We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceana Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

In May we went to PG for the first time. Friends had recommended us to Oceana Beach Resort and we weren’t disappointed. It’s really private and a great place to chill out. The grounds are beautiful and large and it felt great to go to sleep and wake to the sounds of the waves and with a sea breeze. The food is good, the margheritas are fantastic and its all so cheap compared to Bali or Thailand. The staff couldn’t do enough for us, and even though we ventured out a couple of times to the bars of White Beach and Sabang, I was so glad we weren’t staying there. At the end of a week we really felt rejuvenated. A few great massages by their guy there, in the cabana, topped the whole thing off.
We plan to come back to try out their new spa. Good Job Guys!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Trip:
-our transportation (c/o of Swagman Hotel) had a broken airconditioner so the 1.5 hour drive was very uncomfortable. We already complained to the driver but they just said the owner won't have it fixed
-boat ride made me more tired because of the strong waves

Oceana:
-great staff and manager, very accomodating
-food was good, good price and serving
-rooms were okay, a bit small but good for a 2 people
-place didn't look like the pictures they posted in their website but it was very quiet and serene
-beach wasn't that nice, very rocky and not nice to swim in
-30min tricycle ride going to White Beach where it was crowded but the beach was nicer

My friend and I stayed at Oceana for 3 days and 2 nights. The trip really made us tired so we slept most of the time when we got there. Overall, I think that Oceana resort can still be made better. I hope they get to do something about their beach because if it was a little more like White Beach, then their place would've been almost perfect. Their location is also isolated from all the busy beaches in the area so I'd recommend it for people who just want to chill and relax.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohmyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Yes the staff was friendly, relaxing ambiance, and thats about it, those are the only positive things in oceana beach resort. Stayed in a graden room, its small and has no tv...but if your looking for a beach with a good nice shore, this is not the place to go, dont let the pictures in their site deceive you. If you can settle for a swimming pool, a shore and beach front full of rocks (huge and small rocks) then you can settle for this one... believe me there is no sand in their area, its not a beach resort, even the price i paid just for that is too much for that experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventureseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterOceana, Owner at Oceana Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
We are sorry that you were confused by the photos on our website. The photo you are referring to is of course the beach just up from ours. However we like our little beach, as do many others as it provides snorkelling just in front of the resort. We will remove this photo from our website, in case others have the same confusion as you. Many of our guests avail themselves of our white sand, man made beach which overlooks the water, and of course our crystal clear swimming pool.
You obviously missed our big screen plasma TV in the bar for guest use.
You may wish to try one of our beachfront cottages with ensuite, balcony, and anteroom for your next visit if you require more space, than our garden rooms.

Owners of Oceana Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We had planned to stay at Oceana for four days but ended up staying for eight! It was peaceful, beautiful and we were surrounded by fantastic people. We don't know any other place that can match the level of service that Oceana offers. It is personal but also very professional. Jenny (manager) and Peter (owner) made our stay something really special. They helped us to arrange motorcycles, boat trips, barbecue evening, driving us to the village and much more!!! Everyday Jenny met us with a smile and coming back to Oceana after a day trip was like coming home.

We recommend Oceana for anyone who is after a relaxing holiday! Rooms are clean and the bungalows are very nice with the sea only meters away from the balcony. It is also very good value, both in terms of accommodation and food.
we are hoping to come back some day!
Thanks for everything J and P!!!
// Johan & Johanna
PS: We will add some photos within soon

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Gothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Oceana last March 19. We are so impressed with the beauty of the place. We even decided to stay 1 more night.
Staff are great. Specially the manager Ms Jenny. Kudos as well to all staff and crew.
They really took care of us.
Hopefully we can come back soon.. :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queensweet_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Spent a relaxing weekend in this charming resort. Away from the hustle of white beach, it's the perfect place to relax in style. Set in a lovely plot with direct access to the private beach and stunning sea views. 5 of us stayed in a beachfront cabin, with nothing but the gentle sound of the sea to disturb us.

Really friendly and helpful staff looked after us, and we enjoyed good food and hospitality throughout our stay. Peter, the new Australian owner was on hand to ensure our stay went well and told us about his plans for the place, sounds like it can only get better.

Highly recommended antidote to the madness of Manila! Within 10mins of white beach if you want to have some fun on your trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapitalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

If people think white beach is a place to play, then Oceana is definitely a place to stay.

We chose to stay in Oceana for four days to celebrate me and my girlfriend's 5th anniversary and we were very satisfied. I can't say anything negative with regard to the service, The staff are very very friendly, constantly checking if we are getting everything that we need, plus the owner, Mr. Peter Watkins who is very hands on with his business, (he was even the one who picked us up from Muelle pier and drove us all the way to the resort) It's pinoy hospitality at its best. He constantly checks on us to see if there is something that we need or we are not happy about. Plus they installed a hammock in front of our garden room, I rate their services a perfect ten.

Their rooms are very good, both for people who wants a reasonable price and for those who don't mind spending a little more to experience waking up seeing the sun rising from the sea horizon.

The beach along Dulangan is a bit rocky compared to white beach, but they provide alternatives such as the pool or a transpo. to white beach for half the usual price, (300 two-way where the usual is 300 one way if coming from white beach) through their contact Marlon who is also by the way a friendly trike driver. Should it be possible to clear the rocks there which i think is not possible since the sea bed near dulangan is naturally rocky, their beach could have been perfect. But we didn't mind since we can go to white beach if we would want to experience fine sand.

Plus guys, you can also set up a romantic dinner in one of the cabanas to spice up the romantic mood. (yes you're right, I did this.) Will definitely leave a smile on your girl's face.

As I said, Oceana is a place to stay, especially if people wants to relax away form the city, and contrary to the white beach noisy and crowded beach life, Oceana offers a serene, relaxing ambiance. Not to mention the nice trees, benches, plants, huts, which is a photographer's haven (me and my girlfriend took lots and lots of shots through her camera, I am certain you can't find those in white beach. =) )

I hope Oceana will remain as good as it is now, especially the enthusiasm of their staffs, their superb hospitable attitude, and the way they treat their guests. We're treated like kings and queens all throughout our stay.

It's bang for the buck, its great and right now i think it's one of the best resorts people should see and experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDelRosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
2.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#47 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Resort

Property: Oceana Beach Resort
Address: Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Oceana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing