We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Home in Paradise - from Lake Ozark, Missouri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2009

It was our first time at SABR and immediately felt at home with the relaxed atmosphere and "right on the beach" location. The porters and jeepney driver were immediately visible as we got off the boat. Les did a great job in welcoming us to the resort and suggested a room size that was more fitting for me, my husband, and son. Too bad none of the newer rooms were available -- will try them the next time. Room we had was a little more rustic and would have preferred a bigger bathroom and shower. Sheets were always clean and room refreshed daily. Overall okay since we intended to spend more time outside than in anyway. Lexy was the ultimate hostess by taking note of her guests needs -- even the youngest ones -- made sure my son had a special plate of sliced cheese which he loves. I had a craving for green mangoes and she had them available by the time I ordered my next meal. Great resort for families. Had lots of sand toys for kids although playing by the beach was more than enough fun for my 2 year old son. Location is far away enough from the crowd yet close enough to other areas for exploration. Food selection was sufficient and enjoyed trying a variety of dishes. Tried to hike to the waterfall but never found it so will hire a guide next time. Massage on the beach was VERY relaxing! Bar location was very convenient. I have worked for the Hotel/Resort Sales industry in the US for the past 14 years and have seen and experienced all levels of service. In my opinion, SABR staff and management TRULY understand what delivering Quality Service means. Hated to leave so will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ComfNumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 364 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed @ SABR for a weekend with the company of family and friends that I shall proclaim "The best collection of wonderful people put together in one place" ... and such the perfect place Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort was. The open hearted welcome we received from our host Ms. Lexy to the genuine smiles while being consistently served by her staff from Les, Matet , Aiza and everybody.
I have been back here in California for more than a week now and my fiance back in the UAE but we still go to bed at night wishing were back at SABR when we open our eyes in the morning...The ever different view of the sunset everyday the peaceful sound of the ocean, the classy relaxing ambience of the resort , the clean and spacious accomodations together with the beautiful people we met (little baby bella) made our vacation truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jolasCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We've been to Aninuan Beach many times before it was taken over and rebuilt by its new owner.
In the 'old days' it was a charming and secluded little resort ... but absolutely great to hang out and extremely romantic.
These days it is just another 'boutique-hotel' , meaning: you have places like that all over the world. It is nothing special anymore.

The rates are simply ridiculous. Folks from abroad might think 100 USD is cheap ... but living in the Philippines it is extremely expensive.
It is a good place if you live in Manila, you want to get out for a long week-end.... and you have a lot of money.

If you have kids and you gotta economize I suggest you go to the resort next door .... it is clean, has wonderful family-accomodation ... and very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank AyalaAlabang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway from Manila, traveling with two small children (1 and 3 years old) and Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort exceeded our expectations by a mile! The location was fantastic, very secluded with a private beach and perfect view. All rooms have sea view and come with a balcony.
The resort was very clean and well-maintained. We stayed in the Junior Suite, which was kindly offered to us by the incredible hospitable owner of the resort Ms. Lexy herself. We met her on the boat to the resort and she offered us the room at a special discounted rate, since we had two small children. The room was very spacious and came with an extra bed and a pull-out mattress as well as with cable tv and a huge terrace and a bathroom. The kids had enough space to move around and had a great time.
The staff of the resort is very child-friendly and service-oriented. Also, the food is excellent with a great selection of western and Filipino food.
We can highly recommend this secluded, friendly and very well maintained hotel and will surely come back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cosmojewel7732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My fiancee and I spent four glorious days at the Sunset Aninuan Beach Resort in April 2009. The service at SABR was outstanding, and better than resorts I have visited in the past two years in Hawaii, Cancun and Miami Beach. The Swiss-Filipina owner, Lexy, has selected and trained a wonderful staff (including Les, MT, and Nympha) who provide a level of service that is truly exceptional. The location of the resort is on a beautiful beach with turqouise water and glorious sunsets, and is adjacent to a secluded billionaire's estate (Mr. Ayala, the shopping mall entrepreneur). From the greeting by staff, to the welcoming mango drink, to the personal attention to every guest, Lexy has created an extraordinary oasis for the weary traveller. The rooms are modern and well equipped, wifi is available in the common areas, and the menu offers a wide selection of European, North American and Filipino dishes. You can dive, parasail, arrange a massage, or take a long hike to a nearby waterfall, or just chill out and swim and collect shells on the beach. The Sunset is a gem, as is its owner/manager, Lexy. I recommend the sunset to all who seek rest, relaxation and excellent service in a beautiful beach location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InSearchofExcelence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Our first trip to the Phillipines was chosen at short notice and on the basis of previous reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed with this boutique, high end resort.
We booked at short notice but had no problem with availability . Sunset have a straight forward online reservations system with clear outline of rooms available etc. After receiving the online reservation confirmation we then received a welcome email from Lexy (owner/manager and all round superstar) giving us information about transfers and general information about the resort. This was a pleasant surprise and sets a good tone for the rest of the holiday.

We chose to make our own way down from Manila which was easy to do but slightly longer i.e time spent waiting for a bus and a ferry. If time is of the essense a private minivan/boat transfer is the way to go.

When we arrived at the resort we given a friendly greeting on the beach by three of the resort staff. Our bags were taken and the key was given. There is no formal check-in you are able to go to your room sort yourself out and then in due course make your way down to the bar where you can give your details over....let the relaxation begin

The resort itself is perched right at the waters edge with only a retaining wall between you and the deep blue and has the most fantastic views....It is called sunset for a reason! The beaches are good and clean. Layed out over the front of the resort are numerous deck chairs, loungers, hammocks and other paraphernalia necessary for doing absolutely nothing! The bar is the 'hub' an inviting grass roofed building with ample seating for whiling away the hours. The resort has a good wifi connection.
Accommodation is in three joined blocks. The central block was built recently the other two blocks are older. When booking you are well aware of what room is where and can then book to suit your budget. We had a junior suite in the new block. The room was a good size, light, clean and simple. There is a small balcony overlooking the sea with a relaxing chair which is nice. There is a separate bathroom with a not-so-power shower but the water is always hot (the most important thing). Despite the a/c they have also kept the ceiling fan which adds to the ambience.

The staff are really pleasant and very helpful. If you need anything organised they will sort you out. All the non-motorised watersports are free. We liked the fact that excursions/transfers etc could all be charged to the room and then paid as a single bill at the end of the holiday.

The price for food and drink we felt were reasonable, certainly compared to resorts of a similar standard in places like Thailand. The quality of the food was generally good. The quality of the drinks was always good!

The resort is very quiet but if you want a little more noise then it is an easy 10-15min walk to White Beach. This place is crazy loads of bars, eateries and a.lot of dance music. There is also a well-stocked supermarket on the main road for topping up on tonic.

There isn't a spa but you it is easy to sort out a massage under the trees for next to nothing.

One of the best aspects of the resort is Lexy she is welcoming, helpful and fantastic company she alone is a reason to check the place out.

Would we go again - We would go this evening if we could!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jem10nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I have been to Puerto Galera lots of times and usually stayed at White Beach (I've also stayed at Coco Beach before). This time, we opted for a more secluded resort and so chose Sunset at Aninuan. the resort does not disappoint in terms of location - it is ideal as it is sort of secluded (a rock formation separates it from white beach) and so is very quiet. Our group felt like we had our very own private resort the whole time we were there! It is, however, very close to white beach, just a few minutes tricycle ride (very costly thoughh, P100 per ride) or the staff can also arrange transport using the resort's own jeepney or you canopt to walk (15-20 minutes).
They have a lot of water activities (at no added cost) - like kayaks, paddleboat, snorkeling gears. There is a huge coral very near the resort where people can go snorkeling. The resort next door offers banana boat rides.
The staff is wonderful - from the bar attendants to Les, the manager. They made us feel welcome and special from the time we arrived to the time we left . There was always someone ready to help/assist us in our needs.
The food was a bit of a letdown as it was pricey (especially for a group of 16) and not very appetizing I must say.
All in all, my experience with this resort was very good. Just make sure you choose the rooms in the new wing/building. They are much more expensive but well worth it (we stayed in one of the old rooms on our first night but moved to one of the new ones the next day).
If you're planning on going to Puerto Galera, I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asdphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
5.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
164 reviews
5.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
92 reviews
5.5 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#19 of 52 in Puerto Galera
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort

Address: Aninuan Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $93 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is on the Tropical Island of Oriental Mindoro, fronting the West Philippine Sea. With the newly built South Luzon Express Way, directly routing to Batangas Port, it's only 2-3 hours by car and ferry boat from Manila International Airport. This resort is one of the most attractive in Puerto Galera with a breathtaking sunset that made the place popular to honeymooners. Situated right on the best beach in Puerto Galera, it's just a step from your room to the crystal clear water and house reef ideal for the snorkelers. It's perfect for weddings and families with children. It has a unique combination of style, location and palm-studded arrangement of dwellings with beach front sea views. The resort has numerous room types from standard rooms through to suites with jacuzzi's and newly completed fully self contained Villa's. Nestled right on the beautiful Aninuan beach you can experience beautiful sunsets in peace while the hustle and bustle of White Beach is hidden around the corner. With the in-house dive centre, modern gym, spa, infinity pool and suites, one can easily say that it is one of the best in Puerto Galera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At Aninuan Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing