We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and enjoyed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Nice place and food, very smiling staff, very good service. My husband and I had so much funny! and my husband got in-love the reef area, he had so much fun watching the tropical fish, very good spot for snorkling, even we experience lots of power interruption, all in all we enjoyed on our stayed. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

I have been to Puerto Galera so many times, but this is my first time to stay in Blue Crystal Beach Resort. Everything went amazing from the moment we got off from the boat, the person in charge to pick up us going to the resort is already there waiting for us. All of the Staff are friendly and very accommodating. They always make sure that we are having a pleasant stay at the resort. Will always wanted to come back at the resort. Keep up the good works.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beautifulpetite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Pros: Staff is super friendly. Nice patios in most suites. Secluded. Good cable TV.

Cons: Rooms are shabby and need upgrading. Water pressure is unreliable during the day. No beach only a rocky shoreline. All restaurants and bars are located in Sabang or Puerto Galera necessitating the use of wheeled transportation therefore guests are dependent on either rented scooters or the "tricycle mafia" that controls the local transportation. You could walk but each town is about 1/2 hour on foot and there are no shoulders on the roads. Breakfast at the hotel is below average. Large of number mosquitoes in the rooms so it would probably be recommended that you bring a net if you don't want to wake up every morning with bits all over your legs.

Not sure why anyone would want to stay more than one day at the Blue Crystal. We made a mistake choosing it as we should have stayed in Sabang for about the same money. Everything is there anyways and you wouldn't need wheeled transport to go home in the evening.

Speaking about Sabang, if you are not into heavy drinking (drinks are very cheap and it is evident by the number of drunk foreigners warming bar stools), scuba diving or paying for the company of local girls, you are probably in the wrong place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 18, 2011

We deeply appreciate the comments guests give, since they greatly help us improve our service. There are however some question marks regarding this review. We indeed had two rooms occupied by guests from Canada. These guests were very positive, stayed for six nights, and wrote warm comments in our guest book. Their review is below in Tripadvisor.com.

Assuming that there might be a mistake in the date mentioned, we gladly reply. All guests that have sent reviews so far to Tripadvisor.com rated our rooms good to very positive. In this review our rooms are called “shabby”. If details had been mentioned, we would have taken immediate action to make changes and comply with the wishes of our guests to the best of our ability. Regrettably, this information is lacking.

Our website shows a map with our location as well as our address “Palangan”. Sabang is not mentioned as our location. When we started what has grown into Blue Crystal Beach Resort, we purposely made a choice for a quiet area, off the beaten track, but still easy to reach by road. Some people love the peace and quiet we provide. There are others who love the hustle and bustle of bars, discos, and nightlife. This is of course a matter of taste and choice. We do however not feel responsible for not being located in another area of Puerto Galera.

Mindoro is famous for its tropical rainforest and although they are amazing, this beauty comes unfortunately with mosquitoes. For that reason every room is equipped with electrical mosquito killers that do not harm humans, only insects. Although all rooms have air-conditioning, windows are shielded with screens.

Blue Crystal Beach Resort cooperates with several transporters that have provided reliable service to our guests over the years. Public transportation is regulated by the local government. If the term “tricycle Mafia” is a reflection on certain experiences, it is regrettable that this is used in this review of Blue Crystal Beach Resort. We do our all we can to provide the best possible service, but have to admit that we have no control over the experiences of our guests outside the resort.

Due to La Nina, during the first months of this year, rainfall has been unseasonably low.
This has affected the water supply and water pressure in Puerto Galera. The problem was however resolved by the typhoon during the first part of May.

The review seems to suggest that a stay in Sabang would have been a much better option; however this is contradicted in no uncertain terms in the final sentences.

In conclusion, we are deeply concerned when our guests do not feel a little happier upon check out than when they arrived. Judging from the review, we failed to reach this goal. It is not clear to us who the writer was, but may we suggest that you contact us and we will surely do all we can to make this up to you during your next visit to Puerto Galera, after all as our guest you deserve the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. The resort is about 10-15 minutes out of Sabang. Tranportation is typically a "trike" which is a little motorcycle with a sidecar. It can convey up to three small to medium sized persons. Hardy folks might enjoy a daytime walk into town but be aware of traffic on winding roads. The staff at the resort are exceptionally polite and helpful. Breakfast is very simple and somewhat palatable. I did not have dinner there. There are dozens of places to eat in Sabang and a plethora of bars and nightclubs. The resort is very quiet and peaceful as it is outside of town but be advised that there are a lot of nearby villagers who keep roosters who have a very early idea of what constitutes dawn. There is, unfortunately no beach but you can go into the water and swim. This is an excellent place to unwind for a few days but if you are interested in being adventorous and active be advised that it doesn't take much longer than that to do pretty much all there is to do in this area. Divers are advised to get a hotel right in Sabang or in Peurto Gallera as travel back and forth to diving sites would be a pain otherwise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jroy7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Excellent Service, Friendly Staff, Good Wi-fi connection,
clean room, quiet , excellent cant complain...
a little off site from white beach but they have good access to thier own beach and snorkeling area.
will come back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: room 6 end unit room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wansapanatym74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Blue Crystal Beach Resort is really beautiful. We loved de set up of the garden, de design of the buildings, and the cleanliness of the rooms. This resort has very friendly and absolutely accommodating staff. Another "plus" is that the rates are more than reasonable. We are definitely going and we will recommend this resort to all our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg110600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The Blue Crystal Beach Resort is a quiet gem set in a seaside tropical garden. The "home away from home" vibe begins the moment you are greeted at the entry and escorted to your room.

The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. Diving excursions are arranged (through Badladz Adventure Divers in Puerto Galero ... Micky runs a great dive shop, competative prices, quality dive gear, talented and friendly staff, free transportation to/from the resort) by Roselyn ... just drop by the front desk and let her know when you want to dive (motorcycle rentals and other excursions are arranged just as efficiently and conveniently).

The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable (dark carved woods, marble/rock floors and vanities, safe, quiet mini-fridge, quality aircon, ceiling fan, double french doors opening to the entry balcony with table and chairs).

Dining in the 3rd floor ocean/garden view restaurant and bar (incl. a billards table) was a pleasure ... the food was good, plentiful, and reasonably priced for a resort located 3 km out of town.

The grounds and pool are immaculately maintained, but there is no beach as the resort is fronted with a low seawall (the fish rich coral gardens directly in front and to the right of the resort beg to be snorkeled). I enjoyed the pleasant grassy area adjacent to the pool and seawall, surrounded by palm trees and flowers with padded lounge chairs and fresh beach towels set out each morning ... a perfect spot to spend the day relaxing to the sounds of lapping waves and rustling fronds.

The Blue Crystal is a romantic place ... I plan on returning with my girlfriend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedwoodRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
1.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
165 reviews
5.9 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 54 in Puerto Galera
136 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#27 of 54 in Puerto Galera
94 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bamboo Beach Resort
Bamboo Beach Resort
#44 of 54 in Puerto Galera
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Crystal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Crystal Beach Resort

Address: Palangan | Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $41 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Crystal Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Crystal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Crystal Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing