We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort with warm and welcoming service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely resort with warm and welcoming service!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I have just come back from a 4 day break at Sunset, and I highly recommend it!! There are lots of options of rooms for a variety of budgets and we chose a simple beachfront room with a view to the sea, which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The guests were a mix of young couples who we joined for a drink at the bar one evening, and a couple of families with very well behaved children. The service was outstanding, we never waited or had to ask for anything, the staff were warm, welcoming and very attentive. We did 3 scuba dives on the resort boat which were great and as it's a resort dive shop, we had the boat and dive master to ourselves. We spent evenings sipping lovely cocktails and watching the sunset. The resort is a nice 10min walk from the main strip in White Beach, if you want more bars. I would definitely recommend Sunset to others wanting a scenic, relaxing break or diving - we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie123456789x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    82
    17
    9
    19
See reviews for
143
106
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Positives: Resort facility is nice compared to others in the area. Ambiance is very relaxing. All accommodations are facing the sea. Customer service is excellent! Activities are available and varied. Location has privacy and they don't allow non-guests to stay in the resort. Scuba location is just within the resort - ideal for snorkeling!

Negatives: Food is super pricey and not even worth the price. You can take your meals outside with more choices and enjoy a delicious serving at a cheaper price. The free breakfast only includes toasted bread and fruit (or juice). It should at least include an egg. If you stay for 3 days or more, you will find it monotonous unless you order additional food which is expensive. Do not take the Old Wing (2nd floor) as accommodation. They are not being kept - dirty, creepy, very poor facility, broken door knobs, full of insects, defective aircon. Stay at the Main Building or New Wing or at the 1st floor of the Old Wing. It's even costly compared with its condition. I think this part of the Old Wing should already be decommissioned.

Room Tip: Just don't stay at the 2nd floor of the Old Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed in the resort twice already and am always blown away by their service... Which is hard to find in that area of Puerto Galera. The rooms are nice, clean and big and made up every day. Amazing ocean & sunset view from the room.

Room Tip: They all have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orbitech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Y girlfriend and I stayed at Sunset, May 4-5, and I can't explain how much I enjoyed my stayed. The staff was more than friendly and helpful and the owner was a delightful woman who was also very helpful making my trip more enjoyable. The accommodations are great and the view is just spectacular. I spent most of the day just staring out at the sea and sipping a few cold beers. Its quiet, beautiful and relaxing. Can't speak highly enough of the place, I will back frequently! *** Bonus - Forgot to mention they got a dive shop and tours on site as well! For those who aren't interested in the full SCUBA package, they have a nice reef 50M off their beach that I spent an hour just snorkeling around, it was fantastic!***

Room Tip: White Beach is a 5 minute walk or a short Trike trip down the road. This is more of the nightlife ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMFF_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sunset at Aninuan resort last April 2014.It was all good up to the point when we simply asked the owner why they cannot give in-room water bottles (considering the room price) and an option to upgrade the breakfast. The owner Lucila Niederer got so furious at us and stormed out.

Later in the afternoon, she approached us and blatantly asked us to leave the resort!! Even though we had a confirmed booking and 2 small kids in tow. Heartless!

The staff are trained to give us the cold shoulder and to look grumpy whenever they had to serve us.

Come afternoon, the owner starts drinking martinis at 4pm. By 6:00pm she's holding a bottle of red wine and is drunk by 7:00pm and starts shouting at guests and ranting. Saying things like "room 3 has another complaint! What do they know? They think they know anything? I told them to leave why are they still here?!" Apparently guests are not allowed to give any recommendation without being KICKED OUT of her resort, IGNORED and HUMILIATED.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort for the nth time for 3 nights. We're lucky with the weather, didn't expect to be luckier with free Yoga lessons from the resorts Yoga gurus who were there at the same time with us. The resorts surroundings and rooms are clean as ever, staff are always attentive and courteous. The management invited us to a boat trip without extra charge. Snorkeling equipments are readily available for a minimum fee. We will come back as soon as we have free long weekend.

Room Tip: New rooms on the new wing are pricey, old rooms are very basic, but cheaper, and same good service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charito2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I was as well staying that weekend at Sunset and was sitting at the bar when they asked for their room keys. They were friendly replied about the check in time. During the whole stay Herbacion and his family gave the impression to be "professional complainers", nothing was done right and the staff which is known to be very friendly and efficient got demoralized. Cheered them up in telling such guests unfortunately enjoy complaining the whole day, what a unhappy existence!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
5.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
161 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
5.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
330 reviews
4.9 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 52 in Puerto Galera
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort

Property: Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Address: Aninuan Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is on the Tropical Island of Oriental Mindoro, fronting the West Philippine Sea. With the newly built South Luzon Express Way, directly routing to Batangas Port, it's only 2-3 hours by car and ferry boat from Manila International Airport. This resort is one of the most attractive in Puerto Galera with a breathtaking sunset that made the place popular to honeymooners. Situated right on the best beach in Puerto Galera, it's just a step from your room to the crystal clear water and house reef ideal for the snorkelers. It's perfect for weddings and families with children. It has a unique combination of style, location and palm-studded arrangement of dwellings with beach front sea views. The resort has numerous room types from standard rooms through to suites with jacuzzi's and newly completed fully self contained Villa's. Nestled right on the beautiful Aninuan beach you can experience beautiful sunsets in peace while the hustle and bustle of White Beach is hidden around the corner. With the in-house dive centre, modern gym, spa, infinity pool and suites, one can easily say that it is one of the best in Puerto Galera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At Aninuan Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing