We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buri Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bamboo Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandi Divers(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Deep Blue Sea Inn(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Out of the Blue Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portofino Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lalaguna Villas(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
102
63
24
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
63
24
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villafamily villaboat rideresident managermini pooloutdoor bathroomchicken pork adoboquality dishesopen restaurantperfect summercouple massagepost valentinewhite beachmuelle portrelaxing getawaytv signaljet ski
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 204 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2009

It was a hassle free vacation at Buri Resort. The staff are all so nice and helpful. Always wearing those beautiful smile. The place is oh so clean - no mosquitoes. The massage was great! I love it. The kids love their attic room in the Family Villa. The villa is spacious and is well kept. The staff keeps the room clean and with clean linens everyday. The pool is beautiful, strategically located where you can see the sunset. If you are looking for serenity - away from the crowded beaches and loud bars, this is your place. The only downside is the variety in food. But what the heck, there are a lot of restos nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndigoGirl1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

I travelled there with a group of friends and we all had a great time! We stayed in a cabin with both an upstairs and downstairs with plenty of room to spare. The views were great and the atmospher was to die for.

We were greated by smiling faces and had juice waiting for us when we got off the boat. The hotel staff was nice enough to also put our valuables in the safe with them since the rooms did not have them.

The pool was great and the food was pretty good. Everyone seemed to enjoy it and I am a pickey eater and was able to find things to eat which was great! We also had plenty of drinks that were good too.

The hotel was very nice about arranging diving for us and one of our party members even got ceritified at Coco Beach. It was a great experience.

The hotel did try to cut some conors though. We were told we got a free boat ride with snorkling which we tried to do, but then the driver asked for money. The hotel said that was not included in the rate which didn't make sense. We talked to the manager and had it sorted out but that was a hassle.

We also had a giant spider in our room one morning that the cleaning lady was able to get rid of quickly but that was a little scary.

Internet on the island was slow but there most of the time.

A great place to stay with friends and signifacant others. I don't know that it would be as fun for children though.

The massages were amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Buri resort is beautiful! It is calm, quiet and great for a relaxing break.

The rooms/ villas were very clean and modern. We stayed in a villa with plunge pool.We brought our 1 year old daughter and yaya. They stayed in the upstairs bedroom and we had our privacy downstairs while being within shouting distance.

There's only 1 cafe that serves food which was reasonably priced offering a good variety of dishes. Locals and foreigners will love the food since it offers dishes with the Pinoy touch and yet will also appeal to foreigners.

The staff was very accommodating. The spa was not yet operational when we went. It's not wheelchair accessible. The beach is almost non existent.

The pool more than makes up for the lack of beach. It was a great vacation for my family! :) Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puffy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

While the beaches in Puerto Galera aren't the best in a country of fabulous beaches (they are a bit rocky) there is good scuba diving in the area; everyone in my party went to the Coco Beach Dive Resort and did some cool dives. LOADS of sea life and colourful coral to see, when diving or snorkeling.

Hotel lets you use kayaks for free and takes you on one complimentary boat ride to go snorkeling, although it isn't too expensive t hire a boat yourself to go do this more often (which we did).

The massages I had here were amazing and among the best I have ever had. Expensive for massages in the Philippines ($20 for an hour, or there-abouts) but good quality.

We booked through a travel agent, but I think booking through the hotel directly would have been better. Their website is straightforward, and the photos are realistic in how everything looks. LOTS of stairs, so this resort is not for the faint of heart, infirm, or elderly.

I highly recommend the Buri. I think it's by far the best place to stay in Puerto Galera. Great for a sporty vacations, but with the bonus of being a gorgeous spa too.

The Bad: huge spider found it's way in our room (but then this is the tropics) and we lost power--and more importantly air conditioning--our last night during a thunder & lightening storm.

The Good: everything else!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kate_portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Buri is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL resort. Food is good, staff very friendly and helpful. I stayed for 2 days with my daughter. We enjoyed ourselves but I would not do it again. It's good for either couples on a romantic getaway, who wouldn't mind paying the steep prices; or for a group/family of 5, which would bring down the price per head.

The first disappointment was that, despite the Php7.900 rate per night, there was no TV, radio or even clock in the room! Spending 2 days with a 12-year old and no TV is difficult, especially since it rained the first morning we were there. There could at least have been a TV in the bar or other public area. Failing that, some other entertainment such as board games, cards, magazines or books would have been welcome but they only had Monopoly. Sigh.

The second disappointment was that there was no beach to speak of. The pool area is beautiful but one tires of a pool. Again, I felt that for the price, they should have had a daily complimentary ride to a nearby beach. It cost 1,500 to rent a bangka which was really expensive for only 2. I bit the bullet and did it, anyway, or we would have been very bored hanging around the pool for 2 days .... whereas there's no problem hanging around a beach for 2 days.

All in all, a nice but very expensive holiday. Worth the price? No.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furrylamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews