We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No lights? Really?”

Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #268 of 358 Restaurants in Palawan Island
Restaurant details
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No lights? Really?”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had to find a hotel to stay at that could get us a pass for the underground river. Poor planning on our part - we did not realize how far in advance you need to get the permit. Well it turns out my girlfriends cousin/aunt/somebody runs the Taraw hotel.

When we arrived I was hoping for a shower to freshen up after the long van ride. Well, being a standard Philippine hotel the cr in our room was pretty nasty (cr - comfort room - restroom). There was no light and when I asked about it they said the power stays off until 6 PM. No. I mean no light bulb. Not on the porch, the bedroom, or the cr! So they get us bulbs, and bring a fan. But we can't use them until 6 PM. As soon as we got to sleep they turned the power back off (around 11PM?) so no fan! Are you freaking serious? You better have a flashlight for any after hours bathroom visits ha ha!

The food we had at the restaurant was pretty good. But if you ever saw the "cheese shop" skit on Monty Python you know how the menu works. You ask for something and they tell you no. Ask for something else... no. Pizza? Well... it is on the menu but it will take me an hour to make it - do you really want it? Ok, not for lunch how about I order it at lunchtime for dinner? Well... I really won't have time to make it. Then why is it on the menu?

And to add insult to injury when we got home they called us to say they undercharged us for the meals and we had to send them another p1,000.

Beautiful location, fair hotel, lousy service. The only reason I rated this as highly as I did was because the view of the beach is spectacular. But I won't stay there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tukaram_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

As part of a Palawan tour we had lunch at this restaurant. We had a great view over the water and the seafood lunch was very good. Service was acceptable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gonezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth to eat. (when there is no choice)”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I dont know how to have a review at this restaurant. . After our tour at the underground river, we headed to taraw restaurant to have some lunch. Buffet was set with variety of filipino food. The food tasted good like the adobo and the pork chop. The soup was tasteless. Free softdrinks. Vendors were allowed to sell their products while your eating. Staff are not that friendly. One was always speaking how honest he is. I don't care about your honesty sir.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor6893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
944 reviews
541 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“Budget Buffet Lunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via Local Picks

The buffet lunch was included in the price of Underground river trip from Puerto Princesa
Food was ok if basic (cheaper fatty meats used) But by the time we arrived everyone was hungry so would eat almost anything.
Food was plentiful and replenished regularly.

Helpful?
Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
“Foods from Heaven!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I super enjoyed the buffet lunch here though it's simple but the taste is heaven. I really don't know the price of it since it is included in our package but you will know that they put their hearts on their foods. I super like the chicken adobo and the soup (it was tinola but they used buko juice instead of water). The taste is original which i haven't tasted before and truly foods from heaven..We also got to taste "TAMILOK". The place is simple but very relaxing!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Sabang, Puerto Princesa
Sabang, Puerto Princesa
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
San Jose, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Taraw Vista Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing