We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !!”
Review of Entalula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Entalula
Ranked #16 of 93 El Nido B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again !!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

booked for 5 nights checked out after 1 night . where do i start. beach bungalow ? more like a dark dingy shoe box . no wardrobe or furniture at all to put things except 1 tiny table, there were a couple of shelves in the bathroom next to the bin in which to leave used toilet paper.The 1 hand towel provided i mistook for a floor cloth left by mistake.the shower door wouldnt close and the shower fired out of the window . No choice for breakfast got what you were given served on the tiny balcony shared with flies.£50 per night ? not even a welcome bar of soap.checked into a hotel further down the beach and for only £4 per night more and got an upgrade to a sea view room with all amenities. Our friends we travelled with stayed as there was no other accommodation and upon check out the owner told them they owed more money even though they paid upfront for their stay using pay pal and insisted pay pal did not pay her the full amount. We are well travelled and look for good value, clean and comfortable. making do is not what we pay for.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are spacious much better than the bungalows , better still book elseware
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thaicup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
79
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and nothing bad to say about our stay. We stayed at room 4 as it has the best view. Location is good as the beach area infront of the hotel is cleaner than the other ones also quieter and more relaxed place as its a good 2 min walk from the noisy bars. Staff are friendly and nice- they even let us watch our favourite primetime telenovela when we requested! They made us feel very welcome and responded to our needs when we requested. We're lucky there were no inconsiderate co-guests at the time of our stay. Its true, they have paper thin walls and you can hear conversations from the room next to us! However, you can hear the sound of the waves at night and in the quiet early mornings, which to me, was very relaxing.

Would definitely visit and stay here again. Anyway, don't need to fuss too much about the hotel, there's too much to see and do and all we needed is a clean, comfortable, safe place to sleep and rest from all the fun activities while in El Nido - this hotel is just that .

Room Tip: Pick room 4 or the beach front cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this Entalula for 6 nights, 2 in the bungalows and 4 upstairs.

The pros:
- Close to the beach
- Close to the town, but still out of the main action so the noise is not a big issue (main bars and restaurants are about 5-10 min walk)
- Very well built
- The owners are very caring and nice - they invited us to a New Years' Dinner which was all free and very nice of them - Gave it a family feel
- Hot water showers, new towels
- The bathrooms in the cottage are really great and functional
- Very clean (they do your bedroom up every morning)

The cons:
- Doesn't have a 'common sitting area ouside' to hang out. There are a couple of daybeds in the courtyard, but they take up the whole space.
- The rooms are TINY - There;s no space to put your luggage, unless you are okay with jumping over it everytime to walk around in the room.
- No choice of what you want to eat for breakfast. Its included so basically its what you get. We ended up going to the Art Cafe every morning (mid morning) to have something a little extra (though this wont be a problem if you eat light breakfasts)

Overall, I can't complain because we went during the very high season (New Years) and everything was booked out, so we were lucky to even get a place (with aircon) but I must admit it was a bit expensive - for the type of room it is. The rooms and and the balcony as I said were very small, so its okay if you don't plan to be in there for much of your stay. I should have gone to Calaan or Corong Corong beach resorts as they are more relaxing and its really not difficult to get into town from there.

Room Tip: Go for the beach cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

El Nido is not yet a busy tourist ridden beach resort and long may it stay that way. If you are used to 5 star accomodation and all that comes with all inclusive travel, El Nido is not geared up for this yet. If you are looking for something off the beaten track and can rough it a little then you will be rewarded with breathtaking unspoilt beaches and great diving!!

Overall the family run Entalula was wonderful, helpful, friendly and helped us with all our enquiries with tours, early breakfast requests etc. We had a room upstairs as the beach huts were booked but the room was of a good size, clean with comfy bed, ceiling fan and aircon.

Yes the walls are thin and you can hear the street noise and the room next door (any intrepid traveller should have ear plugs if noise bothers that much!) but you can also hear the waves crashing on the beach. The location was perfect, on the beachfront, close to the centre of town and beachfront restaurants and bars (everything is 5 minutes walk tops away anyway!)

You can rent beach towels, wet bags, fins and mask/ snorkels direct from them as well as arrange your tours. There is wifi throughout (albeit a little weak upstairs at times) and breakfast is basic but adequate and is served on your terrace/ balcony at a time of your choosing.

As I was travelling through with a fellow female friend, we both felt very safe in this town and enjoyed the boat tours and diving the town had to offer.

What more can you expect from a place thats not yet been heavily commercialised and spoilt by too much tourism? This is the beauty of El Nido and the surrounding islands. Visit before it loses its rustic and untouched charm and beauty!!

I very much enjoyed my stay here and would recommend :)

Room Tip: Try to get one of the beach huts (there are only 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

we enjoyed our stay here. great view, clean, serene place. accommodations are basic, this is not a luxurious hotel. but, better than most other places in the area since this area is off the beaten path type (no atms, electricity is out from 1-5 in the pm when i was there). the owner cares and is very welcoming. we got breakfast sent to our room and could eat it facing the water. el nido is for the rough and tough traveller, where you appreciate nature and the people, not for someone looking for an all inclusive retreat. but, el nido is a pretty clean place...lots of tourist were walking around barefoot on the street...i didn't do that but it was safe enough to do knowing that the rest of the philippines is not like this. this was the calmest place i've ever been to so far...

we didn't have any problems during our stay since you can't expect the area to accommodate you...like most tourist destinations in this world. here, you must adjust to nature.

the hotel was quiet during our stay. we were in the area the first week of may 2012....didn't hear much traffic from the streets at night...didn't hear our neighbors but i wouldn't be surprised if the walls are thin...i would've just knocked on their door to shut them up :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apt2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in one of the rooms with a balcony facing the water.
The rooms are nice & clean, BUT with paper thin walls where you can hear everything your neighbor is doing and the street sounds as well. The smallest sound (even deep breathing...) goes thru the walls. I did not have one good nights sleep here.

The only nice thing is the view, friendliness of staff and that breakfast is served to your room.

would not stay here again. It's not value for money...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapeTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Friendly staff and a quite clean place next to the beach (which doesn't matter since you're never going to be on the beach due to diving and other activities in the archipelago). Nice view from the balcony and an okay breakfast.

Worst part is the non existing sound proof walls. We're really, really, really disturbed by noise from neighbors having loud conversations and...sex. If as that wasn't enough we had to fight all noise from tricycles running at the street from 6am to late night as well as loud screens and shouting by partying people. Bare in mind that I'm not usually the ones that complains and I do enjoy great parties (which I've been doing loads of throughout the years...:))

Conclusion. If you wan to sleep - look for accommodation on each side of the beach or two/three streets from the beach. Much more worth.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMB0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.6 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
502 reviews
14.7 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
223 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ipil Suites El Nido
Ipil Suites El Nido
#19 of 93 in El Nido
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#32 of 104 in El Nido
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Nido Beach Hotel
El Nido Beach Hotel
#65 of 93 in El Nido
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entalula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entalula

Property: Entalula
Address: Calle Real | Brgy Masagna, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Entalula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Entalula Hotel El Nido
Entalula El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing