We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of bedbugs, credit card charge,100 step steep stairs and poor service”
Review of Amihan Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amihan Del Sol
Ranked #18 of 53 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The rooms are very spacious. Their bathroom is great also, especially the bathtub. You just have to be careful with large spiders, a lot of ants, other insects but most of all, beware of bedbugs! I came home with around 15- 20 bedbug bites..now it has scars and could not wear anything but pants! Same thing with my husband and son.You also have to be careful going up, especially at night time because it is dark and the stairs are steep and no handles. No one will also help you carry your bags when you arrive and leave...even if I called them to let them know we are on our way already. If possible, record your conversations with the owner. When I was booking, I asked the owner if I will pay the same price if I use credit card. She said yes! But when we got there, she was denying that and told me that it is the same price, it is just that there is an additional charge and told me that there is a nearby ATM where I can get cash. Just be careful when you are talking to her. Another thing, their last call for room service is only at 7pm and will only start serving breakfast ( which is only toast bread & jam..everyday!) at around 830am..so when you get hungry, you're dead! They do not have refrigerator and they do not allow to bring food inside your room. You will have to go up & down their steep 100 plus steps and take a 200 peso tricycle ride back and forth just to get food. If you are planning to just stay in your room and not tour puerto galera, this is the best place. If you are fit enough to go up and down 100 plus steep steps while carrying your luggages, this place is for you. If you are on a diet and would not mind skipping dinner and breakfast, go ahead and book in this hotel. Lastly, if you are conservative and like wearing pants and would not mind having a scarred legs from bedbug bites and insects, this is the best place for you!

Room Tip: Pick the bed that has no bedbugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrs_fmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here last Easter with my boyfriend and his brother and his newly married wife for part of their honeymoon. They married in Tagatay in a restaurant over looking a Volcano. When we arrived in Puerto Galera the lady that owns Amihan Villa picked us up and we walked up steps to the villa we could not believe the view we saw over looking the ocean. The villa was spotless, spacious and modern. Had a nice pool with jacuzzi. Bedrooms had air condition. Free Wi-fi. We had the whole villa to ourselves as my brother in law wanted it to be just us. The staff were amazing throughout the whole stay. They made us feel save like we were family and took us on day trips and cooked us a bbq. Jr made some amazing meals we still talk about. The beach was about 10mins walk. This would be an ideal place for a group or famiy. There was 5 bedrooms so 10 people could go.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are good. We choose the two top ones because of the view but we were never in them beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louitob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

we were 13 all in all and we got the whole place to ourselves. Which then allows us to be as noisy as we want inside the house or in the pool. Its a place to return and we all said one way or another some of us will go back to enjoy the villa again.
food is great, JR was soo accomodating with our wants- food preference. Althought each meal per person cost us Ps.250.00.
yes, be prepared to walk up the villa form the road. I got a lot of exercise going up and down.
but as we said, it was all woth it. thank you for building that place in Puerto Galera.

Room Tip: All the rooms face a grand view of the sea, so no need to be picky about the rooms. Of the 5 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baliji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We rented all of the 5 rooms so its very suitable for a big family.or group. Very windy even in the summer. Located on a hill, very private with a nice view of the sea and mountains, steep steps going there. Not suitable for the unfit. Also Not beach front but the short walk to the beach is refreshong. Away from all the noise and crowd. There is a Pool but maybe small if you are sharing woth strangers if u are not renting the whole villa. rooms and bathrooms are big for 4 pax. Food is okay. JR is very accommodating and friendly,will attend to all your needs. We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay bec We diDnt have to navigate our way bec of JR

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iyad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Amihan villa was a very pleasant surprise. Probably better than we saw on the website.Lovely comfortable and spacious room with great views. Outstanding staff , super friendly and helpful particularly Gwen & Aldan.Nothing was a trouble to them and always happy and smiling.
The only improvements would be a small fridge in the room for drinks and to be able to open a window so as not to need the aircon. Otherwise perfect!
Beware it is up a hill with lots of steps ,hard work but worthwhile. Also has a lovely pool overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooma and all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It is my first time to go to Puerto Galera and Amihan Villa is a perfect choice if you want to relax and enjoy the view. This is located on the hilltop of Puerto Galera and a few minutes to White Beach.

In order to get to the Villa, you need to use the stairs. I am not athletic nor do not perform any exercise, so I find it so tiring to use their stairs. But don't worry coz when you reach the Villa... It is breath taking and all worth it! It is like a white glass house with a lot of verandas.

They will give you a welcome drink (iced tea) while you are resting in the veranda where you can see the view of their pool, the beach and a lot of trees.

THE ROOM
They only have 5 rooms, 3 from the pool side and 2 from the top. Since we are lucky enough, we occupied one the room on top with the beach view. I was amazed when I entered our room, it is big with a lot of windows. (I want to have a room like this :))

What can you see inside the room?
Queen Size Bed with 2 Pillows and 2 throw pillows
Blanket (No comforter)
2 lamps
Split type aircon
One chair
Flat screen TV

THE CR
Let's face the fact that we do love comfort rooms. That's why it is called "Comfort" room because we want to be comfortable every time we are here. Well, you will not get disappointed in Amihan Villa! The cr is perfect and spa inspired... They have a shower room with glass covered and a big shower head just like in a spa, a separated bath tub, a toilet bowl, a cabinet and a wash sink. The hot and cold water is really good too! It is not like any other hotel that when you used it, it will suddenly turn cold while you are using the hot water. Overall, Two thumbs up for the comfort room!

THE VERANDA
From the right side of the bed, you'll gonna see a sliding door going to the veranda. It has 2 chairs and a coffee table. You can spend your time here sitting down and just enjoy the beach or the pool view. Two thumbs up too!

THE FOOD
The food is yummy too although it is somehow pricey. The free breakfast is only two pieces of toasted bread (wheat bread i think?), a butter, a jam and a choice of coffee or tea. So for me, who loves heavy breakfast, I need to order an extra Filipino breakfast for Php 160. I ordered tocilog, the tocino is ordinary like Pampanga's best taste but the their rice is so yummy whether plain or fried rice. For the fried rice i think they used butter rather than oil. We also tried their garlic shrimp for lunch which cost Php 300. The shrimp they used is big and it is 4 pcs with one cup of plain rice. For the cornsilog, the corned beef is not that special, something like Argentina so I suggest you try the other food. Overall the food is yummy but if you are in a tight budget it is not advisable.

THE POOL
The Villa has a pool and the water is somewhat cold. But try to use it and swim :)

THE DOWNSIDE
If you are a party goer and who loves to mingle you definitely need to go to the White Beach. Since the location of the Villa is on the hilltop, you have two options:

Option 1: Walk
I'm not sure how many minutes it will take to go to the White Beach when you walk but for sure it is far and at night it is super dark and some barking dogs on the road

Option 2: Ride a Tricycle
This is the downside of this place. The cost of the tricycle going to the White Beach is Php 100. The Php 100 is a special trip which means the receptionist will contact a tricycle to pick you up in the Villa (the tricycle is not affiliated or property of the Villa). Or you can walk from the Villa until you reach the bridge and wait for a tricycle that will cost you Php 15-20 per person.

Note:
Be careful on some of the tricycle drivers there when you go back to the Villa from the White Beach coz they will ask Php 150. In case you experience some bad drivers, make sure to get the body number of the tricycle and report it.

OVERALL
I will definitely go back to this place and highly recommended! What you paid for is all worth it... I shared some pics for you to see... Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_ZWorld_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank XPERIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
5.4 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 53 in Puerto Galera
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 53 in Puerto Galera
167 reviews
5.8 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 53 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 53 in Puerto Galera
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#8 of 53 in Puerto Galera
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in Puerto Galera
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amihan Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amihan Del Sol

Address: Aninuan Brg, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 1008, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $67 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amihan Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Amihan Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing