We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located with a helpful family staff”
Review of Entalula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Entalula
Ranked #17 of 93 El Nido B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Centrally located with a helpful family staff”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Entalula has a great location on the beach in El Nido, nerby many restaurants, but a little walk down the beach, ensuring a quieter night's sleep. The staff was incredibly helpful, seemingly run by an extended family who were always smiling and all overly helpful. They help in booking tours, renting masks and snorkels or kayaks, and will help to arrange transport if needed. The complimentary breakfast is served on your patio every morning and the variety is a nice change from some other complimentary breakfasts in the area. We stayed in a beach cottage and the only problem was the the a/c unit was very weak, other than that it was an adorable setup with enough space for two people. Definitely recommended if you can afford it!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the beach cottages, worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
79
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights,we copped for one of the rooms in the 2 story building at the back,these are the numbered rooms,the beach front cabanas are lettered,A,B,C, etc...the rooms are beautiful the only down side is the paper thin walls where as I think the cabanas fare a lot better,there are signs up asking to respect the silence after 10.00pm,but some people miss these and it makes sleeping a bit difficult,we had to knock on a couple of doors to ask them to be quiet which they did with no fuss,but I think the rooms should be insulated a lot better,everything else was great,the owners and the staff very nice and helpful,breakfast was brought to your room at the time you want,free wi fi,when the lucky was on and very clean,room made up with clean everything everyday,would defiantly recommend xx

Room Tip: The rooms numbered A,B,C,D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything works for this hotel, although food can be improved.

Location, very convenient. In the middle of everything, beach, restaurants, store. Name it they have it.

Room, I stayed here for 4 days, both the Standard room and Cabana. I prefer the Cabanas just because it is close to the beach for just 200 php difference from the standard room. Both rooms were small although the Cabanas offer bigger Restrooms.

Tours, the tours they offer is 100 php less than those being offered outside.

Food can definitely be improved.

Amenities, complete pero wala TV. Wifi is available also!

Service, genuine Pinoy service. People are nice and would really offer help at all times. Very commendable.

I will definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Canaba C and D are the better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadlesstravelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After doing a LOT of research on the options in El Nido, I found you can pay a lot for a nice but very remote place, or pay a little for a plain, characterless room. There seemed to be few options in between, but I think Entalula has to be one of the best. We enjoyed our four days here and found it to be a good value.

Here's the breakdown: there are some decent places behind the beach, but if you want to hear the waves, you want to be on the beach. Entalula has lovely little cottages where you can hear the waves, walk right out to the beach, be in a central location to get out to restaurants and shops, and has a nice "boutiquey" feeling. I hadn't quite realized that the beach isn't really a swimming beach, but good for walking to the center of town and to boats for day trips. The cottages were small but stylish, with fully modern bathrooms (great water pressure and hot water - apparently provided by few in town), and air conditioning. The beds with mosquito nets are large, which leaves little space for luggage in the room, but how much time do you spend in the room anyway? The family that owns Entalula is kind but unintrusive and happy to answer questions. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony reading and using wifi (which didn't reach into our room). Breakfast on the balcony was a pleasant way to start the morning.

Here's what I didn't know about El Nido and made our stay a bit difficult: the electricity is out all morning, so even though we had air conditioning, it went out early in the morning. That's when you can hear everything going on outside. If you're an early riser, not a problem, but if not, it can get noisy and warm really early. This, of course, is no fault of Entalula, but does affect the stay.

While we were there we asked around and definitely felt that we had the most modern and comfortable accommodation on the beach. We were happy with our stay and don't hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringa220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

booked for 5 nights checked out after 1 night . where do i start. beach bungalow ? more like a dark dingy shoe box . no wardrobe or furniture at all to put things except 1 tiny table, there were a couple of shelves in the bathroom next to the bin in which to leave used toilet paper.The 1 hand towel provided i mistook for a floor cloth left by mistake.the shower door wouldnt close and the shower fired out of the window . No choice for breakfast got what you were given served on the tiny balcony shared with flies.£50 per night ? not even a welcome bar of soap.checked into a hotel further down the beach and for only £4 per night more and got an upgrade to a sea view room with all amenities. Our friends we travelled with stayed as there was no other accommodation and upon check out the owner told them they owed more money even though they paid upfront for their stay using pay pal and insisted pay pal did not pay her the full amount. We are well travelled and look for good value, clean and comfortable. making do is not what we pay for.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are spacious much better than the bungalows , better still book elseware
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thaicup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and nothing bad to say about our stay. We stayed at room 4 as it has the best view. Location is good as the beach area infront of the hotel is cleaner than the other ones also quieter and more relaxed place as its a good 2 min walk from the noisy bars. Staff are friendly and nice- they even let us watch our favourite primetime telenovela when we requested! They made us feel very welcome and responded to our needs when we requested. We're lucky there were no inconsiderate co-guests at the time of our stay. Its true, they have paper thin walls and you can hear conversations from the room next to us! However, you can hear the sound of the waves at night and in the quiet early mornings, which to me, was very relaxing.

Would definitely visit and stay here again. Anyway, don't need to fuss too much about the hotel, there's too much to see and do and all we needed is a clean, comfortable, safe place to sleep and rest from all the fun activities while in El Nido - this hotel is just that .

Room Tip: Pick room 4 or the beach front cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this Entalula for 6 nights, 2 in the bungalows and 4 upstairs.

The pros:
- Close to the beach
- Close to the town, but still out of the main action so the noise is not a big issue (main bars and restaurants are about 5-10 min walk)
- Very well built
- The owners are very caring and nice - they invited us to a New Years' Dinner which was all free and very nice of them - Gave it a family feel
- Hot water showers, new towels
- The bathrooms in the cottage are really great and functional
- Very clean (they do your bedroom up every morning)

The cons:
- Doesn't have a 'common sitting area ouside' to hang out. There are a couple of daybeds in the courtyard, but they take up the whole space.
- The rooms are TINY - There;s no space to put your luggage, unless you are okay with jumping over it everytime to walk around in the room.
- No choice of what you want to eat for breakfast. Its included so basically its what you get. We ended up going to the Art Cafe every morning (mid morning) to have something a little extra (though this wont be a problem if you eat light breakfasts)

Overall, I can't complain because we went during the very high season (New Years) and everything was booked out, so we were lucky to even get a place (with aircon) but I must admit it was a bit expensive - for the type of room it is. The rooms and and the balcony as I said were very small, so its okay if you don't plan to be in there for much of your stay. I should have gone to Calaan or Corong Corong beach resorts as they are more relaxing and its really not difficult to get into town from there.

Room Tip: Go for the beach cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.6 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
502 reviews
14.7 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
223 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ipil Suites El Nido
Ipil Suites El Nido
#20 of 93 in El Nido
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#32 of 104 in El Nido
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Nido Beach Hotel
El Nido Beach Hotel
#64 of 93 in El Nido
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entalula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entalula

Property: Entalula
Address: Calle Real | Brgy Masagna, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Entalula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Entalula Hotel El Nido
Entalula El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing