We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Palawan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed it everyday.

The staff was very friendly and the activity staff made our daughter wanting to stay and never leave again. Angel and Mario organized everyday some special kids activities, like clay forming Nemo, coconut hats, .... .

The island hopping was great, we had a paradise for us to snorkel and enjoy an intact reef with many colorful fishes. We did it twice! After the second trip we enjoyed the picnic which was great too....

Hint, if you have small kids, bring their snorkeling equipment with you (not available at dive shop)

There were 2 drawbacks:
- is the quality of the room: aircon is very noisy, only one bathroom in the duplex over water bungalows, bathroom very basic, and the outside walls could use some painting. In general the deluxe overwater bungalow was very basic.
- the transfer: it was very well organized but very long: we left had the hotel on a Sunday morning at 9 am and arrived at after 4 pm: 1 hour flight to el Nido from Manila, dividing up passenger to different resorts, 1.25 hour transfer in minibus ( very bumpy) to harbor, grouping passengers to boats, transfer with boat to island 1.25 h.

The welcome was great, but a long journey.

It would be an asset, if the Wifi would be available in the entire resort, not only at the restaurant/bar.

We could eat 3 times on the beach in the evening, which was very romantic and a great change, since there is currently only one restaurant for all the meals. The cooks were always smiling on the cooking station and did great creations in short times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erlenbach_zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    132
    40
    8
    8
See reviews for
132
316
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We love Apulit Island Resort, So much!! Love the Scenery, the Service, the Crew/people, the accomodations, the clealiness, the amenities and facilities, the infinity pool, the total package guaranteed Excellent!! One of the most unforgettable moment staying in here was the experiencing their perfect Picnic Lunch!! Thumbs up! for that Great service and Love the Set up!! We feel like an Empress... Must Reccomended!! although its expensive but all what you've paid... excellent service... all the staff are smillin' and greeting you always you feel comfortable.. Ate Angel and their manager was great!! kuya stanley for his fresh juices and kuya Arjun for guiding us on snorkeling and our tour guide.. the food was great!! delicious and tasty...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LatsryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It may have been almost 2 years since I last been to Apulit, but I remember it well. The time I was there was back in late {July 2011} and I must say, it was an incredible experience. Getting there from Manila, was interesting, too. Small plane ride from Manila to Sandoval, 10-15 jeepney ride to the river boat, river boat travel (being escorted my military guards, and being transfered to a larger sailboat (45min-1hr travel-time). Also they do feed you some ginger tea and cookies along the way :)

The only time I had to open my wallet was ordering specialty drinks....lolz.
All inclusive, unparallel relaxation and privacy, and a must place to be in the Philippines.

The staff, just wonderful people. They really take care of your needs.

Oh, I can not forget about the birthday surprise I had. They really did it well, thanks to my girlfriend who made it all happen.

If your looking for public beach resort places and want that "I want to go where everyone wants to go", this place isn't for you.


Thank you Apulit Island Resort. Pls forgive me for my very late review. I will say, I will be back. I hear you guys now have a swimming pool.....lolz.

-Marcel Tango-

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A top class experience in every sense. The security, the quality of the amazing food and the activities offered, the location and marine life, the ambience and specially the staff. It is definetely worth travelling from El Nido just to visit this astonishing resort. MAGIC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Apulit Island for 4 days 3 nights in April. We had our son with us as well. First, to get to Apulit Island from Puerta Princessa was a little bit difficult. You have to find transportation from the airport to El Nido which can take up to 5-6 hours so prepared for that. The hotel doesn't accommodate transportation for this. Once you get to Taytay pier there is a ferry taxi arranged transportation usually leaving at 3pm complimentary. They serve cold beverages and snacks on the way to Apulit Island. From the time you get off the ferry taxi there is a group of staff who sing to you and welcome you to the island. Roslyn, who is in charge of activities and Frank, manager personally greet and welcome you. We had the cottage farthest from the beach and it was absolutely amazing. Very clean. Clear waters, my son absolutely enjoyed it. So worth the cost. Buffet morning lunch and dinner. Activities were arranged for us. There was no complaints about anything in the resort. Staff was amazing. Always smiling, greeting and welcoming. Frank was very helpful in making arrangements. They really make you feel one in a mill. Thank you so much. My son and husband absolutely enjoyed the resort. Beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimberly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The first big challenge (or part of the fun) is to actually get to the Island (app. 15 miles off shore). This can only be done (private charter is available but expensive) by taking a resort ferry which leaves Taytay Pier @ 3pm. Since we made our own way as we were traveling around Palawan, we were told to be at Taytay Pier by 2pm sharp, however we discovered that the 3pm ferry departure is subject to the arrival flight from Manila, which as it happened on this day landed in El Nido airport (2 hours away) and was late! Therefore, our be at Taytay Pier @ 2pm sharp for a 3pm departure, turned into a 4pm departure and 5pm arrival.

Upon arrival (via boat 1 hour), we are treated to a welcoming band and various “instructions”. We leant that the resort is very Eco and conservation focused, we also leant that the resort appeared to be very “activity” driven, with all sorts to do on the water and even hiking. Since we only planned to stay for two (2) days, our activity plan was to chill, however the activity manager chased us to know what activities we wanted to join; I guess she had a job to do so ho hum. Infact we ended up kayaking, snorkeling, hiking by ourselves; each to their own as they say as many people took advantage of the various organized activates.

Rooms were found to be surprising small, more especially the bathrooms, so if you are a big guy expect a tight squeeze to get in and out ! One wonders if the room size was a miscalculation or just a build factor by the former Japanese owners, but it is what it is. All rooms are water cottages with three sides east, west and a family size located in a different area. The west side is located over a reef with pristine water and fish life including the black tip shark. On the east side the generator operates 24/7 and is noisy, why is this not sounded proofed (easy), a pity since from our balcony (west side) it destroyed the peace and quiet of the area somewhat but not our sleep as our air con downed out the noise!

The room price includes full board (breakfast / lunch / dinner) and many activities. While the food is reasonably good, we concluded the quality was good even if the selection was not massive. Be prepared however, wines are expensive (as expected). On the upside, there is a happy hour 5-7pm each evening and lots of ice available for room service for those that may BYO.

While the nearest airport is Taytay, we were given various reasons as to why it was closed depending on whom we asked….i.e. expansion, road renovation, aircraft non-availability. We suspect since the ITI airline is also run by El Nido resorts, which includes three (3) others located near El Nido and the runway has been recently extended, it is more a play to use a bigger plane to consolidate all the resort passengers. Passengers from these other three (3) resorts can arrive to El Nido airport by boat.

During the lead up to our stay, communications from the resort went from no available flights back (El Nido to Manila) on the day we wanted, to available at 0830 hrs. (one wonders ?? 0530 hrs. departure from resort ??) to available evening 5pm to 1pm, to asking us could we stay an extra night to take the next days flight. Perhaps since we stayed towards the end of Easter week it was part of the reason for such mayhem or perhaps not !^!

If you are looking for a get away from it all, pristine water, active fish life then this is a unique place despite some shortcomings. Due to the location and travel time to get back and forth, figure a minimum of three (3) nights stay in order to give yourselves two (2) full days is recommended. The price could be deemed at first glance to be seriously expensive but when you consider the unique location, full board and many activities are included then for such a place it is somewhat justified. What left somewhat of a sour taste is the 5pm arrival and 9am departure so one has the feeling of been slightly screwed as we only stayed for two (2) nights. Nevertheless, this place seems popular, while it was not full, there was no shortage of guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I just went with my family before Eastern to Apulit Island. It was the first time for us in the Philippines, so we didn't know what to expect. Apulit Island can be described in one word "Paradise"! El Nido has 4 different resorts in the area which are all excellent but I personally think Apuit Island is the best! If you want to book currently Apulit Island, you will be told that there is a problem with the flights to Taytay and they offer you alternatively Lagen Island as the El Nido airport is close to the other resort. The truth is that ITI has canceled the flights from Manila to Taytay as they currenlty only flying from Manila to El Nido. So if you go to Apulit Island, you have to fly to El Nido and afterwards you will have a land transfer of 1 1/2 hours followed by a 1 hours boat ride to Apulit Island. All what I can say is: Whatever it takes...it is worth ! You will see the true paradise! The Island, the nature, the water and colors ....just wow!!! We had a Water Loft Chalet which was fantastic for our family! Direct access to the water with Baby Sharks swimming just below our chalet. If you want to relax , this is the place to be! Food was excellent. We took every day the picnic at the West beach which so relaxing and so nicely prepared. Service is outstanding. Frank the Resident Manager is personally taking care about any guest. We will go back, for sure....back to Paradise!

Room Tip: Take the Water Loft Chalet with direct access to the water......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndyW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palawan Island hotels
26.9 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
131 reviews
18.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
24.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
87.8 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
515 reviews
71.8 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Resorts Apulit Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Apulit Island

Property: El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
Address: Apulit Island | Taytay, Palawan Island 5322, Philippines (Formerly Apulit Island Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palawan Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palawan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palawan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Nido Resorts Apulit Island 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apulit Island Resort is nestled within a pristine cove with a backdrop of sheer limestone cliffs. Apulit offers a wide expanse of white-sand beach lined with coconut trees. It has 50 cottages built over the water in traditional architecture mixed with contemporary design. Apulit Island Resort is part of the El Nido Resorts group of eco-island resorts. It is located in Taytay, northeastern part of Palawan. It takes an hour flight from Manila to El Nido, and an hour and a half van ride, or a 4-hour land trip from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Nido Resorts Apulit Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apulit Island Hotel Palawan
Club Noah Isabelle
Hotel Noah Isabelle
Resort Noah Isabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing