We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise with excellent staff service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Palawan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and requested for room 51 as we heard it's located at the end of the water cottages. We were so happy with our choice of stay because the island is amazing. So many activities to choose from such as kayaking, wind surfing, caving, hiking, island hoping, trekking and rappelling. The kids will surely have fun bec. the pool is only 4ft deep and the staff can even teach them how to create hats and stuff made of coconut leaves. The buffet meals are superb! This is the only resort place where you can find so many different species of fishes. The special ones are the black tail tip shark swimming around our cottage. I found a barracuda swimming with a group of fish, moray eels, sea turtle and different varieties of parrot fishes and corals. They also have several locations for scuba diving but snorkeling is enough for me.

If you plan to propose to your gf, there is romantic area called north cave where they can prepare a private dinner and place your question on the water with candles lit and the moon above you.

Room Tip: If you're here for a romantic get away, it's best you request for room 51 because it's l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 599 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Of all the El Nido resorts, Apulit seems to me the most interesting one. This corner of Palawan is less visited (you need a private plane and a boat ride to get there), it is simply a fabulous s place. The resident manager, Franck, is all ears to make the experience for his guests the most wonderful possible. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, always willing to accommodate you the best they can. The cottages on stilts are gorgeous. You can admire the fish from your private balcony. Scuba diving sites is just a few paces away. The beach is perfect and so is the pool. The setting is romantic, hope to return there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RinDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

beautiful island! quiet secluded cottages right on the water - amazing views! baby sharks/fish swim right under your cottage. Good dive sites and marine life! Caving experience is worthwhile. Food was very good, but could have used more snack/drink availability throughout the day rather than just meal times (drinks/snacks not included in rate). Lots of activities to keep you busy, and staff are very welcoming!

Room Tip: water cottages on the east side are great and further from the activity area (40 and ^)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

As good as it looks on the pictures. Our room was on stilts above the water and was nicely decorated and comfortable. There was no TV which I liked. Minor downside - the "double" bed was two singles pushed together.

The resort is alone on an island, so you have to be prepared to stay in one place. There was a buffet for dinner at breakfast, lunch and dinner and they would have slightly different options each day for dinner with theme nights. You could also have your table set out on the beach. There was a games room but no TV (which, again, I liked). The setting was incredibly romantic and perfect for quality time. There were about three other couple there and a family with children (who weren't noisy). It was quite honeymoon ish but I wouldn't say not to go with a mate if you just wanted to chill out by yourselves.

The staff were really friendly, remembered your name and would always do their best to accommodate requests. for example getting us batteries from the mainland and taking us on a short trek to the other side of the island when my boyf was whinging he was bored - they even lent me some diving booties to wear as I only had flimsy flip flops. If you're the type that has to do something every day the options are a little limited. There is snorkeling (with gear provided free) diving and boat trips, however no fishing as it is a protected area. I was happy to lie on the perfect beach. The snorkeling was good - but watch out for the black spiky creatures at the end of the pier before you jump off!! There was also another beach a short walk round the island where we took a bottle of wine to watch the sunset. Remember a torch for the way back though.

All in all, a lovely, relaxed, holiday.

We actually visited in March 2011 but the date option does not go back that far! 

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandyMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Frank, the French GM, is trying hard to train his staff so that guests have a 5 star experience on Apulit. Make sure you ask for a villa on the right which receives the afternoon sun. All activities are included so it's incredibly refreshing to pay your bill on check out and not be stung with hundreds of USD of "extras" as is usually the case in such resorts. We loved the staff who really tried to accommodate our needs, the island is breath takingly beautiful and the rooms fantastic, the only one drawback is that we were there for a week and we felt there wasn't enough variety at meal times, but overall a very minor gripe. We had a great time.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank travelkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights as part of our month long honeymoon. The rooms were clean although small with the bathroom being tiny. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all included and each meal was lovely and the staff would move the location of dinner on a nightly basis and there was also entertainment some nights. The hotel needs to use the sunset bar more often as the sunset was amazing. The snorkeling was great now that the hotel has a pool the days are easily passed. Some other guests did need to look after their children better as some children were left unattended at the pool. There is no gym at this resort but a good walking track. All in all though a fantastic end to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purplepanda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked a long honeymoon here. We didn't really want to be part of hustle and bustle of most honeymoon places (being one of a thousand at a resort) and at the same time wanted all the luxury, relaxation and isolation. This place was perfectly setup for that. Most guests seemed to stay around 4 nights but we had 12.
Unfortunately, when we turned up we found there was pool construction. This meant we couldn't get the room we wanted to stay in due to the pool construction noise planned, there were pool workers on the beach with the guests, they were often staring at the western women and ran jackhammer noises at breakfast and lunch. Due to our high expectations being lowered dramatically fast, we spoke with the resort manager, Frank, who was more than helpful, apologetic and went out of his way to either relocate us or compensate us and rectify the issues so no other guests would have any problems. This was done in a swift and effective manner that we decided to stay and try to enjoy the rest of our time. And we did. Once it again felt like a remote, luxury resort and we were more than able to enjoy our time. The "good for us, bad for them" part was that the resort was hardly ever full (other than around christmas time, which still could hardly be classified as busy). It meant you could almost have the west beach to yourself, there weren't loads of people on activities and all the staff genuinely remembered your name, were never frazzled by requests and there was always enough of anything (food, flippers, towels etc) for you to feel like it was your own resort.

As a warning, there are lots of plans for construction on this island - mainly because it has loads of potential to provide guests with many more amazing experiences, they just have to be built. That being said, I wouldn't consider it too much of a concern as they are very conscious about keeping the holiday makers happy and as free from issues as they can. I believe the improvements planned will only build upon what a wonderful destination it is.

For those who are worried about safety in the Philippines, Apulit Island is really set up to protect you without you feeling like your in any danger. At all times there seemed to be someone in the shadows somewhere keeping an eye out for you and your safety but it was never intrusive or obstructive.
What was also reassuring to see was that they had a well oiled machine of a emergency fire and safety system in place. They ran a drill whilst we were there for a fire emergency, told all the guests, accidentally except for us though - so for a moment there it was a little worrying to see men running around with firearms in a panic, but no other guests seemed worried, so we guessed what was going on.

We would like to thank the manager Frank for really providing us a 5 star experience and being exceptionally sensitive to honeymooners requests. We couldn't decide if he had the best job or the hardest job when it came to making people happy in such a beautiful place. We'd also like to thank Clark, one of our tour guides, who bravely helped us climb up to the rocky cross (we were the first guests to do it!) and take us over to the mainland. He was knowledgeable, honest and very down to earth.
We look forward to hopefully planning a return trip soon and are excited for the new things planned on the island for us to partake in.

Room Tip: End of either pier on either side provides privacy, but the side with the cliffs is best for night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CTandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palawan Island hotels
26.9 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
139 reviews
18.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
24.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
27.7 mi away
Cauayan Island Resort
Cauayan Island Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
119 reviews
71.8 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Resorts Apulit Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Apulit Island

Address: Apulit Island | Taytay, Palawan Island 5322, Philippines (Formerly Apulit Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palawan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palawan Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palawan Island
Price Range: $456 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Nido Resorts Apulit Island 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apulit Island Resort is nestled within a pristine cove with a backdrop of sheer limestone cliffs. Apulit offers a wide expanse of white-sand beach lined with coconut trees. It has 50 cottages built over the water in traditional architecture mixed with contemporary design. Apulit Island Resort is part of the El Nido Resorts group of eco-island resorts. It is located in Taytay, northeastern part of Palawan. It takes an hour flight from Manila to El Nido, and an hour and a half van ride, or a 4-hour land trip from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Nido Resorts Apulit Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apulit Island Hotel Palawan
Club Noah Isabelle
Hotel Noah Isabelle
Resort Noah Isabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing