We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge servings, could be reheated for later consumption for free”
Review of Luca's

Luca's
Ranked #18 of 73 Restaurants in Puerto Galera
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge servings, could be reheated for later consumption for free”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Boyfriend and I stayed in this resto's lodge for an entire weekend and we can say that the food is ok. It's not something to die for, but still worth it and enjoyable. Imagine, a 16-inch pizza for only 400 pesos. If it was sold in Manila or in some other places that would be close to a thousand pesos already. Food is tasty, depends on what you order perhaps, but the carbonara we has was lacking something... salt? But still great due to size!

My favorite was Pineapple shake. Nothing really fancy so I don't why we clicked, lol. It was not artificially sweet. Their vanilla shake is good too.

Since there were only the two of us in that trip, we usually had leftovers (i think all of their orders are good for 3-4 persons?) and had them reheated by the staff. We were surprised that they bothered to present it as if they were new orders when they did not even charge us for reheating. The carbonara had new cheese allover it, etc. So out of courtesy, we just ordered drinks because we thought that was too much for them to do (in Filipino, nakakahiya naman kasi). Water if free though.

The resto has a different wifi from the lodging area but both are ok enough for facebook-ing.

P.S. I was given a free banana by the staff! LOL

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    64
    43
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grossly overrated. Poor food, unfriendly owner, overpriced.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

While, when they first opened, this restaurant did have the best pizzas in the area, it is no longer the case. The pies are very large but toppings are sparsely spread over it. No spices and hardly any herbs makes for a very bland and tasteless pizza. Add to that mix high prices - relatively to the quality of the food - and an unfriendly, sometimes plain rude, owner. Not worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bJac0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service poor, food okay”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Getting to and leaving from the restaurant is quite a hassle without a flashlight!
The service is terribly poor and the staff is very unfriendly. They were more busy playing with their phones instead of paying attention to me when I wanted to order another drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Caprese”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

disapointed about that food. i order caprese and instead of mozarella they use some other cheese called emmenthaler. but the worst on the hole story was that the emmenthaler cheese was standing long time outside, that was melted already. poor. my goodness that should be an italian restaurant? Also the service is so slow.......waiting long time even for a salad.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Pizzas”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a place we make a point of visiting whenever we go to Sabang, even though its a s good 30 to 40 minute journey (depending upon the mode of travel of course). Its located on a small quiet and very pretty beach, offering great views across to White Beach and beyond, The pizzas are amazing, fantastic selection of flavours and very tasty.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca's also viewed

Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 

Been to Luca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing