We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay, until the main toilet clogged.”
Review of Mary's Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palawan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mary's Cottages
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Palawan Island
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Okay, the owner was very friendly, the owner sent a carabao cart to pick us up from the port. The beach was better on this end, and the food was good (skip the grilled chicken). They forgot to give us blankets and pillows when we checked in. There were 2 toilets but poorly maintained and one of them was clogged all the time. A roach landed on me while I was showering.

It would have been perfect if the check in was more attentive and they regularly check and maintain the lavatories.

Oh yeah, they are near the Monkey Trail but really far away from the bus/jeepney area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

My husband and I learned about Mary's Cottage upon arrival at the Puerto PRincesa Airport where we were given the cellphone number of the owner. When we arrived in Sabang after 2 hours of bus ride we were ferried to the resort by a carabao pulled carriage. We traversed the shoreline in this mode of transpo as the resort is at the farthest end of the shoreline. It was so exciting and quite different.

The cottage was a bit disappointing as there was no electricity and the bathroom leaves much to be desired. Electricity was only from 6pm to 10pm and from someone who is used to moving at night with lights on, it was quite uncomfortable to grope around in the dark at night to go to the bathroom. But this is more than compensated by the beautiful beach and scenery and the warm, and friendly staff. We even bought some fresh fish from the fishermen and asked the resort staff to cook it for us. Yummy? WE had a sumptious grilled fish straight from the sea, coconut juice and hot steaming rice, by the beach.
If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life, this is the place.

I felt like staying here forever. My husband and I felt so at peace and one with nature in this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aminocentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Me and my bf after we stay in Puerto Princesa for 1 night we go straight to Marys and it was very nice, quiet place to stay, very friendly staff, good food, nice view seeing fron the cottages, cheap rates for 5 days around $100 only include food. We had a great time during we stay in MArys. If you are only simple person you will like to stay like this place but if you want a night life this is not a place for you because it has only 5 hrs of electric power everyday using generator but we dont mind it, the important is how beautiful the beach is and the stars at night was so amazing and we never seen that beautiful stars we saw every night ever in my life, while sleeping we love to heard the waves its so relaxing and very romantic.
We stay in Marys for 5 days and we went to el nido and we went back again to Marys for another 4 days before going back to Puerto Princesa to go back home. We went back again coz we really like the place and most specially the beach and we stay in Marys. The cottages is very nice for me very simple and it was very clean the room is very basic the important is its clean, we dont mind that theres no toilet flush, no hot water as long as i can take a bath as long as i want the important is it has a water.
We love the time we stay in Sabang theres underground river and from underground we walk back to the monkey trail, mangroove for 2 1/2 hrs, it was very exciting and we have fun hiking on the jungle, theres also a falls that we walk into the rocks and all close by to Marys. We also hired a tour guide his name is Francis or they call him Tao-tao, he is very nice guy that you can trust he is the guide we hired in underground river and walk back into the jungle to Marys and going to the falls. We highly recommended him to the tourist going anywhere else in Sabang his really nice person we met in Sabang and he is also staff of Marys.
Marys was very far from the downtown of Sabang but it was very nice quiet place to stay, that is paradise beach side cottage for me and my bf..
We definitely coming back on February next year for another vacation and we know that we will having fun again in Sabang and stay in Marys again..

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhe-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

so mind-blowing and amazing....that my boyfriend just threw our things, removed his shirt and run for the sand and waves, and resurfaced shouting that he lost his glasses!! -_-

the trip going to this place was really tiring. the 2-hour wait for the jeepney to start moving was really annoying. and the road was half-cemented, half-dirt...but the view was awesome. and we interacted (sort of) with the locals.

we went to sabang for the underground river. i thought the reviews i've read were just exaggerations but i love the beach, the waves, the nature.

we ended up at mary's coz there was a guy who approached us as we took off the jeepney and guided us to mary's, he was such a friendly fellow. while walking on the long, beautiful beach, we saw how secluded mary's was. and how immaculate the place looks like. so mary's it was. and the owner (not mary anymore, but teody) was friendly too. their food was just expensive, and the drinks not cold, but i can understand since there's only 4 hours of electricity.

the cottage was duplex type, and the walls were wafer-thin, we could hear our neighbors, and i bet they could here us too. and it was cheap, just 500 pesos per night. the room was very basic. but we didn't care, we love the beach. we're definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catcherintherai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We found Mary's through friend's recommendations as well as good reviews in the Lonely Planet Palawan guide. We really enjoyed our stay. It was truly exotic in every way. The way we "checked in" was by walking down the beach until we saw the owner who just pointed us to the available cottages and we picked the one we liked most. The first one we chose had some ants, so I requested a different one and there was no problems in the second cottage.

I loved the time we spend in Sabang. There are caves, waterfalls, jungle and an underground river all close by. I highly recommend at least three nights at Mary's cottages.

Marys was by far the closest to what I imagined a remote paradise beach side cottage to be like: minimalistic in every way and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank igor_at_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

this place are so simple..i know anyone will be like it...it is great for you to stay guys...and cheap room...so relaxing place...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shai16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014
Thank Ali2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palawan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
9.9 mi away
Kahamut-An Beach & Cottages
Kahamut-An Beach & Cottages
#27 of 199 in Puerto Princesa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 12 in Port Barton
102 reviews
38.2 mi away
Modessa Island Resort
29.2 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Cottages

Address: Mary's Cottages Sabang, Palawan Island 5322, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Palawan Island
Price Range: $8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Mary`s Cottages Hotel Palawan
Marys Hotel Palawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing