live music every evening. We ended up spending most nights there!

Wish we were back there now & we'll certainly stay again at Entalula when we one day are back in fabulous El Nido!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wunderlust78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Entalula
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

I was surprised this place had so many positive reviews. They have a nice view from the back where all the little rooms are but the rooms are super small and look very much in disrepair. It was dark and dank, no hot water, and the beds were uncomfortable. I would have given this a two star but because the guy at the front desk was so helpful and the lobby was so nice and clean, i'll bump it to three stars. We stayed in three places in El Nido, and this was our least favorite.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Our room with fan was a bit little, but it was very clean.
Breakfast was OK.
The main advantage were: excellent views, polite staff(owner, especially).
The main disadvantage was that they didn't accept reservations over online for the peak season, only walk-in guests. I guess it's a little inconvenience.
Also problem with hot water, but this issue was in all small El Nido hotels.
I would recommended it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed in one of the bungalows right off the beach - excellent views!! Rooms are very small - just enough room for a queen sized bed and ok sized bathroom off to the side. Only 'complaint' would be the lack of hot water. Not that it was a problem, just wish i had known about it before hand. They will however give you a bucket of hot water if you do want to shower with it.
Definitely the nicest and cleanest looking spot on the whole beach!
Would definitely return! And you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The entire experience was excellent! The owner, RB, was a great source of information. He organized all of our tours and made sure we had transportation when we needed it. All of the restaurants he recomended to us were GREAT! The rooms were spacious and clean with an amazing view. The best room on the second floor is room #4. It is the only second floor room that has unobstructed view to the beach. The beach is just outside the back door of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floraniznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. El Nido hotels are not 5 star - don't expect that! We arrived without a reservation because it was low season, but it turned out to be Filipino school holidays, so the town was very busy. The first night we went to 6 hotels/guest houses, all either booked out or unsatisfactory. The Entalula was by far the best hotel we saw, and even though they were fully booked, the owner looked after our luggage while we looked for a room elsewhere, and the next day we were able to move to the Entalula. The owner and his family were very helpful but never invasive, and the setting is so beautiful.
Things which stand out in my memory:
- Fresh coffee outside the room door every morning
-Comfortable bed, large room, very clean.
- small bathroom, but the biggest out of the 6 rooms at different hotels we visited. Very clean.
- No kitchen or breakfast offered, but they organised the cafe down the street to bring us (delicious) breakfast each morning.
- Hot water systems installed, but El Nido is in drought, so the water pressure was never high enough to trigger the heater, so we had cold showers. It was no problem, the water is never actually cold in the tropics.
- Safe. You have to walk through reception to access the rooms and there was somebody there 24 hours a day. El Nido is very friendly and safe anyway.
- The hotel has both beach and street frontage but all rooms face the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddles84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My husband our friends and I were in this hotel last year in May. We stayed in this hotel for a week. It was awesome. The view from the balcony is incredible. The hotel is located directly at the beach. It's a nice place to stay for a several days and hoping throw the islands.)
The owner of the hotel is a wonderful woman Emilia, who helps us with our trips (Thank you very much for our pleasant stay)
Service is very good, cleaned everyday and, i forget to say, that the hotel is new.

I want to recomend this hotel to everyone who goes to El Nido.

I hope that we`ll return next year)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis-Tianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.6 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest El Nido Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ipil Suites El Nido
Ipil Suites El Nido
#20 of 99 in El Nido
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caalan Beach Resort
Caalan Beach Resort
#3 of 111 in El Nido
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Nido Beach Hotel
El Nido Beach Hotel
#61 of 99 in El Nido
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entalula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entalula

Address: Calle Real | Brgy Masagna, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Entalula Hotel El Nido
Entalula El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing