We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but not much else good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great staff but not much else good”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Pros: Staff is super friendly. Nice patios in most suites. Secluded. Good cable TV.

Cons: Rooms are shabby and need upgrading. Water pressure is unreliable during the day. No beach only a rocky shoreline. All restaurants and bars are located in Sabang or Puerto Galera necessitating the use of wheeled transportation therefore guests are dependent on either rented scooters or the "tricycle mafia" that controls the local transportation. You could walk but each town is about 1/2 hour on foot and there are no shoulders on the roads. Breakfast at the hotel is below average. Large of number mosquitoes in the rooms so it would probably be recommended that you bring a net if you don't want to wake up every morning with bits all over your legs.

Not sure why anyone would want to stay more than one day at the Blue Crystal. We made a mistake choosing it as we should have stayed in Sabang for about the same money. Everything is there anyways and you wouldn't need wheeled transport to go home in the evening.

Speaking about Sabang, if you are not into heavy drinking (drinks are very cheap and it is evident by the number of drunk foreigners warming bar stools), scuba diving or paying for the company of local girls, you are probably in the wrong place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Blue Crystal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
We deeply appreciate the comments guests give, since they greatly help us improve our service. There are however some question marks regarding this review. We indeed had two rooms occupied by guests from Canada. These guests were very positive, stayed for six nights, and wrote warm comments in our guest book. Their review is below in Tripadvisor.com.

Assuming that there might be a mistake in the date mentioned, we gladly reply. All guests that have sent reviews so far to Tripadvisor.com rated our rooms good to very positive. In this review our rooms are called “shabby”. If details had been mentioned, we would have taken immediate action to make changes and comply with the wishes of our guests to the best of our ability. Regrettably, this information is lacking.

Our website shows a map with our location as well as our address “Palangan”. Sabang is not mentioned as our location. When we started what has grown into Blue Crystal Beach Resort, we purposely made a choice for a quiet area, off the beaten track, but still easy to reach by road. Some people love the peace and quiet we provide. There are others who love the hustle and bustle of bars, discos, and nightlife. This is of course a matter of taste and choice. We do however not feel responsible for not being located in another area of Puerto Galera.

Mindoro is famous for its tropical rainforest and although they are amazing, this beauty comes unfortunately with mosquitoes. For that reason every room is equipped with electrical mosquito killers that do not harm humans, only insects. Although all rooms have air-conditioning, windows are shielded with screens.

Blue Crystal Beach Resort cooperates with several transporters that have provided reliable service to our guests over the years. Public transportation is regulated by the local government. If the term “tricycle Mafia” is a reflection on certain experiences, it is regrettable that this is used in this review of Blue Crystal Beach Resort. We do our all we can to provide the best possible service, but have to admit that we have no control over the experiences of our guests outside the resort.

Due to La Nina, during the first months of this year, rainfall has been unseasonably low.
This has affected the water supply and water pressure in Puerto Galera. The problem was however resolved by the typhoon during the first part of May.

The review seems to suggest that a stay in Sabang would have been a much better option; however this is contradicted in no uncertain terms in the final sentences.

In conclusion, we are deeply concerned when our guests do not feel a little happier upon check out than when they arrived. Judging from the review, we failed to reach this goal. It is not clear to us who the writer was, but may we suggest that you contact us and we will surely do all we can to make this up to you during your next visit to Puerto Galera, after all as our guest you deserve the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. The resort is about 10-15 minutes out of Sabang. Tranportation is typically a "trike" which is a little motorcycle with a sidecar. It can convey up to three small to medium sized persons. Hardy folks might enjoy a daytime walk into town but be aware of traffic on winding roads. The staff at the resort are exceptionally polite and helpful. Breakfast is very simple and somewhat palatable. I did not have dinner there. There are dozens of places to eat in Sabang and a plethora of bars and nightclubs. The resort is very quiet and peaceful as it is outside of town but be advised that there are a lot of nearby villagers who keep roosters who have a very early idea of what constitutes dawn. There is, unfortunately no beach but you can go into the water and swim. This is an excellent place to unwind for a few days but if you are interested in being adventorous and active be advised that it doesn't take much longer than that to do pretty much all there is to do in this area. Divers are advised to get a hotel right in Sabang or in Peurto Gallera as travel back and forth to diving sites would be a pain otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jroy7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Excellent Service, Friendly Staff, Good Wi-fi connection,
clean room, quiet , excellent cant complain...
a little off site from white beach but they have good access to thier own beach and snorkeling area.
will come back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: room 6 end unit room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wansapanatym74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Blue Crystal Beach Resort is really beautiful. We loved de set up of the garden, de design of the buildings, and the cleanliness of the rooms. This resort has very friendly and absolutely accommodating staff. Another "plus" is that the rates are more than reasonable. We are definitely going and we will recommend this resort to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg110600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The Blue Crystal Beach Resort is a quiet gem set in a seaside tropical garden. The "home away from home" vibe begins the moment you are greeted at the entry and escorted to your room.

The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. Diving excursions are arranged (through Badladz Adventure Divers in Puerto Galero ... Micky runs a great dive shop, competative prices, quality dive gear, talented and friendly staff, free transportation to/from the resort) by Roselyn ... just drop by the front desk and let her know when you want to dive (motorcycle rentals and other excursions are arranged just as efficiently and conveniently).

The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable (dark carved woods, marble/rock floors and vanities, safe, quiet mini-fridge, quality aircon, ceiling fan, double french doors opening to the entry balcony with table and chairs).

Dining in the 3rd floor ocean/garden view restaurant and bar (incl. a billards table) was a pleasure ... the food was good, plentiful, and reasonably priced for a resort located 3 km out of town.

The grounds and pool are immaculately maintained, but there is no beach as the resort is fronted with a low seawall (the fish rich coral gardens directly in front and to the right of the resort beg to be snorkeled). I enjoyed the pleasant grassy area adjacent to the pool and seawall, surrounded by palm trees and flowers with padded lounge chairs and fresh beach towels set out each morning ... a perfect spot to spend the day relaxing to the sounds of lapping waves and rustling fronds.

The Blue Crystal is a romantic place ... I plan on returning with my girlfriend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We have been to this beach resort several times already... we always come back because it's truly a home away from home. At first, we always talk about going some place else... but in the end, we always end up deciding to come back to our Castle by the sea. Why waste time wondering if that other place will be as nice as Blue Crystal when we already know by experience that Blue Cystal gives us the best experience. The rooms are clean and nice... not just nice but grand in Blue Crystal way... the whole place is well maintained, and very clean... The beach although not as sandy as other beaches around Puerto Galera, is really enchanting because of the corals and the fish swimming around which on a nice sunny day is really visible... plus the staff always treat us very special. The people working there always find a way to accomodate every guest's needs. Lastly, the price is very reasonable. I'd say, for all these reasons... Blue Crystal will always charm us to come back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geldelrey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I can't say enough about my visit to the Blue Crystal Resort. We were greeted by the friendly staff, and escorted to our room. Their friendly and sincere attitude was evident from the first moments we arrived. The level of service was unparalled, and any need or want we had was provided. They arranged for all my diving, as well as helping with transportation. The food and service was first rate, and the staff, attentive without being intrusive. Each day our room was spottlessly cleaned, and the rooms are well appointed. I highly recommend this resort for people who want to get away, to a quiet place and be content. The beauty of the resort is its isolation from all the hussle and bussle of the town or Sabang. Yet both places are just minutes from the quiet solitude of Blue Crystal. I was very happy I made that choice. For novice swimmers and snorkelers, the reef in the small bay has many varieties of fish and is easily accessible. Most days the water is flat and very safe. I will definitly visit the resort again, and look forward once more to visit my new "family"!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybersinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
1.5 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 52 in Puerto Galera
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 52 in Puerto Galera
294 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Puerto Galera
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Crystal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Crystal Beach Resort

Property: Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Address: Palangan | Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Crystal Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Crystal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Crystal Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing