We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$65
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
$65
Expedia.com
$47
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
78
49
17
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
78
49
17
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 150 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Enjoyed the week we I spent at Mermaid Resort located a short walk from the arrival/departure pier in the heart of Sabang.

Allocated the junior suite near to the restaurant / bar area, a large bedroom with ensuite and an adjoining sitting room with work desk and good wifi internet. Large door/window onto private balcony double glazed so noise not a problem.

All in all, not cheap but quality in Sabang costs, book direct with the hotel for inclusive price and breakfast included.
I would return.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank colindmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Always start with the context of "where in the world am I" for comparative sake Sabang was at one time a remote fishing village now turned into a scuba diving location mostly for men, which the nightlife caters too. Especially Asian clientele, but of course most Filipinos speak English so Westerners do fine here too. Now with that said, this is a very nice resort, well kept, with a great staff who's worked there on average for about 10 years each. The rooms and common areas are very clean, pool is great, restaurant serves great food, and service is great too. I booked a Jr. Suite?(no breakfast?? and pricey for this town, AND the Aircon (AC) in the room didn't quite cool down the room enough and they first tried to blame me for not using the remote settings properly but that wasn't the case because day 2 it was exactly just as warm even though they said they fixed it. The internet was down for a few hours without warning while they were installing something new I think in the middle of the day, while I had important things to do. They kept saying it will work in 5 minutes but it was an hour each time. They only supply you with 2 free, small bottles of water for your entire stay instead of 2 bottles per day like most hotels, then charged me 35 pesos a bottle from the fridge. Not something I've seen from other hotels. Considering I complained about the AC and WIFI they could have thrown in some free water and maybe even breakfast one day. But that's not the staff's fault...it's the onsite owner who should have stepped up. Overall though it's a great place to stay, only 2 blocks from the downtown, waterfront which you want to be away from. Lastly, they have a GREAT DIVE SHOP of their own.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny_Vegas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MermaidResort, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Hi Johnny_Vegas007,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Mermaid Resort for your accommodation and scuba diving here in Sabang, Puerto Galera. Second is we are thankful and really appreciate your review since we do encourage our guest to post their reviews on Trip Advisor.

Regarding the AC, the first time that you inform our office about the AC problem we ask our maintenance dept. to check it immediately, but upon that our reception staff on duty also gave some instructions just to make sure that the mode is correct, we are very sorry if you feel that we blame you the way our office deliver it to you, we just want to make sure if the mode is correct, but again we are very sorry. Then the second day, same problem on the AC and we ask again our maintenance to make a thorough inspection, and they did immediate clean-up of the AC.

Regarding the WiFi, we can pride our Resort in terms of internet since we are the only resort in the island offering the fastest internet for free. In that case, there were unscheduled maintenance from our provider and they did not inform us before they did the maintenance. And when we call them they said it will be up in a few minutes but end up in few hours.

Regarding the bottled drinking water, yes it’s true that there's only 2 free bottled water for every guest, but we are looking to adjust this matter in the future.

Thank you so much for your time on the reviews and we hope that you will visit us again and we can make our service even better.

The Mermaid Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

The staff was quick to help us make arrangements for a scuba diving excursion the next morning. All of the staff was very polite. Very clean restaurant, pool and surroundings, room. The food at the restaurant was delicious! The dive shop is great. The dive masters are knowledgeable and professional. The dive sites are the best I have ever been to. The prices are very reasonable. I look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 724evaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MermaidResort, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Thanks Eva for your wonderful review and high recommendation of our diving resort and professional dive crew and resort staff. We are looking forward on your return trip here. From the Management and all Staffs of Mermaid Resort would like to say a Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

The place is very homey.
Filled with Accommodating Staff and generous people.
The Food and Drinks are very good and fresh
The dive instructors are PADI certified and very helpful. They won't allow you to dive without assuring that you accomplished the guidelines set by PADI. Really really great place. Not too far from the diving spots.

Rooms are clean and the view is beautiful. Even just staying in the hotel is a bliss.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank martinnico2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MermaidResort, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Thanks martinnico2 for your excellent review! We practice Safety all the time in our operations especially in diving so every dive will be much more comfortable and enjoyable to all of our guest. And since our dive shop is just less than 5 min away from the nearest dive site so all our guest will enjoy more bottom time than travelling on boat. Again Thank you for your great review it mean a lot to us and we are looking forward on your next visit. - From the Mermaid Resort Management and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

This is a great hotel for this area. The location is ideal. It is steps away from transportation (trikes,bikes) and a quick walk to the pier and all the dive shops and restaurants. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was ok. The room is basic but clean and the mini bar is well stocked and inexpensive. The room key is a real 'key' on a large chain that you leave at the bar on your way out. I booked a penthouse room which I now regret as it is just a regular room with a larger deck. The drawback is the four flights of stairs.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MermaidResort, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Thank you John B for your great review we appreciate your feedback. Mermaid is located in the center of Sabang which is just 2 blocks away from our Dive Shop (Mermaid Divers) and some restaurant, bars, convenience store, and money changing shop. Most of our room are basic (Superior Deluxe) but as you said it is cleaned and well stocked, but we also have a larger rooms with private jacuzzi and bathtub with hot/cold running water like the Royal Family Suite and the Pool Suite. And our Penthouse which you stayed have almost same size as our Superior deluxe but the difference is that it has its own private balcony and a outdoor jacuzzi and yes it is on the top most level that is why it has a view of Sabang bay but it has a more stairs. Let us know next time you are visiting us and we will give you a range of choices for our available rooms. Just book with us directly so you can have your options. Thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews