We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"GREAT PLACE" "GREAT PEOPLE"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"GREAT PLACE" "GREAT PEOPLE"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is our 3rd stay at the Portofino in the last 2 years and it only gets better each time.(THANKS CHARLIE AND BILL (MANAGER) ).We have stayed in 3 diffrent rooms each time and all have been great but our last stay in a beach front apartment topped it off. (WHAT A VIEW !) Can't recommend this place enough.GREAT service,staff,food.location and value. My husband and I will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
13
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

My family and friends are very regular visitors to PG (UK ex-pat in Manila). The Portofino is THE place we choose to stay in PG. It’s on Small La Laguna Beach which is the “Goldilocks” location not too far from the nightlife of Sabang but far enough away to enjoy peaceful daytime relaxation and nice views.

The rooms are really apartment units that are owned (I think) by different people. So the “rooms” are really big enough to live in with separate lounge/bedrooms etc and most have their own balcony too. So it’s like having your own holiday home at the beach instead of just staying in a standard hotel room. The rooms having separate owners and have variable standards of maintenance/refurb/finishing touches but are good value for the size/price point.

Very big factors for me in choosing the Portofino are the excellent food, staff and atmosphere they create. It’s a home from home where you can treat the place and get treated as resident not just another nameless guest in a hotel. If like my wife you want a particular fish for lunch tomorrow the staff will pick it up for you at the market on their way to work and the chef will cook it. It’s not a problem just ask and make yourself at home. As a diver I like the fact it’s right by Asia Divers which is the biggest/best dive outfit in town.

If you’re looking for a quiet/secure laid-back base of operations with a big room and good food this is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talk2mrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Everything here exceeded our expectations. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. The property manager, Bill, went out of his way to assist us. It is right on the beach, with a beautiful view. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in in months. All of these wonderful attributes helped us overlook some small inconveniences, such as no toilet paper in either bathroom and a 'less than spectacular' shower. I would highly recommend this place and we hope to return to it when we have more time to spend here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nederdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

I stayed at Portofino for 5 days in November whilst doing my PADI Open Water dive course at AB Wonderdive next door.

I didn't book in advance, instead I negotiated the price on arrival and paid PHP1,500 per night for 5 nights w/o b/fast for a double room with kitchenette at the back of the building.

The rooms are a little old and in need of renovation, but they are clean and functional and for the price you pay they are fine for solo traveller or couple who dont mind. the pool is small but it's nice to have one, and the food is good (especially the fajitas!) and reasonably cheap. there are cheaper places in Sabang but Portofino is a good choice for a mid-range option if you are not too picky.

Rooms at the back are a bad place to be if the electricity goes, as the generator is at the back of the hotel...

For your diving needs, I must recommend AB Wonderdive next door.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I would like to commend the staff of Portofino, Puerto Galera, Philippines, for the great service they showed us during my in-laws, grand wedding anniversary and grand reuinion last December 28 to January 1. The hotel was clean, the food was great!! Rooms were regularly cleaned up and the safety of the things were secured. My family had a memorable experience in this hotel.

Kudos to the owner and staff of Portofino.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JunManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liv0007
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed at Portofino on a 4 diving trip at the end of September (the off season). The resort was obviously very nice about 10 years ago, but it appears that very little maintenance has been done to keep the rooms up to date, so that the resort seems quite dated. The pool is very small, but nice.

My main comments about this resort would be that the service is very slow and quite unprofessional, and the resort does not look after its guests particularly well. For the first three mornings we were there, we were awoken at 8 am by a generator about 4 feet from our room, which meant we had no choice but to get up and leave our room, as it was incredibly loud, and did not stop til after 9pm. This was apparently because there were power cuts on the island, but as the resort was almost completely empty while we were there, it was very strange that they did not offer to move us to avoid the noise.

The staff are very lax - the owner lives part time at the resort, and while we were there we watched all the staff watching TV, drinking at the bar, even letting naked babies sit on the eating area of the bar (all while guests were in the restaurant and around the pool), until the owner appeared, when they all disappeared off to look busy. Breakfast (which was included) always took at least 40 minutes, and my husband had food poisoning at the restaurant, so we ate all our subsequent meals at the Blue Moon next door and elsewhere.

Overall, I dont think we will return to Puerto Galera - it may have been a great diving spot in the past, but there are many other better spots in the Philippines for diving, and the amusements and accomodation ashore were definitely not as good as we expected.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liv0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

Portifino is on Little Sabang Beach, a 10 min walk from the nightlife and noise of Big Sabang Beach. For divers who would rather spend their energy diving it is absolutely the best spot in Sabang.

First, the physical plant is excellent. The restaurant and bar surround a lovely pool and waterfall that provides lovely views but is still isolated from the beach/street vendors that frequent Sabang. The basic rooms are quite nice but the one bedroom units which we prefer are absolutely wonderful.

Next door is Action Divers, a full service dive operation with a stable, knowledgable staff. There are three dives a day scheduled with the boat returning to the Portifino after each dive.

From Manila, Portifino/Action Divers offers a custom taxi/boat service that will get you safely to the resort with no hassel. The management will handle all details from your arrival at Manila Airport to your return. (I do not recommend public transportation especially while toting dive gear)

All this is for $72 per day double occupancy on a dive/stay package that includes 2 dives per day. Breakfast is included and lunch and dinner at the Portifino are about 295-395 pesos each (6-8USD)

As for the diving, I let my pictures tell the story

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#11 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
#9 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Property: Portofino Beach Resort
Address: Small la laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Resort is located on prime beachfront in the lovely Small La Laguna Beach area of Sabang, Puerto Galera.The Spanish-Mediterranean style buildings nestled among a grove of coconuts and other exotic tropical plantings combine to create an environment of quiet intimacy and relaxation. Our restaurant menu combines the best of Mexican, Philippine and International cuisine. Your privacy, comfort and leisure are assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portofino Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing