We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Utopia Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Utopia Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here over the weekend last April. We had a bit of a problem with the AC at our cottage during our first night. The staff gave us another cottage with no additional charge. They had it fixed the following day (with timely updates), and it was smooth-sailing from then on. The staff were all so helpful, and friendly! Very idyllic place, especially if you prefer tranquil surroundings after the night out at White Beach. Will definitely come back if we plan another weekend recharging.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyeena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 nights in early April. We truly enjoyed our stay and the owner and his lovely wife along with their dedicated staff made sure of that. Our little cottage did not have the beautiful views that the other rooms have, but it is very private and we got to save a few bucks to spend on other things. We enjoyed the food which was of fine quality and variety. My gf enjoys having room service which was always good during our stay. It was nice to have the hotels transportation available, as they will take you to many of the beaches free of charge. Utopia does have it's own little beach, but it is quite a trek to get to and from. Puerto Galera and the Utopia Resort are not the easiest places in the world to get to either, but it was worth the trip for us. At the end of our stay it really felt like we had made a whole lot of new friends and I hope to go back and visit them again very soon.

Room Tip: The cottage we stayed in was a little close to the road, but was not an issue for either of us sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in the Utopia over Easter and had a great time. It was so peaceful compared with the drag of hotels along the main Sabang seafront. A free shuttle takes you in and out very conveniently.

We have 2 small children and the lawn was perfect for them to run around in. The pool was lovely and the hotel even had mountain bikes for us to take out to the trails. The staff were really friendly. You get free drinks at Happy Hour, and the food portions in the restaurant were huge.

There are not many high quality hotels in PG, and I would definitely recommend this place for families and couples. So much nicer than staying in Sabang!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC-HK-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I love it there and I will keep coming back!
Why? I find it very exclusive. I've been around the globe vacationing at the finest hotels and it was a pleasant surprise that Utopia is similar or probably better.
Go around and look if you will find a hotel with very personalized service where the owner Kelvin himself will welcome you on your arrival and his wife to personally oversee your lunch and dinner being served well.
The food is not one of the finest but very good. Well they charge you extra for additional coffee and all but hey no complaints there.
The place is a hideaway on the hill which is the allure of the hotel and yes the view is simply spectacular. Go around the property and you will find a beach down the other side. You will also find yourself doing "assault" a term in mountaineering where you trek a straight incline. Its awesome: rest, mountain adventure, and beach experience. I like snorkling so i did and found s tiger fish. Is that not to like???
The pool is very private. Did i go skinny dipping? Sshhh we did.
The hotel room is not perfect with the hotwater being well " hot" but with your aching bod after all of that adventure again no complaints.
Its really all of the chat with the owners that makes you feel being welcomed to their family.
So ... go visit!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Estudio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

After a few days of staying at a wonderfully rustic place out on Pandan Island, we felt truly pampered at Utopia. We stayed for 2 nights in mid-Jan 2014. As noted by other reviewers, it is not within walking distance of Sabang, which suited us just fine (we were in Puerto Galera for diving and snorkeling). The Rose cottage had everything one could ask for - great bathroom with hot water, comfy bed, FAST WiFi, vaulted ceiling, even some office supplies! Views from the property are amazing, the staff was warm and helpful. We had only breakfasts there. Hubby went with a large Western-style breakfast both mornings, but I urge anyone to try the bangus (milkfish) with garlic rice. I had it both mornings and it was stellar! Brewed coffee felt like a luxury.

On a personal note, the owner, Kelvin Bruce, went out of his way to help us. We ran into him in town at dinner in Sabang on our last night and we had a fantastic time chatting with him and hearing about his philanthropic work in the Philippines. On our way back to Manila, Utopia arranged a van to take us to Aquino airport. Hubby left his pricey prescription sunglasses in the van. He emailed Kelvin and immediately got an answer that the glasses had been found. Kelvin had them couriered to our next destination in El Nido. Of course, he would not take any money from us to cover the courier cost - that's just that way Kelvin rolls, I think. We are grateful to have met Kelvin and hope to see him again on our visit to the Philippines!

Room Tip: The Rose and Lily Cottages are close to the driveway/road so light sleepers might want to choose one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Quite expensive for a typical Filipino citizen, but it was just right because the view was majestic.
I had really an amazing stay here. The hotel staff were nice, the owner was very accomodating, all of the foods were good. The best part is the another view from my room. Though their pool was not that well maintained, it was fine for me I just enjoy the view :) This is best for newly weds! Very peaceful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My Husband, Son, Daughter-in-law and I stayed at Utopia Resort and Spa overnight on 16th October 2013 to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and my Birthday the following day. We had a wonderful time - stunning views, beautiful, comfortable accommodation and friendly staff.
Great place to unwind away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas.
Relaxing Spa facilities too.
The whole place is highly recommended for your next celebration, weekend away or an even longer stay - your every need will be catered for:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.9 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#10 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#21 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#15 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort & Spa

Property: Utopia Resort & Spa
Address: Barangay Palangan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Utopia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Utopia Resort & Spa .a luxury Five star resort in Puerto Galera!Philippines Utopia Resort & Spa is perched on top of the hill at Palangan, the first Barangay on the peninsular of Puerto Galera. Showcasing the most awesome views South-East across Varadero Bay onto the misty slopes of the majestic Mount Halcon and West across one of the most beautiful bays in the world, Puerto Galera harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Utopia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing