We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beach experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best beach experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The staff will definitely spoil you with their service. Food is also great and it's a great place to jusy relax and worry about nothing :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wiwyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    76
    17
    8
    14
See reviews for
130
100
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay a few days. It is beachfront, calm and relaxing. The staff at the hotel is very nice and take care of you. Lexi, the owner, has created a little paradise. The hotel has two parts which obviously are built in two steps and different. We stayed in the old part We had booked a standard room but got an upgrade to Delux. The room was very clean and well kept. I understand from some of the reviews that the new part has a better standard, and also that the ACs are more quite. Since we did not use our AC I dont know how noisy it would be.

All in all we loved this place.

Some advice: When you get to the Batangas Pier to get on a ferry to Puerto Galeras, it is quite chaotic. The hotel will advice you to take the Galerian Ferry Line, but chances are they do not have any departure. So remember the Minolo Shipping Lines, MSL and try to take that, otherwise Father and Son, and dont let all the guys drag you away to something else. Once you are over at the harbor on Puerto Galeras, keep your cool. There IS a free jeepney to the hotel, but there are also lots of guys that will try to fool you to take some other transportation, or make you wait at the wrong vehichle. And if you do not find the jeepney, a transport should only cost 150 Peso to the hotel, so not a big deal.

Room Tip: Close to White beach, but luckily enough not on it. Old part maybe has lower standard, but more be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bjornsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

What an amazing little slice of paradise!!! If you are thinking of travelling to the Philippines this is the place to stay!! Not only are you treated exceptionally well by the staff but you are surrounded by breath-taking views. The staff and Management should be commended for their attention to detail, including fresh flowers picked daily and placed in glass bowls scattered around the dining tables, rooms cleaned exceptionally well and even flowers on the side of your freshly squeezed juice. We stayed with our 2 year old son and were made to feel exceptionally welcome and catered for.We stayed for 10 nights and loved it. I even recommend their beautiful staff for baby-sitting as my son still talks about the staff on a regular basis. I can't believe this place is not in the lonely planet!!! We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchpop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My partner & I stayed here for 8 nights in mid March 2012. We booked the place for a relaxing getaway and to do some scuba diving around Puerto Galera.

The most impressionable feature of this resort is the warm hospitality of the staff. The upper level staff really want to encourage return business, and the general staff are exceptionally well trained.

We travelled down from Manila on the SI-KAT Bus & Ferry Service which departed City State Tower Hotel in Ermita at 8:30am, and arrived at Muelle Pier in Puerto Galera at 1pm. If you book with this resort, they will send you a lengthy email explaining all the options of how to get there. The SI-KAT option was straightforward and economical (P700 per person one way). I would recommend packing lightly (no big Samsonites) for the journey because there’s a lot of climbing over bulkheads on the Ferry (which is a big wooden Outrigger Boat). Also try to get a seat in the middle of the Boat, as I saw some people on the sides getting severely splashed! The resort will send a Jeepney to pick you up from the Pier if you arrange with them prior. From there, you can relax and let the resort hospitality pamper you!

The resort site is ideal if you’re there for relaxation, with a short distance of separation from the busy White Beach. It is beach front with the promised incredible sunset view. The owner has done a wonderful job with the design of the resort. There are lots of sun lounges, hammocks and wicker love seats overlooking the sea or their beautiful infinity pool. They want encourage social interaction, so they limit WiFi access to the bar and lounge areas, but there is no problem with that as the public areas are very inviting.

I think the other reviews about the room are accurate. We stayed in the Deluxue Room in the middle-vintage building. The furnishing was simple (bed, dresser, ceiling mounted CRT TV, pedestal fan, wall mounted air conditioner, a cot bed and a safe which was not bolted down). I think there are a few things they can do to update the facilities like the air conditioner, television and the shower. Those facilities were not to a standard that I would write home about. But the room was spacious with a nice balcony with a hammock, and the located close enough to the public area to get WiFi access. If you want a perfect, updated room, negotiate directly with the resort and book one in the brand new building; I heard they are spectacular.

The resort’s restaurant is open all day up to about 9pm in the evening. We ate most meals here, which were palatable and convenient but I recommend you venture out to White Beach for the variety. You can walk there following the water’s edge along the beach and rocks. It takes about 10 minutes. We went back several times to “Galerian Rosie’s Inn” and had incredible feasts there. Butter Garlic King Prawns with Garlic Rice was fantastic. The cocktails are great too. White Beach is very energetic during the day with shop front hawkers, and a bit nuts at night especially on weekends. There are lots of souvenir shopping to be done there. Lots of varieties of T-Shirts for P120, dresses for the girls for P200, and wicker serving trays and stubbie holders. The vendors don’t start off with a ridiculous price like in other places I’ve been to, so you don’t have to worry too much about getting severely ripped off.

Our other pastime was scuba diving. The resort has recently opened a new on-site Dive Centre and they have all practically brand new equipment. The downside is that most dive sites in Puerto Galera is in and around Sabang. It is about a half hour boat ride away from the resort (longer if there’s a head wind). Everything else was pretty much great. During our stay, we spent 3x days diving. We got the pick of where and when we wanted to go and guidance of an enthusiastic local Divemaster Edgar, and informative British Dive Centre manager Chris. The diving was very easy and relaxing. The visibility was supposedly not that great (ranging from 5m in some patches to 10-12m in most areas) but we encountered lots of small fish along with Turtles, Cuttlefish, Sea Snakes, Trumpetfish and Lion Fish. I thought we got fantastic value for money (P3,800 per person for a day of 2x Boat Dives). We got to see plenty, and the service we got from the crew left us not much to do other than get into our gear and driveroll off the boat.

We had a wonderful, memorable holiday. I would definitely return here for the exceptional service and beautiful ambience and location!

Room Tip: There are 3x classes of rooms available. Old Building, Middle-Vintage Building and Brand New Buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days this March 2012. This is the only place we will ever stay at in Puerta Galera. The views are breathtaking, the service was incredible and their staff won't accept tips. The food was delicious and the attention to detail incredible. From the floating hibiscus flowers in glass bowls on every table to the beautifully appointed outdoor furniture, to the spectacular infiniti pool that is hand scrubbed clean all day long! Free kayaking was an extra benefit we did not expect as most resorts charge for this. They will pick you up from the port and back too so transportation is no problem. The beach is very private free from the barrage of street sellers you will find at nearby White Beach (tourist trap). This resort does not even have a gift shop - though if they did - I would have definitely bought a souvenir T-Shirt that says "Sunset at Aninuan". We originally booked a room in the older part of the hotel then upgraded to a room in the new wing - definitely worth it! The room was incredibly beatiful - like a Pottery Barn commercial. And a rarity in the Philippines is a soaking tub in the bathroom which had windows for the view as well. They also make the best fresh fruit shakes in the world which my three girls enjoyed several times a day - a banana shake, a chocolate shake and a pineapple shake in tall glasses and fresh flowers and fruits garnishing for pleasure to the eye as well as the palate. Our every need was attended to. Trip Advisor might rate this hotel number 2 but Sunset at Aninuan is Number 1 to us. We will definitely return on our next trip back. - The Salang Family

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new phase of the hotel overlooking the infiniti pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort from December 30, 2011 til noontime of January 1, 2012 to spend the New Year at Puerto Galera. This is my nth time to PG, and my sister's nth time as well --- but our first time to stay at this magnificent Resort. If you ask about the cost? It is not for budget traveller. But every cent one pays is just worth it. The amenities are 5-star (it is almost heaven staying in this cozy place!!!). The Filipina owner is very friendly and warm (and that makes it even super cool staying in this place). The staffs are well trained; they ensure that your stay is as comfy as possible, while taking extra care that you're having the privacy that you well deserved.

The Resort is just a walking distance from the nightlife of White Beach, and a block away from Tamaraw Beach Resort.

On New Year's Eve, the Resort Management organized a NY Party-Countdown for a minimal fee (with overflowing cocktail and sumptuous buffet). That was fun. The Owner even danced with guests, and that was great!

Room Tip: All rooms are complete with amenities (TV, sofa, lean linens, ref, AC, etc), rates differ in size. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jewel_of_the_Nile10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

It was my first time going in to this place. I was curious because most of its feedback in the internet are all good so my fiance and I tried it. As we walk down from the boat, I'm a bit disappointed as the shoreline is not what I expected. It has a short shoreline but then when we roam around the place - my fiance and I both LOVED it INSTANTLY! The staff which is lead by Lez are all accommodating and has smiles to give! They will ALL make you feel that you're HOME. The place is very clean, good choice of the furniture's being used and a VERY NICE VIEW. The people there knows your need and are all generous enough to give them to you, no matter what. All of its room are facing the beach (which is very SERENE for us) . The food might be a little expensive but the quantity was worth it. You can have your privacy anywhere in this resort. It's not crowded and even the guests are all smiling at you. We stayed for a night but we really want to extend it another week as the place really soothes your soul, recharge your energy and makes you want to stay much longer. For us...its a PARADISE!

We will surely COME BACK again. KUDOS to Lez and all the staff there. You really don't know how your approach to other people affects their lives in a positive way. You have a way of making us feel that "everything will be alright".

Again, THANKS for a very warm welcome! Keep up all the GOOD WORK! We will certainly endorse you to our family and friends. God Bless!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rain_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
4.3 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.5 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#10 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#9 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.9 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort

Property: Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Address: Aninuan Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is on the Tropical Island of Oriental Mindoro, fronting the West Philippine Sea. With the newly built South Luzon Express Way, directly routing to Batangas Port, it's only 2-3 hours by car and ferry boat from Manila International Airport. This resort is one of the most attractive in Puerto Galera with a breathtaking sunset that made the place popular to honeymooners. Situated right on the best beach in Puerto Galera, it's just a step from your room to the crystal clear water and house reef ideal for the snorkelers. It's perfect for weddings and families with children. It has a unique combination of style, location and palm-studded arrangement of dwellings with beach front sea views. The resort has numerous room types from standard rooms through to suites with jacuzzi's and newly completed fully self contained Villa's. Nestled right on the beautiful Aninuan beach you can experience beautiful sunsets in peace while the hustle and bustle of White Beach is hidden around the corner. With the in-house dive centre, modern gym, spa, infinity pool and suites, one can easily say that it is one of the best in Puerto Galera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At Aninuan Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing