We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Coco Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Beach Island Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed June 3, 2008

I stayed in Coco Beach with my girlfriend for 2 nights/3 days May 2008.

We ended up booking the De Luxe rooms and our package was for P 8,300 nett inclusive of taxes, surcharges, breakfasts and round trip transfers from Manila.

The "room" was basically a small, 25 sqm cottage made from local materials, very basic, but cute located about halfway up the hill. All of those type of rooms have an unobstructed view, and so catch the breeze very well.

There was no air-conditioning, no tv, no hot water and you couldn't brush your teeth with the tap water, as it had a funny taste. All these things in and of themselves are not really a problem because they did have a fan and the room is airy enough that you don't need air-conditioning; as for the TV, you wouldn't need it at the beach; the water was quite warm immediately after sunset although very cold in the evenings; and they did give you bottled water you could use to brush your teeth.

At the same time, I felt that for the amount of money that they were charging, it was really basic. I don't mind paying the money as long as I know that I'm getting my money's worth. I just felt that I wasn't.

On that issue, they rent out snorkels and even charge you for the rental of beach towels. For what we were paying, and the fact that they lack certain expected amenities, they could have just tossed that in. Which, other resorts do in Anilao (about 1 hr away by banca). Also, the food was overpriced and quite lousy (although in fairness, the decent-looking restaurants in Sabang seemed similarly overpriced). All in all, I felt that they were milking me for money.

They have their own private beach front, which is good for sun-bathing, but the waters directly in front of the resort are very shallow, at best 1 meter during high tide. You'd have to go quite far out to have a decent swim.

We're not divers, so I can't really comment on that aspect of their services.

In the end, Coco Beach is still a better resort than any located on the beaches of Sabang, Small La Laguna, and Big La Laguna; strictly because the waters of those beaches seemed rather dirty. I hope to find a better resort though in Puerto Galera.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank boyprangko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Coco Beach Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 418 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2008

it was the trip for bonding for my high school friends when we stayed at Coco Beach in Puerto Galera for three days. the food was great, the place wherein we stayed in are nice but the downside is that you can hear what was going on your neighbors suite when you're showering at the comfort room.

unlike other Coco Beach guests, we didn't have any roaches crawling at our standard room. what i like the most in staying at our room is the delivery of bottled distilled water for three days, the use of towels and the free coconut products on our room.

one thing i don't like is that the food costs more unlike in the White Beach which offers affordable lodging with the fact that White Beach is a public resort. Coco Beach is a private resort and the reason why there are so many foreigners making their stay in the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank magikarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

After reading the reviews on TA I was very pleasantly surprised by Coco Beach. We stayed in a delux cottage on the side of a hill with a great view and a real feeling that we were staying in a forest. The cottage was not luxurious but the native materials, open feel with the balcony and seating areas, and views made this a really nice place to spend a few days. Swimming pools were nice but a little chilly and food was also pretty good with plenty of choice. The "family" that looked after our cottage and ourselves were really friendly and helpful and servce otherwise in the resort was ok. Beach was not amazing but certainly fine for a swim/sunbathing. This is a good place to go for a few chilled days break 3 hours from Manila. Do not go if you can't survive without tv/steaming hot shower etc etc.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mjw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

I stayed here with three other co-workers. It is a beautiful location. Our room was halfway up the hill. We rented the room with "natural" air conditioning. However, we didn't really didn't notice. During the day, we were on a boat or at the pool and at night the breeze was all we really needed.

It is more in an area known for diving, so the beach is as beautiful as some others I've seen. However, any beach is good enough for me.

The only thing that I didn't like was the mosquitoes. This is not really the hotels fault, though. Two of us got eaten alive and that was with the mosquito nets around the beds. The other two got one or two bites. I guess the mosquitoes didn't like them. :)

It was a very relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omahanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Me and my boyfriend always stays in Puerto Galera coz we are both divers. Weve been to a lot of places and resorts there. So, we decided last feb 2006 to try the private resort Coco Beach..We just dropped off there from a boat trip from the near beach the Big La Laguna where we came from that time.

I was amazed with Coco Beach at first sight, not knowing anything about the place. So we booked a room. I think its the next to standard. Their room rate is really expensive! And its not worth the room...Its native and all that but u can hear the conversation,(and even whisper) of the room next to you..Its not good for us..And the bathroom???!!! EEEeeewww,its moldy and dirty..So, my bf was shocked!! Is this it for what we paid for!! Thats what he always told me..And not only that, in some resorts with this overpriced they have, internet or wireless connection is a privilege or bonus to guest, and thats what we thought that time..Then when we checked out, we were surprised to have almost 3,000 php additional bill from using internet connections,(the wireless), and they didnt even told us when we asked that we have to pay everytime my bf opens his laptop and use the connection.Anyways, we just paid it(no choice , right)..Their food was just ok. Not much to choose from..

But yes, they have nice facilities like the swimming pool! I love it! And the happy hour they have! I love it too..The beach is nice..Quiet and romantic at sunset..The massage is very good! And they have many things they can offer to their guest..

The only biggest disappointment for us is the overpriced room!! ITS NOT WORTH IT..

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Divers2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

I loved our stay at the Coco Beach Resort, it's more for the family atmosphere and couples looking to relax and get away from it all than for the hearty party going people. There's snorkeling, diving, jet skiing and I heard that if you want more of the nightlife type of experience you can get a boat to take you to another part of Puerto Galera for partying. All in all, it was a great experiance for us and we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Loganc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We recently discovered this site and felt that though our beach trip was in July 2006, our experience should be shared in the hopes it doesn't happen to anyone else. Before discovering this site, we were just spreading it by word of mouth.

We had looked at the Coco Beach Web site and had heard praises from friends about the resort, so we were excited to go. Our stay turned out to be terrible.

Our room looked half-finished as some portions were left unpainted. Our linens were also inadequate, just a thin layer of sheet for bedding and a thin blanket. Walking around the resort you could also notice some things in disrepair. They had a mini gym that looked like it had gone to seed.

Though they advertised different eating locations, it turned out there was only one menu. That did not give you much choice. The food was also only average.

We spent our days by the resort's Silent Pool -- situated away from the main resort supposedly to ensure optimum relaxation. Despite the rules posted by the pool telling guests to respect the serene atmosphere, they did not. We had to regularly tell the pool attendants to call the attention of rowdly families.

The hygeine of the place and the staff also left much to be desired. The resort has this concept of "service family," where the local community is hired to attend to guests. Rooms are assigned to the families for service and care. The resort boasts of this system. The brochure/resort guide book stresses that the families do not have proper training, but the resort relies on their innate hospitality to ensure the pleasant stay of guests.

We do not believe you can run a resort without proper staff training! Staff need training in customer service and in maintaining appropriate cleanliness.

We had several big cockroaches -- the flying kind -- in our room. Unable to kill them on our own, we called upon our service family. Instead of finding them and killing them, they sprayed our whole room with insectised! We were horrified. When we complained to the management, they apologized and offered us free drinks at the bar while our room was aired out. They had no more air-conditioned rooms to offer us, so we could not be placed anywhere else. We certainly did not want to take any of their open-air rooms. If bugs could get into airconditioned rooms, what more in the naturally-ventilated ones?

Upon returning to our room later, we discovered the creatures were still there. The insectiside did not work. We literally had to keep nagging and promising huge tips to our service family in order for them to upturn all the furniture to get the roaches. We even demanded that we be shown all the dead bodies to be certain that they had done their job. Even then, we spent a restless and sleepless night, fearing what else could be lurking in our room.

Overall it was a most stressful and horrible experience. We felt we needed another vacation just to relax from our vacation! Though the manager apologized and gave us a discount upon checking out, we still felt that this was not enough. Our unpleasant experience should not have happened in the first place. We certainly will not return. We do not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sealye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.6 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 52 in Puerto Galera
66 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 52 in Puerto Galera
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Island Resort

Address: Behiya, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines (Formerly Coco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $55 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Beach Island Resort is a sprawling 10-hectare beach resort with facilities made from all-natural materials... Everything is designed to compliment each facility and its natural surroundings. Definitely, an idyllic place to recharge frayed nerves, with its cozy ambience of bamboo and nipa hut in its very Filipino type of hospitality and accommodation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Coco Beach Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Puerto Galera
Coco Beach Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing