We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taylor-smith”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Ribbon Dive Resort from 2nd -7th march 2014. We made the best choice dead centre of everything. Near to lots of bars and restaurants. Room basic but all you need if you are diving very clean, lovely staff and the food excellent can recommend the steak. The dive masters we excellent, briefings good, equipment and boat excellent, dive sites fab lots to see would highly recommend the this particular dive centre. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunset936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRibb0n, Owner at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

When we get feedback like this, it makes all the staff happy. All the staff members here read our reviews, and love to see when their work is appreciated.

Hope to see you soon.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 280 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I traveled to the Philippines for the first time recently from Los Angeles and stayed at this resort. I am kind of in the middle between 2-3 rating because there was such a separation between the resort experience and the dive service. I usually write very positive reviews but there was issues that need to be resolved regarding the internet and the food. I'll go ahead and give it 3 just because they had a squat rack in the gym.

1) Our pick up from the airport was waiting for us promptly - great start
1) The internet did not work in our room.
2) The mosquitos were a serious problem inside and outside of out rooms, this was a big issue because the internet did not work.
3) The diving personal were VERY safe, courteous, and cautious - very high regards.
4) The diving near the resort itself was not anything worth traveling around the world for - I got the impression that the better dives were on liveaboards that surround the area
5) Even knowing that the Philippines kind of have the stereo type for having less-than-stellar food, the food at the resort was probably a 2 out of 5. It was over priced for the area and really lacked anything compelling - HOWEVER, if you stay here, there is VERY good resort/restaurants near by so just don't eat there.

To be honest, it wasn't the best start to our vacation. The choice between doing work via the internet, and being attacked by mosquitos was always on our minds and the diving was kind of mehhh..I can't say enough about the dive staff themselves though. It was very comforting to have them follow the expected guildlines and keep less-experienced divers with their own instructor and safe.

Room Tip: Ask them to stay near the ocean, the internet will be better there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntert545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days at the Blue Ribbon. Resort, staff and food were really great along with mostly macro diving and unforgettable party time! The resort is cozy with cool bungalows, and awesome, lazy hang out area that is nearly right on the beach! Happy hour cocktails, delish BBQ buffet feasts and live music definitely added to each evening chillax experience. Dive crew is excellent, professional and always there to help and provide assistance. All together, the staff of Blue Ribbon was always making sure you have a good time and enjoying the stay. Can highly recommend this place if you are a diver and wish to relax in a nice and cosy atmosphere without breaking the bank.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank 123SafeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here one night for a quick diving trip while visiting Manila. Our room was large and fairly clean. Very basic: foam pad on a wooden frame for a bed, sort of dorm room style utilitarian bathroom, small funky AC unit which we didn't need, and a noisy floor fan. Absolutely fine for what it is, but it's not a luxury hotel by any means. Very basic- and the prices reflect that. We came really for the diving, and the dive shop on the premises was great. Good gear, good dive master, and very friendly service.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank MoshiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The team at Blue Ribbon were great, and make for a really relaxing stay, the whole process from booking to checkout was easy. We stayed 4 nights with only one of us diving due to an earlier sustained ear infection. On our first morning the dive staff directed us to the local Doctor in Sabang in the hope of both of us getting some dives in.

The rooms are functional clean and big with beds for 5 people. The resort is well located close to the nightlife in Sabang but far enough away to be quiet. The in house bar and restaurant has some great sofas and knocks out some good hearty dishes for breakfast, we chose to eat out each night (just our preference) although the BBQ looked great.

The dive opperation is relaxed in the sense you can pick and choose how much or little you do, but they are also extremely professional and provide support where needed. Pack a thick wetsuit as the 25oC water felt a little cold compared to the other areas we visited.

Overall great value, We hope return to Blue Ribbon in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RellandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at blue ribbon for around 10 days and couldn't fault the service. Dive masters were really helpfull and good blokes. Easy diving and short boat rides they carry your gear to the boat, so it makes it hard when you get back to reality and have to carry your own lol. Food was the best in sebang I tried a fair few restaurants but in the end mainly ate there because it was the best I could find on the island. Did my deep + nitrox courses with Jon the owner and really learnt a lot. Hit 40m+ a couple times which was enjoyable with some good buddy diving. All the staff are really nice people and would recommend staying here if your after a well priced basic resort with everything you need. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this resort, great bungalows that are well equipped with mini bar, TV, safe, International plug adaptors. The resort offers great food in their restaurants, in fact we ended up eating their 3 out of 5 nights as the other restaurants didn't offer the same value or quality. Dive school is good, with up to 3 dives per day. My only concern would be the water supply, don't expect a power or hot shower. Overall, a very good venue I stay at.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 53 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 53 in Puerto Galera
165 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#17 of 53 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#6 of 53 in Puerto Galera
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 53 in Puerto Galera
310 reviews
6.0 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#21 of 53 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ribbon Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ribbon Dive Resort

Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $35 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ribbon Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort is located on Small Lalaguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Philippines. We have 14 Bungalows and rooms located around a tranquil garden, on the beach front. We have a gym and a small diver training pool. We have a 24 hour reception, and housekeeping is included in the room charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Ribbon Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing